We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Casalprato

Agriturismo Casalprato
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Casalprato
Val d'Orcia, Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 Specialty lodging in Pienza
Mantova, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. All our needs were taken care of, including having an itinerary prepared for us with recommendations on where to go without our even asking. The highlight of our time in Tuscany was being welcomed like family and the absolutely amazing food that we shared together. I recommend Casalprato to anyone looking to experience true Italian hospitality, family atmosphere, and the gastronomic delights of the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked this for a week in 2010 but when we arrived and saw the place we left them with our deposit and found somewhere else. To be fair, the apartment looked OK but it is the surrounds that make it so unattractive. The website photos are carefully taken to avoid the adjoining industrial sites, the main road at the door and the terrible state of the grounds - old farm equipment and rubbish strewn around like something out of Ma & Pa Kettle. They may well be nice people and great cooks but the yard was an uncared for disgrace. I live on a farm so it is not a city dweller reaction. Can't quite understand some of the comments made by others but maybe the owners clean it up sometimes. There are so many beautiful places to stay, this gives the area a bad name. Beware.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spending time with the locals enriches one’s experience and understanding of the country one’s travelling in. However, it’s often not possible to do this because of the lack of a common language and the time you have to spend in one location. One simple and convenient way to overcome this is to allocate some time at a home stay (specialty lodging) that serves meal, especially one that does dinner. This is particularly worthwhile to travelers of East-Asian background because of our stronger than average interest on food (look at the number of food related programs we have) and how easily we can communicate on this topic.

The Agriturismo Casalprato is one such choice we had. We spent two nights there, which gave us ample time to explore some of the scenic drives and attractions around the region.

The rooms we stayed in were spacious, clean and comfortable (though they only had queen-sized beds and not twin-sharing). We went in May and it could still get quite cold at night (at least for someone who is used to the tropic climate). The Agriturismo overlooks a valley on the west and it is a good spot for taking sunset photos.

The highlights were the two outstanding home-cooked dinners we had. We were treated to four fabulous types of home-made pasta and each one of us had his/her favourite. The grilled steak was simply one of the best I have had. There wasn’t much seasoning, no gravy and this meant the steak had to be of quality. Our host, who grilled the steak outside in the chill, had exquisite control of the flame and conjured up steak that were moist, tender and flavourful. Simply a treat that lives well in the memory.

Our hosts do not speak English and we conversed through their daughter (who speaks a little) and a local couple who stayed there also. The daughter’s grandfather, who remembers the terrible days of WWII, shared with us his recollection of those troubled times. It’s pretty easy to get a conversation going once the food was on the table and it’s like a floodgate once we had a few glasses. A great experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at Casalprato for 2 nights in mid-October 2011. We had a delightful, clean room overlooking the siena-colored hills of Tuscany with very comfortable beds , private bath, and wifi access. We were served an excellent breakfast two mornings and enjoyed a delicious 5-course dinner one evening, including 4 different home-made pasta dishes (and a free bottle of their own good quality wine--we bought a 2nd bottle--goes with the room). It's a family affair, with the host couple supported by their English-speaking daughter and 89-year old Grampa. My wife needs a gluten-free diet, and our host prepared gluten-free pasta for her at dinner and cornbread for her at breakfast. They have 4-5 units, some are apartments.We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to Toscana--a 3+-star accommodation at a 1-star price.

Room Tip: A genuine farm family agriturismo experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed at this wonderful agritourismo in June 2008 for 3 nights during our 3 week Europe adventure. We wish that we had had the foresight to stay here for double that! It was a highlight of our trip, and by far our favorite (and least expensive!) accomodation in Italy. Touring the nearby towns in the morning and coming back in the afternoon for relaxing and playing at the pool was wonderful -- the views of surrounding southern Tuscany were beautiful. Our apartment was wonderful; very comfortable. The best thing about the experience, however, was the family! Tiziano, Nella, and Tabitha were quite possibly the nicest people we have ever met. Communication with them was through fellow guests and non-verbal (Tabitha did some interpretation for us once she got over her shyness!), but this only enhanced our experience. Our dinner experience was phenonenal, our best meal ever highlighted by a surprise birthday cake (they found out it was my birthday from my passport!). We can't wait to return someday.

  • Liked — Hositality of family, proximity to Pienza and other Tuscan towns, views, pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We booked directly with their website and from the moment we arrived it was perfect. We stayed for 8 nights and we ate many dinners with the family, it is really reasonable cost wise and the food is amazing., but be aware you will get 4 courses and the food never stops coming! The apartments all have a great kitchen with everything you need in it.Their daughter Tabatha is a real animal lover and can speak pretty good english (if you make her : )). Pienza is a great town and a wine and food lovers haven. Many cheese wholesalers are on the side of the rd and we bought lots of amazing cheese and salamis locally, The IperCoop a half hr drive has beautiful food too, and such a variety! It is very close to Montelpulciano and Montalcino so great for touring and wine tasting. There are lots of little vineyards nearby, just ask them, they are more than happy to let you know about everything in the area. I would really advising doing the audio self tour of Pienza, you learn a lot, and the girl in the tourist office spoke great english and was really friendly. the swimming pool at Casalprato is a blessing as it gets so hot in the area. We want to return for sure.

  • Liked — The people and the location
  • Disliked — It was all great, craxy but true!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at this agriturismo for only one night in mid-June. We were two families traveling with five young children between us. Tiziano and his wife, Nilla, were so accommodating regarding our special needs (i.e sleeping arrangements) and our last-minute booking. We enjoyed an afternoon by the pool and on the playground (complete with a swingset and a trampoline!) and, later that night, a fabulous four-course meal at the agriturismo at Nilla's and Tiziano's table. The food was all homemade (including the hand-rolled gnocchi in three different sauces) and wine was included. Our bill for one night and dinner for two, which included wine, was less than we'd spent the night before on dinner for two at a restaurant in Rome. Tiziano and Nilla could not have been more gracious, warm hosts. The rooms were immaculate with very tasteful furnishings. They welcomed us with a bottle of their private label wine and there was complimentary bottled water in the refrigerator. The only drawback was the agriturismo's proximity to the road, but it was not a heavily traveled one, and noise was not an issue. We loved it and would love to return.

  • Liked — The warmth of the owners
  • Disliked — Proximity to the road
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Casalprato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casalprato

Address: Val d'Orcia, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Specialty lodging in Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Casalprato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Casalprato to your Saves list