We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two wonderful weeks at Bonello!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Bonello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Agriturismo Bonello to your Saves list
Agriturismo Bonello
Strada Provinciale 146 | Val D'Orcia, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maldegem, Belgium
1 review
“Two wonderful weeks at Bonello!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Each summer holiday we travel south with our two children. We normally switch locations after one week, but this time we changed our habit. Val D'Orcia has so much to offer, we therefore looked for a child-friendly, cosy and homely agriturismo for a two-weeks stay. And what we found was beyond anyone's imagination! A little paradise amongst the pine trees, that's what Bonello is. The view is magnificent, the guest family very warm, the pool inviting and the food superb. The tiniest question is instantly answered and the tips you get to explore the surroundings are great! Thank you Luca for the best holiday ever.

Claude, Sylvie, Lucas and Senne

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    61
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
159
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It is nice experience and perfect staying environment in pienzza. Bonello is definately dream house for me

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is my third time to visit Europe and this time the main focus is to attend my good friend’s wedding in Florence. We arrived Rome from Hong Kong and decided to drive all the way to Florence. We checked out the agriturismo website and found this lovely farmhouse in Tuscany, which is on the way of our destination. This is my first time to stay at farm house, the house is lovely, surrounding with the greenery hill scene, the room is big with kitchen area. The sunset is awesome, when you can see the setting sun’s rays reflecting on the wheat field. Weather is perfect in June in Italy, days are sunny with cool wind, just make people feel comfortable and refresh. The owner and the family are really warm-hearted people, they prepared us the home-made food which grow locally in the farm area, we enjoyed so much on such big Italian dinner which starting from 8:00pm till 10:00pm, a full course set of dinner including starter, appetizer, main course, dessert and of course we cannot miss the coffee and wine. I tried white wine, sweet wine and red wine.  that is really really enjoyable to try different kinds of wine each night. One special thing is – we took a walk outside the hill and check out all the interesting locally grow trees around the area – fig, plum, oliver and apricot. We had a really relax and enjoyable time staying at the farm land. Thanks so much, I wish I could come visit again!! 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights with our 2 year old son and had an amazing time. Apartment was clean and spacious and the sheets and beds were very comfortable. The pool is located in a corner and very scenic. The landlord and his mother were very hospitable and accommodating. They provided us with bikes to ride when requested and were helpful about info. about the area. They even provided us with toys for our 2 year old son. My son loved the see saw and slide on the property as well. The location is out of this world and provides spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside and the surrounding rolling hills. The owner's suggestions about some local restaurants were also right on the mark and enabled us to experience high quality Italian dining/meals at a reasonable price.
The location of this Agriturismo enabled us to do day trips into Pienza, Chianti and Sienna and I would highly recommend this place to others - couples. adults and families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place is beautiful. As we were driving to it, we said "please let this be the one" and it was. But beware, there is a steep charge (by the hour) if you need to use heat. We also needed to reduce our stay from 3 nights to 2 nights and the price went up 10 euros per person. Although it was advertised that they take credit cards, the owner insisted we pay with cash (something about his machine not working). We did not have cash and really didn't want to spend our time and gas money driving into town to the ATM where we would have to also pay a fee to get euros. Miraculously, when we said we would not be paying in cash, the machine apparently worked because we got a charge on our credit card, but no receipt. I don't believe that anyone stays on the property, except for guests. We also got a message from him that we could not come before 7:30PM the day of our arrival because he would not be there -- and no, he would not leave a key for us. When we arrived at 7:30, he was not there yet, so we had to call him. Also, the night before our departure, he told us that there would be no electricity after 8:30 in the morning and we would have to leave. Although it was a beautiful place, these problems made it less than what it could have been.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismo_Bonello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Bonello, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest, we are very sorry for the problems that occurred during your vacation.
In period of your stay at our Farm, there are some electricity faults due to ENEL (Italian company for electricity) and we are not responsible. For this reason we have advertised about the difficulty to pay with credit card (because in many cases the POS did not work). Also the day of your departure we were warned by ENEL of a break at 8.30 am but no person told you to go away. Regarding the receipt is made automatically from the machine during card payment, Why you don’t take it? Please send me the email address and I send you a copy. For the price I am sorry but is different for stay two or three days. I have lost the price for one night stay because you have reserved for three days and you are stay two days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Bonello has perhaps one of the best views of Val D'orcia. Situated on top of a hill right at the boundary of Pienza and San Quirico it offers a 360 degree  view of the beautiful valley below. Val D'orcia is certainly one of the most beautiful places I've been to. It is a slice of heaven on earth with its beautiful rolling hills awash with flowers (when we were there), centuries old villlages and towns, vineyards, olive groves, superb food and wine and a gentle people helpful to tourists.
We stayed for 5 days but this is hardly enough to explore the various ancient towns easily accessible from the site as well as the restaurants serving authentic Tuscan fares. The Tuscans are masters of the art of titillating the palate. We are coming back for more.

Room Tip: Our room Olive offers a good view of the valley below. Step out of the door or gaze through the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our first trip to italy.My wife wanted to visit the tuscany region and stay at an agroturismo. after some research i picked Agroturismo Bonello, and, it was great. location , was perfect to travel around the area..the farmhouse was beautiful. If i go back to tuscany ,i will stay there again.luca was a great host..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Bonello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Bonello

Address: Strada Provinciale 146 | Val D'Orcia, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Bonello is a historic farmhouse set in the Tuscan countryside outside Pienza, with views of the Val D’Orcia nature reserve. It offers self-catering apartments and an outdoor swimming pool.The Bonello dates back to the 18th century and lies on the scenic road from Pienza to San Quirico D’Orcia. The property offers free parking and is a short drive from Siena.The restaurant offers simple dishes typical of the Tuscan tradition, prepared using vegetables from the family garden, and meat and wine from local producers. During summer meals are served in the garden.Apartments come in different sizes to accommodate up to 6 guests. Each comes with private bathroom and fully equipped kitchen, and some are suitable for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Bonello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Bonello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.