We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscany with Car Parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arca di Pienza

Save Saved
You added Arca di Pienza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arca di Pienza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gregorio 19 A/B/C, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Pienza
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscany with Car Parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was a fantastic find in Pienza. We were able to base ourselves here comfortably, explore Pienza and surrounding Tuscan countryside without car parking hassles. The car park is free, large and across the road from the hotel. Easy access in and out. The historic town is 2 min walk. Our room was well furnished and very comfortable with access to a terrace and garden seating area. Breakfast was delicious. Cakes were baked each day. Gloria, Antonio and Elvio were our attentive hosts. We were sick of the crowds,queues and frenetic traffic of Athens and Rome. Pienza and the Tuscan countryside were just what we needed.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmundston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located in Pienza, two minutes walk from the ancient town and major attractions. The rooms are great and very clean. The service attentive and the breakfast is fantastic. The only little negative point would be the parking (we arrived by car); it is advertised as free and it is if you can find a free spot in the public parking with the right color lines (avoid the blue).
Pienza is a great place to get a tour to Montepulciano and visit the Enotecas and wineries. We recommend you take a bus tour as I enjoy wine but obviously a problem when driving a car as we were.
A two night stay, arriving early the firsts day will give you the opportunity to visit Pienza's most important attractions and the tour to Montepulciano. If you want to spend more time on Montepulciano, stay there. If not, spend two nights and then drive on to San Gimignano as we were recommended by our travel agent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice small hotel running by one family, hosts are very friendly and attentive, we felt ourselves like we were family guests not hotel guests. The room was lovely, with beautiful terrace (unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to enjoy it). The old town is in 2 minutes walk distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

While the room itself was small, it had a patio- garden area. Breakfast was a small buffet and owners were friendly. The town is known for its pecorino cheese and the shops featured it. Charming walks in and around the small town, worthy of a short visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

It was our third visit to Arca di Pienza in six years and again it was like coming home. We will be back certainly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

It is located about 10-min walk away from town center of Pienza. There's a petrol kiosk opposite of it and a small Coop supermarket right next to it. This family-run place served good quality breakfast and the lady owner who couldn't speak a lot of Englsih was very patient to explain the direction to town and internet access to us. We had a nicely decorated room that has a patio door that opened to a courtyard garden. The whole property was very well mainatined and clean. There is free parking available at a nearby car park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

we've been staying at hotel arca di pienza for 5 nights and i have to say we enjoyed it very much. the staff (most likely a big family) was kind and helpful.
the rooms were very clean and pretty furnished. the breakfast was the first highlight of the day - although they served only white bread :)
i'd highly recommend this place if you're just looking for a cute place to stay over night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arca di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arca di Pienza

Address: Via San Gregorio 19 A/B/C, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arca di Pienza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Arca di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arca Di Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arca di Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.