We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Terrapille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Agriturismo Terrapille
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Terrapille to your Saves list
Loc. Podere Terrapille, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very clean, and professional. The family that lives there is delightful.

Not very geared towards small children. The pool was beautiful but stays cold during the day.

Close to the town of Pienza great for shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment was spacious for a big family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are few places that have such a stunning backdrop, from the rolling golden hills to the picturesque village of pienza on the hilltop. It's just utterly breathtaking. However points of interest to be considered:

Rooms are large and homely, although with no air conditioning, the nights can be very long!! (there is a fan in the room but it was still 30 degrees at midnight). Bedrooms and bathroom are clean and the common room has the most beautiful view of Pienza on the hill with a half-moon window to emphasis the fairytale setting.

Breakfast is not particularly good, and at €10 per person, it's not cheap. I would skip this option and go to the village.

Dinner is only if there are a large number of guests requesting dinner so unless you are with a large group it's better to plan to eat out.

The road to get there is a dirt track but it adds to the character and allows more time to take in the view.

The swimming pool is clean and fresh which is a real benefit on those hot summer days.

In summary, the building and amenities are all average however the view makes everything worthwhile. Its my first visit to Tuscany and I didn't know what to expect. But the views from this location are very hard to beat. On our last of two nights here, we had a little picnic with paninis and some wine while we watched the sun set over the stunning Tuscan landscape.

I would recommend the location strongly but suggest eating outside and try to avoid the warmest months.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Several amenities that were in the Rick book (e.g. olive grove, vineyard) were no longer there. While the buildings themsevles were luxe-rustic, the overall experience was a bit sterile. This was our first trup to Italy; during our tours, we ran into other agriturismos (wine tasting, restaurant) that were much more feature-rich ang guest-centric.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Terrapille was truly beautiful and the view of Pienza and the countryside is spectacular. We expected it to be a little more bustling with activity and other people in the dining room etc. otherwise we would have booked our own villa. The place was really quiet and we had to call once we got there and wait a half hour for someone to come with keys to let us in. There are a lot of keys too, we were told to always lock the courtyard gate and then lock ourselves into the building as well and then lock our suites?? Didn't like having to be locked inside the building, especially if one of the four of us wanted to go out. Our son got very sick on this trip and we ended up having to take him to the hospital in Montepulciano, so this felt a little too isolated for us, though I'm sure for others this would be the selling point. All in all, a lovely place, clean, beautiful, spacious, but we felt on our own.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you tour Tuscany, definitely stay in an agritourismo - preferably this one! It is located just outside Pienza. a beautiful medieval town, busy with tourists by day, and yours to enjoy with the locals by night. It is ideally situated within striking distance of Tuscany's hill towns, about halfway between Montalcino and Montepulciano.

The B&B is modern and clean, while maintaining a rustic feel. Our room was large and had the only actual Queen sized bed (not two twins pushed together) of our entire trip through Tuscany. We were able to use the fridge, which was handy as breakfast wasn't included.

Internet was 5 euros for a 3 day stay and very slow. The pool is incredible - gorgeous view of the surrounding countryside, and we had it to ourselves at times. Stick around for sunsets if you can - the surrounding hills are stunning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

My daughter and I were fortunate to "stumble" on this place looking for a night to stay. Very nice and secluded but close to the town of Pienza with magnificent views of the town and countryside. Comfortable very large room, large sitting/living area with what looked like a full kitchen. I hear that Lucia's mother does cooking classes.

What a location, the views on the road driving down, we knew we had hit the jackpot! This was truly were I could have easily stayed the full 3 weeks of my trip. Lucia is warm and helpful, getting us a wonderful dinner reservation. And her dad is a sweetheart too.

What else, can I say but the best. thank you Lucia for taking us in for the night.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just what we were looking for in the Tuscan countryside. A spectacular panoramic view, just outside of the quaint hill town of Pienza. Extremely quiet. Lucia and her parents could not have been any nicer, even driving us into town on a snowy day to pick up provisions at the store.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Terrapille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Terrapille

Address: Loc. Podere Terrapille, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangiavacchi family is glad to invite you to Pienza at Agriturismo Terrapille The ancient farm house is situated on a hill facing Pienza and enjoys one of the most panoramic positions in the Orcia Valley. The view from Terrapille dominates the whole valley from Mount Cetona to Montalcino and from Pienza to Radicofani and to Mount Amiata. The harmonious undulations of the hills and crests of the Sienese countryside is the ideal backdrop for this magical and beautiful view of Pienza. The road from Terrapille to Pieve di Corsignano and Pienza, was the theater of some of the most wonderful scenes of the film "The Gladiator" by Ridley Scott. The house, built in local tufa stone, has been completely renovated maintaining the original style and structure and adding a the panoramic swimming pool in front of the whole Orcia Valley The whole farm is part of the "Natural setting of the historical settlements of Pienza." Both the town of Pienza and the Orcia Valley are parts of the UNESCO worldwide Heritage The style and the environment, the wonderful views and the services and the facilities offered by the farmhouse allowed Terrapille to gain the top quality level assigned by Regione Toscana to each Agriturismo and also the "Agroqualita" quality certification. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Terrapille Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Terrapille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.