We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for those seeking tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ilune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ilune to your Saves list
Locanda Ilune
Strada prov. di sorano 2920/a | località conatelle, 58017 Pitigliano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Pitigliano B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent place for those seeking tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Ilune a couple of nights the second half of August. I would certainly recommend it for those who appreciate peaceful surroundings and good value. The rooms are nicely arranged, the beds are comfortable (medium hard matraces). I especially enjoyed the quiet at night (there are notes reminding the lodgers of respecting the peace of the other guests, which is all right - some people really need it :-)). Furthermore, the breakfast is really good, with home-made jams, yoghurt and freshly baked cake (different every morning!), cheeses and ham, museli (mix and bran flakes), and a few other items including a very good espresso and a fabulous tea (there is a choice of green/black/etc. all of rather high quality - hard to find in many hotels or B&B's). All is tastefully presented on nice plates, with silver spoons etc., and a great care is paid to details, which makes one really enjoy the breakfast. If I was picky, I would only say that the bread could be slightly better, but that's probably just in contrast with the other items. :-)
The Locanda is located just outside Pitigliano, in an olive grove. There is a large garden/lawn, where one can sit and read a book. The owners are always there, ready to give tips for sightseeing the area, but their presence is discreet and not bothersome. While staying at Ilune we got a few recommendations about restaurants in Pitigliano and around, tried three of them, and all three proved excellent, so one can certainly trust them. One of the restaurants (Il tufo allegro in Pitigliano) we visited twice, and both times we were happy (booking recommended! It is small and gets rather crowded in the evening; good vegetarian options are also available!).
Furthermore, I liked the cosmetics provided in the bathroom: the orange body wash and the lavendel hand wash.
There is a parking outside the house. Having a car is essential, it's 5 min. drive from Pitigliano but not a walking distance.
In general - recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Locanda Ilune is a relaxing place to calm down and enjoy tuscany nature...
Breakfast was only two words: absolutely excellent and lovely
With Susannes homemade jams and cakes are gorgoues...thanks ;-)
The place is outside from the town,which means that you need a car...
Have a good stay.................................

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is the perfect agriturismo! My husband and I stayed here for three nights in the beginning of April. The weather was chilly and it was definitely off-season in the local towns; no one was around! Susanah and Giovanni are excellent hosts, attentive without being overbearing. She's a vegetarian and prepared a veg feast for us which was so over the top. The bruschetta with their fresh olive oil was perfect. Their own olive oil was bright green and peppery. Then there was a pecorino and fresh fava bean soup, ricotta and spinach ravioli, warm, fresh-baked focaccia, a carrot semifreddo and their own arancello made from their neighbor's oranges. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Breakfast was a nice hands-off affair of cereal, breads, juice and meat. We stayed in a first floor room, which was decorated in purples and violets. The room was huge and the bathroom was a good size. Overall, this was the perfect resting point for visiting the Vie Cave, Sorano, Sovana, Pitigliano and Saturnia. Ps. They have several fat, outdoor cats, but it just made it feel more like home! I'd def. go back if I were in Tuscany again. For another restaurant, visit Hostaria del Ceccottino in Pitigliano for local, slow food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

What more can i say about this place that the previous reviews didn't say?

This place is one of the most amazing places i had ever stayed in.
The house is designed to the most smallest details, every thing is placed just in the right place but it still feel like "home".

There is not one thing bad i can say about Locanda Ilune, stay there and you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This agriturismo was superior beyond belief!! It was the most incredible experience we had while traveling in Tuscany. Everything about the experience was excellent. Each detail of the house and acreage was perfected. The owners were extremely hospitable, helpful and facilitating of an amazing encounter. The breakfast and dinners were the best food we have had. Further the amazing pot pouri of tuscan foods was delicious. We were totally overwhelmed. The books, art, photography and music were inspiring. The place incorporated a true Tuscan experience with an extremely sophisticated flavor.

Further they corresponded with us afterwards sending recipes that we were able to recreate in the U.S..

This is the hightest recommend I could make.

Kay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

It seems a bit unnecessary to give yet another five star review to a place that has virtually nothing but (with 23 five star reviews and one four star - but completely positive - review and nothing below that); but the Ilune is SO wonderful that I really couldn't resist reinforcing the enthusiasm expressed by all the other reviewers (whose enthusiastically positive views I endorse without reservation). If there were a five star plus category, this would be the place to qualify for it.

