We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bandita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Bandita to your Saves list
La Bandita
Loc. Lucciolabella, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I adored La Bandita. John and his team couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, it really does feel like being a trusted friend in someone's home. They looked after our every whim, and were on hand with advice about everything and anything. The food is also exceptional - David the chef's a culinary star! I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

...And it´s true! I will just try in a short to describe La-Bandita.

If you are looking for a quiet, hidden and luxurious B&B you have come to the right place. With one of the most astunning views over the tuscan landscape we hade the most wonderful 24h escape from the everyday life.

- Wonderful people and guests
- lovley food and wine
- Beautiful rooms and great service

The only bad thing was that we didn´t stay longer.

We will be back for sure!

/Tony & Fanny
Stockholm Sweden

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our family stayed at La Bandita for one week in July. This is a top notch property that achieves the perfect balance of providing services to its guests while maintaining an informal ambience that allows the guests to feel at home in southern Tuscany

We stayed in the Pig Sty suite. It had plenty of space and was clean and modern. It also had its own patio and eating area.

The property is surrounded by physical beauty beyond description. Tuscany is a large province but the Val d'Orcia region (and especially the location of La Bandita) are most unique and special.

In regards to the food, it was superb and in our opinion better than the local restaurants (which are also of high quality). During most of our stay, we had the option of having meals at the property even though we were completely free to go outside to local establishments. It is helfpul to provide the staff with certain advance notice of your plans for lunch and dinner since they are buying fresh, local ingredients on a daily basis.

We will most certainly return.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

After reading all of the rave reviews on La Bandita, my boyfriend and I were not let down. We stayed in the 'pigsty' which is the annex to the main house. The room was sumptuous with high quality bedding, and the bathroom was stylish with a bath big enough for two.

La Bandita is very hip and stylish, and owned by an ex-music executive (there was an MTV award by the pool and lots of platnium discs inside). The owner John has an 'honesty' bar where you can help yourself to drinks all evening if you want to stay up, and play records or his fully loaded iPod. Drinks are priced reasonably at La Bandita, with a bottle of wine costing €12 and soft drinks/water/coffee are free. John is there most days and is happy to help you out with an itinerary for the day if you want to explore the area.

We had dinner one night in La Bandita with the other guests which was really enjoyable and worth doing. We were served lunch on our terrace on our final day which was great too, but got bitten by mosquitos so watch out!

La Bandita is situated near Pienza, which is a picturesque village about 15 - 20 mins drive away. Everything seems to shut at around 11pm, so it was early to bed for most nights.

Overall, if you are looking for a stylish, chill out hotel, La Bandita fits the bill perfectly.

  • Liked — The infinity pool, the chilled out 'make yourself at home' vibe, the nice bedsheets
  • Disliked — The mosquitos! Otherwise everything was perfect.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai / Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

La Bandita has got it completely right. As a South African living in Dubai, I like to travel and experience new places. This hotel had everything. Stylish and beautiful with an absolute sense of being home. The staff are wonderful people who make you comfortable and attend to your every need without being overbearing or in your face. We made some wonderful friends here. The other guests were all lovely people as well and the time spent both with them and on our own is something I will never forget.

John does an amazing education on the special wines of the region and the meals taken outside under the tuscan sun are something out of this world.

We could not fault this hotel or the people who run it if we tried.

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel not only as a wonderful place to stay in Tuscany buy also as a destination in itself. Perfect for couples, families, singles or groups. We will certainly be back again no question and next time we are brining all our friends!!

  • Liked — Comfort, service, setting
  • Disliked — really struggling here, maybe a little more shade at the swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Me and my husband stayed at La Bandita and totally fell in love with the property. Despite its rather remote location, getting there was well worth the effort with its panoramic views and all of modern creature comforts that was on offer to all the guests. The wonderful room facillities (including the rain shower, air-conditioning and the best bed ever!!), free flow of mineral water and soft drinks, easy pantry/kitchen access and common living room (with Satelite Plasma TV and Internet on Apple Computer!) provided a comfortable feeling of communal living and the extreme convenience not offered by any other hotel we had been to. However, the best thing about the hotel was the warm and welcoming hospitality offered by the owners John and his wife Ondine as well as their staff. Their top notch advice, help and directions on where to go for sight-seeing, dining, shopping and wine-tasting was invaluable in making our stay so memorable. We will never forget La Bandita and highly recommend this oasis to all visitors to Tuscany!

  • Liked — Views, modern amenities and hospitality & service
  • Disliked — bumpy roads
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We expected an amazing stay at La Bandita and got even more than what we expected.
The rooms are spotless and perfect, John & Ondine (owners) could not be more hospitable. Aside from making you feel at home at La Bandita, they give personal tips and suggestions for local restaurants, vineyards, hikes/walks and help w/ any arrangements.

We will definetely be back!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Address: Loc. Lucciolabella, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bandita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.