We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRAORDINARY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Traverse
Save
You added Le Traverse to your Saves list
Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Pienza B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“EXTRAORDINARY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I came to this place with my wife and it was the most romantic stay we could have ever dreamed of. The area is simply beautiful.

About the hotel? Everything is always clean, the people who work there are amazing and you are truly made to feel welcome and taken cared of in a very personal way. Our room was gorgeous. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Last but not least, I truly want to pay my deepest respect to the extraordinary woman who is in charge of the place. Your tremendous warmth, kindness and generosity made a lasting impression on us. We've met many faces in our travels but you will always have a very special place in our hearts.

Greetings from Switzerland, we love you!
Alexandre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at Le Traverse. It was recommended to us by travelers who had stayed there in the past and we could not have been happier with it. First, Pinuccia (the owner) is so welcoming and charming. When we arrived she invited us into the main area, sat with us, and was genuinely interested in talking with us. The property is gorgeous! It is set right outside of the town of Pienza (you can see the town from the estate) and is located among the hills of the quiet countryside. The scenery is just spectacular. There aren't many rooms so it's very calm, relaxing, and personal. Breakfast is held right outside of your room, at your own table overlooking the views. Breakfast was great with freshly made eggs (from her own chickens), fruit, breads, yogurt, etc. There is a pool around back which is great to use on those hot days. All in all, we had such a lovely time here.. I wish we had stayed longer! If we are ever back in the area we will definitely stay here again and I will be recommending Pinuccia and Le Traverse to anyone planning on visiting! Grazie Pinuccia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited Le Traverse a couple of weeks ago as a part of a celebration trip for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and were not disappointed. We went based on the reports from Tripadvisor which all seemed to be so positive.
Pinuccia (our host) makes a real effort to 'meet and greet', and makes you feel very welcome. I think she genuinely enjoys having a chat with her new arrivals and is interested to learn what, if any, plans you have during your stay. If nothing is arranged she will certainly have some good suggestions to keep you occupied. The afternoon of our arrival she was straight on the phone to a local restaurant booking us in for the following night. To our surprise she then called them back once we had disappeared into our room to let them know it was a special anniversary, to which they treated us to our desert and wrote "buon anniverserie" in chocolate on our plate! You'll be interested to know the restaurant was La Porta, and we returned 2 days later as it was the most wonderful food, location and service.
Breakfasts are a real feast at Le Traverse too. There's always some kind of fresh fruit, yoghurt, and toast with homemade jam, but also freshly baked, and often still warm, cake!!!!!! Be warned the portions are huge unless YOU hold the knife!!! No lunch required!
Don't be concerned that there's no air conditioning in the rooms as they are actually beautifully cool due to them being part of the old barn and having extremely thick walls. The bed was incredibly comfortable too.
Of course an enormous benefit to Le Traverse is the pool, set just above the olive groves with a stunning vista across the rolling hills, what more can you want after a days sightseeing?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Le Traverse last month. Located on a little hill outside of Pienza, the property was beautiful. It was so tranquil amidst the olive trees and wheat fields. Yet it was close enough to visit Montechiello or Pienza in just a few minutes. We had specutacular parnoramic views of Val d'Orcia villages, the fields, and Monte Amiata from our rooms/terrace, the garden, and the pool. Our rooms were large, comfortable, clean (beautiful crisp sheets), and well-equipped (mini-fridge, electric kettle). Every morning we enjoyed the dellicious (and plentiful) breakfast made and served by lovely Alessia. Each day we tasted a different cake! As others have written, Pinnucica, is a wonderful host. She made us feel very welcome. She hd thought of everything. She helped us plan our day trips everyday. We hightly recommend this beautiful property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our stay at Le Traverse was a highlight of our trip through Tuscany. The approach to the property is spectacular and the views are breathtaking. The room itself made us feel like we were on our second honeymoon! Pinuccia, the owner, gave just the right amount of advice. She made some terrific restaurant recommendations and also organised a wine tasting afternoon for us. You can feel her warmth and genuine care. The breakfast was served outside the room in a picturesque setting. The food was all freshly made and delicious. I highly recommend the marmalade and olive oil too! If you are travelling through this area (or have to make a detour to go!), Le Treverse is truly worth it.
*Pinuccia - please check the quantities of the scone recipe I gave you. It is 3 cups of self raising flour, 80g of butter and 1 cup of milk :))

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enthusiastically recommended to us by our next door neighbors who had been twice, we had high expectations. I can safely say that our stay was even better than anticipated. As has been stated by others, Pinnucia is a most charming and wonderful host. She is warm, witty and wise. She planned our day trips for us, steered us to wonderful restaurants. Our first morning there, she sadly informed us of the Boston Marathon bombings with great empathy. Everything about Le Traverse is wonderful....the location, the scenery, the rooms, the al fresco breakfasts, the staff. I join the other reviewers in giving Le Traverse the highest possible recommendation. We hope to return again!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had the most lovely experience at Le Traverse. We were greeted warmly by Pinnucia, who is the perfect host. She made us feel welcome right from the start. Our room was gorgeous with antique style furniture, fresh flowers & fruit and an excellent bottle of wine from the vineyards on the property. Everything was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Every morning, we enjoyed breakfast outside with amazing views of the Tuscan hillside and olive groves. The breakfast was delicious!!! We had fresh fruit, homemade jams, bread, yogurt, and a different homemade cake every morning. Everything was so good & made with care. It reminded me of the homemade cakes & jams my grandmother use to make when I was growing up. After breakfast every morning Pinnucia would sit with us and answer any questions about directions we had for the day or recommendations for sites & places to eat or just to catch up and see how we were. We truly loved these morning chats with her, as she is one of the warmest people I have every met. In the evenings, we would sit outside our room & enjoy wine with those amazing views. We even took advantage of the pool one day, which was very relaxing. If you want to stay in a little piece of heaven while in Pienza then Le Traverse is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Traverse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.