We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining in the middle of Pitigliano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria del Ceccottino

Hostaria del Ceccottino
piazza San Gregorio VII, 64, 58017 Pitigliano, Italy
+390564614273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Pitigliano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great dining in the middle of Pitigliano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Menu was interesting and typical for the area.

Food was fantastic and dolce was made in the restaurant.

Nothing to fault here. Enjoy a romantic dinner for two or dinner party out with friends. A wonderful spot with attentive staff and vigilant owner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    170
    55
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed a terrific meal at Hostaria del Ceccottino in the heart of the old town of Pitigliano. The food was delicious and authentic and the service efficient, friendly and attentive. As guests of their hotel we were entitled to a discount which made the entire meal very reasonably priced. Among the standout dishes were an antipasto of cured meats derived from the local highly prized variety of pig and a delicious and generous tagliatelle with truffles. An excellent bottle of San Lorenzo Ciliegiolo Sassotondo accompanied our meal and we concluded with Sfratto Pitiglianese, a Jewish sweet based on walnuts and honey accompanied by a local vin santo. Memorable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in Pitigliano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed the simple but beautifully prepared courses. We recommend the gnudi, the coniglio and the cinghaile. Don't forget to leave room for the tiramisu. Lovely wine selection and quiet and gracious service. A truly lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sono sordi a Ceccotino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The setting is lovely, near the Duomo of a lovely hilltown. We used the Osterie d'Italia guidebook, which has rarely led us astray, but wished we had followed our instincts instead. The food was quite nice, but not stellar. Where they fell down was on service. It lacked the genuine accoglienza we've grown overly accustomed to in Tuscany which we visit on a yearly basis. The waitress rolled her eyes after we informed her that she brought the wrong dish for a non Italian speaking gentleman who was part of our party. She then asked in a most condescending way (thank God our friend doesn't speak Italian) to make sure that she wouldn't make another error. Her clarification was correct, but she proceeded to yet again bring something else instead. They also showed resentful body language when the same gentleman's requested for a plate so he could dip his bread in olive oil. (I know, its an American thing, but what the heck?!) The service was huffy, and I am of the conclusion if you are obedient and make no complaints or requests, you will be happier. The wine list was decent, however I am pretty sure you can find better dining options in Pitigliano.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ate here practically every day of our one week stay in Pitigliano. Great food, fantastic service and top notch atmosphere. Emphasizes on local food and wine.

All of the menu are worth a try, but I recommend the beef steak (1kg and up) and homemade Tiramisu (the wife of the owner makes it herself and it's GREAT). But you can't go wrong with any of the dishes here.

This is a must-go-place-to-eat if you visit Pitigliano.

And they got Wi-Fi :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria del Ceccottino also viewed

Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Hostaria del Ceccottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria del Ceccottino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.