Although previous reviews have indicated that the food is fantastic (as indeed it is), there has been a certain lack of detail about it. As near as I can tell, the dinners cost 35 euros a head (possibly with a supplement for wine) and, as such, are a fantastic bargain, especially if you come to them with an empty stomach and a good appetite. We didn't manage to finish all of the courses on either night that we ate there, but it wasn't for lack of trying. The menu is fixed - everyone has the same things - but you can discuss your dietary preferences with Susanna in advance and she will do everything she can to accommodate them (although she refuses to cook either lamb or rabbit). When you sit down to the beautifully appointed tables - one for each of the four rooms - the fine food just starts coming and keeps on coming until you surrender. Our meals started out with some bits of toast and a couple of cloves of garlic and a bottle of absolutely fresh bright green extra virgin olive oil from the trees you could see out of the window - we could have happily eaten this all night. The antipasti were again local and exquisite, including figs stuffed with cheese and wrapped in pancetta, sweet and sour onions (cippoline in agrodolce), beautiful small artichokes and other tasty treats. One night the primi was a lovely (and filling soup), the next night the best pasta (tortellone stuffed with ricotta and spinach with a basil sauce) that we have ever eaten in Italy (and we have eaten a LOT of pasta in Italy). The main course one night was beef strips and artichokes in a lovely sauce; the next night we had sesame covered deep fried strips of chicken to be dipped into a creamy parmesan sauce. The vegetables were also local and excellent. The desserts were delightful and beautifully presented. The entire atmosphere is totally relaxed and friendly - very different from having to find a restaurant and to work your way through the menu and deal with waiters and bills and tips and other diners. If you want to have a passeggiata, you can either wander around the immaculate garden and commune with the ten beautiful cats who live there - they are not allowed in the house - or drive a couple of miles into Pitigliano or up the road to Sorano. If I had to choose one place in Italy to eat every night for the rest of my life, this would without question be it.

As many have commented, Gianni and Susanna (the spelling of the names are a guess) are total naturals for this type of work. They are transparently genuine, with a great interest in all sorts of things (as is clear from the extensive library that is available to guests). You could not ask for better hosts.

The accommodation is as attractive and welcoming as can be, with lovely touches of taste to be seen everywhere. (At one of our meals, all of the plates and napkins and candles and the like were completely colour co-ordinated - we had the orange table in honour of the autumn leaves.)

The location is very handy for the attractions of the Maremma. I would especially recommend the Etruscan vie cave, roads in deep channels carved out of metres of the native rock which have a peaceful and somewhat mysterious ambience. The nearby towns and villages (like Pitigliana, Sorano and Sovana) are all worth visiting, as are the warm cascades of Terme di Saturnia, and it is only about an hour's drive to the sea, with the classic views from the cliffs Porto San Stefano on Argentario or the beautiful beach of Marina di Alberese just south of Grosetto. Other attractions, like the Parco di Mostri near Bomarzo or Civita di Bagnoregio are easily accessible, as is Orvieto and even Spoleto. We visited at the end of October, when the autumn foliage was stunning and the roads relatively empty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Keeling Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at Locanda Ilune this time last year and we still have such marvellous memories of this delightful place and the people who run it - Susanah and Giovanni are the most amazing hosts and their accommodation a delight. Everything that the other reviewers say is true. If anyone is planning a trip to Italy this place is somewhere you must not miss and the bonus is that you will get to explore such an interesting "off the beaten track" part of Italy. Pitigliano is such a fascinating walled village and the Etruscan walls are definitely worth getting lost in!!! My husband's favourite find though was the thermal waters in Satturnia and all we had to do was park on the side of the road and plunge in amongst the locals. He still raves about the experience. And by the way if you do decide to stay at Locanda Ilune don't miss out on Susanah and Giovanni's delicious food - we even had the privilege of being there on the day they pressed their newly picked olives and had the oil with yummy bread that evening. One day we hope to return to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: All rooms would be fantastic we're sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ilune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ilune

Address: Strada prov. di sorano 2920/a | località conatelle, 58017 Pitigliano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Pitigliano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pitigliano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and quaint farmhouse, nestled in the Tuscan hills and protected by an ancient oak tree, has been remodelled with love and care from an old house built in tufa rock. Welcoming and warm, this farmhouse offers 6 well-appointed rooms, all with private bathroom, and furnished in the traditional Tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Locanda Ilune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ilune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.