We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Save
You added Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani to your Saves list
via S. Gregorio 14, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

My wife and I recently spent a week in Tuscany and stayed in a garden level apartment in the delightful village of Castelmuzio.
The house we stayed in had been converted into two rentals with the upper level being a large spacious apartment. The garden level apartment where we stayed called El Nido had a good sized bathroom with shower, a fully equiped kitchen in which we could make our own meals when we chose.
El Nido is perfect for a couple who like their privacy but is conveniently located in the village with a co-op (local food store) and a good restaurant where we enjoyed tasty local cooking, About half a mile down the road there was also an excellent inexpensively priced restaurant.
The apartments are run by the family owners of the Agriturismo Cretaiole which is just outside Pienza. Isabella does an outstanding job of providing information and arranging tours and activities for the guests at Cretaiole and Castelmuzio apartments.
It is through the contact with Isabella's family that Tuscany comes to life.
The hill country of Tuscany offers a lot for the tourist but Isabella and Carlo make a stay with them a truly memorable experience and we have no hesitation in recommending a stay with the Moricciani family.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
132
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Cretaiole is a gem. The wonderful reviews that everyone has written about it and the Moricciani family are absolutely true and exceeded our expectations. A friend and I spent 14 days in Italy to celebrate our 50th birthdays. The highlight of our Italy adventure was the week we spent in Tuscany at Cretaiole. We both are photography enthusiasts and the area is a shutterbug’s delight. Our apartment was comfortable and the perfect location for exploring the quaint, picturesque hill towns, becoming immersed in the culture and enjoying the food and wine.

We prepared the majority of our meals at Cretaiole, enjoying fresh vegetables from the garden. We purchased additional fresh fruits and vegetables from the weekly markets in Pienza and neighboring towns. We shopped at the local coop and butcher for meats, cheeses and addicting amoretti cookies.

We sampled the fresh pressed olive oil from the Cretaiole olive groves, the pecorino romano cheese aged by the Moricciani family and also enjoyed their wine, Grappa and Vin Santo.

A special thanks to Isabella and Luciano for making our trip special. Leaving made us “molto triste”. We felt as though we were leaving behind dear friends. We have plans to return to Italy again and will look forward to staying at Cretaiole again. We would not consider staying anywhere else in the beautiful Val D'Orcia area.

  • Liked — Location and convenience for exploring Tuscan hilltowns
  • Disliked — No dislikes!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I picked Cretaiole after reading many reviews on
the tripadvisor website and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to find fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and olive oil on the table, until the last morning, we were well cared for by a committed and charming family. Isabella, is a treasure, she has an energy, passion, and commitment to her guests at Cretaiole that makes a stay at the farm more than just a place to rest your head.
She makes a weekly schedule that you are free to partake of, but
there is no pressure to join in, and her suggestions about the
neighboring countryside are thoughtful and worthwhile.
We had a lovely stay in a beautiful part of Italy and I thank
Isabella, Carlo and Lucianno for making the vacation a wonderful memory.

  • Liked — Lovely setting, interior comfort, care of management.
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Our group of women five all total stayed at Cretaiole in a three bedroom upstairs apartment. When we arrived we were greeted by Isabella who is absolutely precious and she instructed us about the surrounding area . Where to grocery shop, great places to eat , things to see etc. We didn't have to research a thing because it is all done for you by Isabella and her family. Luciano came later with a bottle of wine and grappa to introduce himself and visit with us. He speaks mostly italian, lucky for us the youngest , my niece speaks italian so she translated for us. He was interested in what we came to see and do and wanted to know about our families and what kind of careers we all had. He took us under his wing and was concerned about five women traveling without men in Italy. He checked on us daily to make sure we were safe and having a great time. The family is fantastic and very close to each other and they take you in and treat you like a very special part of it. Staying there is an experience we will never forget and someday I hope to return again to enjoy the countryside and their hospitality. They are very passionate about their country and their history and family life. It is the best place in Italy to stay and they truly make you feel like you are at home. We met the others staying at Cretaiole and very much enjoyed getting to know them and we all felt like a big happy family. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest staying there to anyone who enjoys the company of such fantastic people. Once you stay you will want to return again and again. If we all treated each other as well as they do all of their guests this world would truly be a wonderful place to live in. Very satisfied guest. The Red Head

  • Liked — The Hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm bay, florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

My wife and I just returned from two weeks at Agriturismo Cretaiole. It was not enough. Picking Cretaiole as our home in Italy for the short time we were there was the absolute right decision for us. All the rave reviews you read here are only a glimmer of what Cretaiole is about and what it means to be there, making friends and sharing experiences with the other guests, all under the attentive care of the Moricciani family.

