We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino Segreto

Save Saved
You added Il Giardino Segreto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giardino Segreto
Via Condotti, 13, Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Pienza B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed alone there in the last year summer.
Il Giardino Segreto is a very nice place to stay.
With a garden just outside the house, I can have a simple breakfast there.
The bed is on the loft, and there is a dormer over the bed. You can close it, but I chose to open it, letting the sunlight to wake me up in the morning :)
The house is clean and neat, includes everything you need, kitchen, bathroom, cooking equipment are on the ground.
The manger is nice too, although her spoken language is Italian, she still understand what I was talking about.

The location is good, just in the center of the town.
There is a Free wifi service, but the signal is not really strong, I had to connect the network outside the house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three days in an apartment and it was perfect. Lovely furnishings, windows opened onto the central garden, kitchen stocked with breakfast items. Fresh fruit and espresso machine in the office. Central location for exploring the Val D'Orcia. Reasonable rates. Bella Italia!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agawam mass
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Pienza this past week to experience the peaceful and authentic side of Italy. One of our requirements was a quiet, clean, intimate, and authentic Tuscan camere. Giardino Segreto was exactly what we had in mind. The entrance is a charming "secret garden" hidden behind the village walls of Pienza, complete with old stone well and a beautiful array of flowers and plants. The entrance is a small alcove with a beautiful tile staircase that led to our second story room. Even the old wooden door that required a skeleton key was charming. Our room was actually a 2 room retreat. Upon entering, there was a tiled floor breakfast nook that sat next to a green shuttered window. Through that room you came to our sleeping area. The bed was clean, large, and comfortable and nicely covered with a satin bedspread. The furnishings were beautiful with things such as a large armoire, sitting chairs, weathered tables, and tasteful paintings of the Tuscan countryside. Wine glasses, ceramic cappucino cups, ceramic breakfast plates, and a latte kettle were just extra special touches. The breakfast was light and I found it quite enjoyable. Muffins, toasts with jams and jellies, juices, cappucino and tea, and biscotti. The bathroom was small but a very nice shower. Our hostess was wonderful! Although she spoke not a word of English, she managed to meet our every need and was eager to explain, in her own way, the ins and out of the bed and breakfast and our camere. The overall experience at this place was relaxing and peaceful. It is extremely clean and efficient and we will definitly return. The cost was 65.00 Euro per night-$81 American. I found the price extremely reasonable for the room and the extras-not to mention the feeling of being in Tuscany by just being in the room. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Il Giardino Segreto in Pienza has become almost a home away from home for us. We have stayed there 3 times and NEVER been sorry. Each room has a view of the "secret" garden with its a lovely flowers , comfortable garden furniture and secluded atmosphere. The building itself is a treasure and has been beautifully and authentically restored. Luisa who handles reservations and Rossella who manages the property are wonderfully helpful. Their English is limited, but we have always managed just fine and they have graciously accepted my "broken" Italian.. Parking is a problem as this is in the old section of town, but we managed that as well. It certainly would not keep us from choosing this relaxing, tastefully restored and welcoming home away from home.

Room Tip: This is an intimate and small B&B so it has no elevator. Nevertheless, the rooms on the 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHODES
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved it, stayed in a beautiful house with a great kitchen and good coffee available all the time, we loved the lady taking care of us, we were disappointed because the breakfast we were paying for was not breakfast (cookies, coffee and tea) but we would go back with pleasure, knowing all the above!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

arrived there by mistake and felt like we were the luckiest couple in the whole universe

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Just a lovely little place, tucked away behind an old stone wall. Swing open one of two large green doors and you're in a pretty little garden facing some of the most charming lodging in the area. My husband and I enjoyed a ground-floor camere for one week, which had its own little kitchen. We took advantage of the Friday outdoor market, as well as a nice co-op in the area (co-ops are cheaper than a lot of the speciality shops around the corner and every bit as good). We made some lovely little meals here and there and enjoyed some of the best food ever in Pienza's endearing little restaurants and trattorias. The Latte Di Luna restaurant is not to be missed, by the way!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Address: Via Condotti, 13, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino Segreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.