We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, large rooms, a little inconvenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farm House La Moraia

Save Saved
You added Farm House La Moraia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farm House La Moraia
Localita Talciona 37, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet location, large rooms, a little inconvenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at La Moraia in October 2011. We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment in the main house, wiht two adults and two children.
La Moria is outside of Poggibonsi, 1 km past the small village of Talciona. The paved road ends at Talciona, and the remaining drive is a gravel road, in need of maintenance. The road is quite rough. The directions from the owner were clear and we had no trouble finding the property. Once the road is graded, it will be better, though the passage through Talciona is narrow with two sharp turns.
The lady at the property checked us in, and showed us the rooms and provided a copy of a hand-drawn map of Poggibonsi with the important places noted (post office, banks, grocery store, bus/train station, etc.)
We found the rooms to be quite large, the beds were comfortable, but the pillows at very thin and flat. The kitchen is equipped as expected for a holiday apartment, with minimal but adequate dishes, tableware, pots and pans. There was a cooktop, microwave, dishwasher and coffee maker, but no oven. There are no condiments, salt, pepper, etc. provided, nor is there soap for the dishwasher. There is an outdoor grill, but no charcoal provided either.
Though the weather was warmer than normal for October, the pool is not heated, so it was quite cold. However, many places close their pools before October, so at least it was available. There was small bookshelf inside the entry with a few books in several languages.

The inconvenience is that you must go into Poggibonsi for groceries or restaurants, and though it is not very far, it was 15-20 minutes each way given the roads. There is also no internet access, so it is best if you have planned all of your activities before arriving.

Overall we found the apartment to be good value and it suited our needs very well. It would be even nicer when it is a little warmer to use the pool, and if you are prepared with dish soap, condiments, and things for grilling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I must disagree with previous comments regarding extra costs at 'La Moraia'. My wife, my daughter and I stayed at 'La Moraia' in late April 2011 for 5 nights. We booked over the internet and all extra costs (final cleaning per person, plus gas) where clearly stated on the booking form and on the official website. Even with all extra costs added, we ended up paying a little over 400 Euro for 5 nights, which is a very good deal for this location, especially during the Easter holidays. Self catering accommodation in Italy (especially Tuscany) always requires a payment for final cleaning: this can be per person per night or per apartment per night. I understand that many tourists and travellers might not be aware of this (I live in Italy).
Overall, 'La Moraia' provided simple but clean and comfortable accommodation, with a spacious self-contained apartment for the three of us, the use of the swimming pool, a section of the garden at the front door with table and chairs and the use of a well equipped barbecue, which we used often at dinner time. They even had excellent Chianti wine sold at a very reasonable 5 Euro a bottle. 'La Moraia' was inexpensive, pleasant and perfectly located accommodation for exploring the Chianti, Val D'Elsa and Volterra areas of Tuscany.

Room Tip: I would ge rooms at the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy/UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We didn't stay at this property so can't say much about the accommodation but we can wave a flag of warning to anybody thinking to book this property - CHECK THE EXTRA CHARGES!!
We arrived having booked what seemed a good rate - €46 for a single night, room only - the young girl who welcomed us disappeared for a few minutes and returned with a pile of sheets and towels as the rooms are not pre-prepared for guests. Then we got to the registration process and money. We were told that we had a per person cleaning bill of €15 to pay in cash before checking in and any gas we used would be charged in the morning. I don't know how much cleaning is required after a couple stay in a room for one night but €30 would surely buy several hours.
This property offers great rates per night and attracts people like us who are on a budget, then they add additional charges so you pay more than you would at properties who include breakfast and prepare the rooms before you arrive.
We left without staying but the property still charged our Ccard - sure we're a bit miffed, yes we know we should read the small print, but at the end of the day if you advertise rooms for€46 per night like a hotel/B&B is it morally right to then demand cleaning charges?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
Charming, Pool...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#4 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#5 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Palazzo alle Mura
Palazzo alle Mura
#7 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo
#4 of 22 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Free Parking, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Badia
Agriturismo Castello di Badia
#6 of 22 in Poggibonsi
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm House La Moraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm House La Moraia

Address: Localita Talciona 37, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty lodging in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Farm House La Moraia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm House La Moraia Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm House La Moraia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.