The Val D'Orcia is one of the most beautiful, most photographed areas in all of Italy. The landscapes are fantastic, the towns and villages are enchanting, and the people are warm and open with their hospitality. Cretaiole is all of that, perched on a hill between Pienza and San Quirico D'Orcia with fantastic views in practically every direction. The house is lovely, with its apartments well appointed and maintained. The grounds are immaculate, surrounded by olive groves, woods and fields below.

The activities available, planned and arranged on a weekly basis by Isabella, some at no additional cost, some at a very (very) reasonable cost, were perfect for us - whether it was touring a working farm and eating a Tuscan lunch with the workers there, visiting a small winery near Montalcino and eating a Tuscan lunch with the family there, or learning to make pici (I love to cook) and sharing a meal with all the guests of Cretaiole and all (almost) of the Moriccianis - Carlo, Isabella, Nico, and Lucciano. Lots of warm memories (along with all the great food and wine).

Cretaiole is a tranquil, real place. The Moriccianis are passionate, real people. If you want to know Toscana, meet her people, and see what makes this such a beautiful place, Cretaiole is the place to come and immerse yourself. We can't say enough good things about it. We will be back! And soon!

  • Liked — The owner's attention to each guest - making each person's stay memorable.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Cretaiole with dear friends. The apartment we shared was perfect - comfortable, cozy, working kitchen where we cooked some meals. Spring in Tuscany is spectacular - cool evenings, warm days. We spent our days in the surrounding areas, exploring small walled cities, tasting local culinary treats, and hiking. Isabella was a wonderful hostess - helping to arrange interesting outings (including a tour and spectacular meal at a near-by organic farm) and even teaching us one evening how to make pici pasta. Our entire stay was perfect!

  • Liked — overall feel - relaxing, trusting, safe, beautiful sites to explore
  • Disliked — everything was wonderful!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This agriturismo is a cut above the rest and seems more sincere than others we got a look at. First, it is perched on a hill overlooking low valleys in three directions. In the valleys are the fields owned or farmed by the family. Pheasants crow, deer dart about, birds are everywhere and the sunrises and sunsets are absolutely picturesque. There is expansive lawn and the accommodation is a couple of hundred metres from the road so there is no traffic disturbance at all. Up the rise of the hill from the valley is Pienza (about 4 kms away) and the surrounding towns and fields.

There is an extensive vegetable garden which, when we were there, was full of ripe tomatoes, eggplants, melons, zuccini, carrots, lettuce and tons of herbs. All were available at no cost, simply for the picking.

There is no pool (the family believes deeply in this). There isn't an on site manager or maid but family members visit frequently. There is plenty of parking at a good distance from the building and room for bikes.

The family is pivotal to the success of Cretaiole. They have a solid week of activities available, many without additional cost, which you can engage in or not. These include pasta making, sampling of their fine oil and wines, visits to some Etruscan ruins, a Monastery and so on. There is plenty of advice about the area's cheese and all its other treasures including several stunning hotsprings. The family knows that you may want a lot or a little of them and they are sensitive to that!

The accommodation is very good. The rooms are spacious but not particularly bright. The main building, which is hundreds of years old, was completely rebuilt and beautifully so. It is very solid as is the furniture. The bathrooms are nicely done. The kitchens are very completely outfitted. You may feel that the weekly maid service could be slightly more frequent, if only to assure that the great accommodations remain in good shape.

Cretaiole is not for everyone. It is the perfect comfortable farm base-camp. It is ideal as an entry into a real Italian family's working farm life at the high end. It would not be for those looking for finer creature comforts at every turn. But it can't be beat for hospitality and genuine care in at least four languages. We're very glad it formed a week of our vacation.

  • Liked — Isabella's English
  • Disliked — Towels changed once a week
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Address: via S. Gregorio 14, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.