We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with no view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza

Save Saved
You added Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Circonvallazione, 7 - int. 3, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Pienza
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Room with no view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We staggered into the Piccolo Hotel after the climb (some of the farmtrack was 25%+) up to the very picturesque hilltop town of Pienza from Montepulciano as part of our walking holiday to Siena.
The hotel is situated just outside the town walls along from a grocery store where lunch provisions for the next day can be bought.
We were pleased to find the 'hilltop' is a plateau and there was no more climbing within the town which is very attractive with some good restaurants and lots of shops selling pecorino ,(sheep) cheese, the specialty of the area.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly.
Our room was comfortable with a view of the balcony of the neighbouring property where a cyclist was drying his washing!
Breakfast is served in a bright area and on the terrace. It was more than adequate with cereals,fruit, flans, fried eggs, fresh tea and coffee.We were set up for another day's walk.
We would stay there again if we're in the area once more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just across the street from the walls of the quintessential Renaissance hilltown of Pienza in southern Tuscany, the Piccolo Hotel is a perfect base to explore the dreamy Orcia valley and the famous wine towns of Montepulciano and Montalcino (home of Brunello, one of Italy's most renowned wines). The views from the valley-facing rooms offer the essence of Tuscany and will long linger in your mind after you return to your daily grind.

Room Tip: Grab one of second floor rooms with balcony facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Piccolo is a comfortable friendly hotel just outside the historic centre of Pienza. We stayed one night as part of a walking holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fine, though the beds were a tad small and the breakfast was filling - just what we needed.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This small and friendly hotel is well placed for visiting the Valley D'Orcia, and on the doorstep for Pienza which is a beautiful small town. I picked this hotel for the room with a view, so I could take photos from the balcony at sunrise. We spent a week there, and should we ever go back to Pienza I would certainly stay there again. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, my only whinge was there were no drawers to put anything in, and could have done with a few more coat hangers for a weeks stay, The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There is an underground car park, which is very useful.

Room Tip: Room 216 has a balcony with a stunning panoramic view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this very convenient and comfortable town centre family run hotel. This purpose built hotel is within a few minutes walk of the centre of Pienza with onsite car parking. The staff are helpful in providing advice about places to visit and eat. We had a small, comfortable, clean, quiet room with cotton sheets on the bed and a small balcony with lovely views across the Tuscan countryside. The continental self-service breakfast, served on the terrace, was good. We would have no hesitation in booking a future stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest room with balcony is selected (although balcony is small it does have a table and couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here, in mid-May 2012. The place is quiet, relaxing, friendly and peaceful. It's location is superb: great views on the Val d'Orcia, yet at a couple minutes of walking from Pienza downtown. Nice breakfast in a little garden, garage if you come here by car (an uncommon luxury in these places!)... In one word: highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Piccolo Hotel in Pienza after one at a stunning B&B on our way to town for a wedding. I hesitate to only give it a "3" but when looking back on our stay, didn't find it to be exceptional (except for the view!).

There was nothing really "wrong" with our room or our stay... it just didn't really exceed expectations, so I guess that's why I can only give it an "average" review! The room was clean, but lacked a certain comfort; it seemed loud in the mornings and throughout the day with cleaning staff, etc; and aside from the lovely continental breakfast area, there was no real common space for lounging or reading. I suppose one doesn't go to Pienza to hang out in their hotel room, but for me, I enjoy comfortable accomodations with a "welcome home" feeling (especially when I'm so far away from home) and this one didn't quite have it.

The location is fantastic - directly across the street from the town, and was easy to find. It had free parking and wifi which was also great. In all, it was a fine stay, but should I be lucky enough to go back, I might try somewhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the countryside - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza

Address: Via Circonvallazione, 7 - int. 3, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.