We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, even in November” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bandita

Save Saved
You added La Bandita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Bandita
Loc. Lucciolabella, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Pienza B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, even in November”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A friend and I scheduled a girls trip to Italy, right after Thanksgiving. La Bandita was a recommendation from a friend who had visited the previous year.

We loved our stay here. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly, from pre-arrival planning to activity planning once we arrived, to recommending other hotels for the first leg of our trip. Near the end of our stay another guest recommended an alternate rental car drop off location in Rome and La Bandita's wonderful concierge came in early the next morning to arrange the alternate drop off for us. By the time that we had arrived downstairs for breakfast, it had all been taken care of. We hugged her when we left. They really made it effortless for us.

While there you must dine in at least one night. Both chefs that cooked for us were amazing, and we met some lovely other guests during two of the nights that we dined in. After a long day of sight seeing, having a delicious dinner option on site is really nice.

The only word of warning for travelers driving, is that the driveway is a bit challenging. If possible try not to rent a car that is too low to the ground, because you could bottom out a bit.

I would definitely go back to La Bandita if given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The only downside about la Bandita is that the secret is getting out, & its necessary to book a room way in advance!
I had dinner with my family there one evening in July, but had to stay in a nearby Agriturismo called Luccio Bella, as la Bandita was fully booked.
Dinner was magical,sitting on a deck on top of a hillside watching the light change as the sun went down. At one point it felt as though we were dining on a stage above the clouds. Combine that with the wonderful modern Tuscan food & wines, & you are pretty close to Heaven!
Recently we stayed 2 nights at la Bandita.In November this time, so too cold to eat outside.We met the other hotel guests for wine & Apertivi then dined family style around a long table.Dinner both nights was Chef David's personal interpretation of local Tuscan dishes. Two outstanding dishes were Green lentils with white truffle oil, and Papadelle with white truffles.I would happily choose either dish as my last meal on earth!
Our room was very large , with a comfortable bed & wonderful modern bathroom with views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside from all the windows.
The location seems remote as it is up a winding dirt road in the middle of the countryside, but it is an easy drive to visit many local villages including Montacello, Montepulciano,& my favorite Pienza. We actually got to tour la Bandita's new venture, a townhouse that is still under construction in a former convent building in Pienza.Its going to be wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was researching lodging in or near Pienza during a driving trip around Italy in August 2011. The reviews seemed positive, so I called to see if there was any last-minute availability. Francesca was vibrant and inviting starting with answering the phone. The drive up the dirt roads adds to the authentic experience. The interior of La Bandita is well done - contemporary, but in balance with the architecture and surroundings. We made friends with all of the guests who were staying there and chose to have dinner together (and lots of wine) one night. David's food was prepared on-the-spot - and fantastic. It was great to observe and learn how to make great pesto. I'm torn that I like to visit new places - and there is a lot still to see - but I'm hoping to make it back here many, many times. It's one of my favorite places to stay - ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at La Bandita, a beautiful small resort situated on a idyllic hillside in Tuscany. The room itself is large and very comfortable, but I wouldn't recommend spending much time there when you could be sitting outside enjoying the scenery or visiting one of the many Tuscan hill towns in easy driving distance. The staff at La Bandita are all knowledgable and helpful when it comes to planning out your itinerary to check out farms, vineyards, restaurants, and wherever else you choose to visit.

The communal dinners are wonderful as well, as you get to enjoy the company of your fellow guests and the staff over wines from the extensive cellar (or whatever you bought on your day's travels). The quality of cooking, especially from David, is as good as any restaurant we tried in the area.

One word of caution- the road up to the villa is about 3km of rocky, hilly gravel. You can do it in any car, but if you have the option, something with a little clearance on the bottom is preferable.

We'll be back, hopefully soon!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A “magical dream” wouldn’t do it justice… La Bandita is an incredible place filled with the most amazing people who (from the moment you arrive) make you feel ‘at home’. When trying to decide where to ‘elope’, it didn’t take long to decide on La Bandita and the magic of Pienza. John, Paola, David and the rest of the Bandita family are truly amazing. We wouldn’t have had such a flawless wedding day if it weren’t for them. Having traveled extensively and to some of the most beautiful places in the world, it says quite a lot when we claim La Bandita to be at the top of our destination list… a wonderful journey and one you shouldn’t miss!

- Cheryl & Steve Foland, Sausalito, CA

Room Tip: The Pig Sty Suite offers extra privacy and a breaktaking view, however every room at La Bandita is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am almost tempted to keep La Bandita a secret..........HOWEVER, i feel i owe it to the amazing team at La Bandita (who work so hard to make the whole experience so special) to give it the exceptional review it clearly deserves! The scenery is breathtaking. The food prepared by their private chef, David, is EXCEPTIONAL - in fact the best we have ever had in italy!. Simone helped us plan fabulous days of sightseeing (not to mention the superb pizzas he cooks in the wood oven) Francessa handed us a welcome glass of prosecco the minute we arrived..! Dont be put off by the trek up the 3km dirt track ..........paradise awaits you at the end of it!! Go and experience it for yourselves ..........you cannot be disappointed!!

.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Due to some serendipity and immaculate timing, we landed a night at La Bandita (they had one free room-night for the entire month of September). We'd heard rave reviews, but none of them could have prepared us for just how breathtaking and charming of a place it is.

La Bandita is completely isolated, at the end of a 3 km. bumpy dirty road, with basically nothing in sight. The reward for this trek is astonishing views, some of the best hospitality we have ever seen, and serene, minimalist luxury digs.

From the hilltop, you can see miles in every direction through the Tuscan countryside. Along with the resort itself are an infinity pool, a fire pit, and lovely outdoor balconies for every room.

La Bandita is service as it was meant to be -- responsive, above-and-beyond helpful, but also simple and completely unobtrusive. They would plan our day and tell us where to go -- before we arrived and after we left. They greeted us with a free drink without asking. The whole resort is stocked with bars where the water and non-alcoholic drinks are free and where alcohol is on the honor system. At no point did we have to worry -- or even think -- about anything.

Dinner was prepared by La Bandita's private chef, featuring the first truffles of the season, and was a sumptuous four-course meal. Breakfast was simple and lovely, and served on our balcony whenever we woke up.

We loved it all so much that we stayed past check out time, and to no surprise, the staff was extraordinarily gracious and even helped us plan out our next destination.

Our stay only spanned a day, but La Bandita made such a lasting impression on us that we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Address: Loc. Lucciolabella, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bandita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.