We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST Experiences in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Traverse
Save
You added Le Traverse to your Saves list
Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Pienza B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“One of the BEST Experiences in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Le Traverse is without a doubt one of the most wonderful experiences in the world. It's situated in rolling Tuscan hills with a long winding road that leads up to the inn. Pinuccia-the lovely owner-is there waiting to greet you. The rooms are very well decorated and comfortable, despite having no air conditioning (there are very good fans, and even in July we were never hot when we were indoors). The breakfasts are simple but superb. Pinuccia grows everything herself, so the jams, the breads, the eggs, and the fruit are all fresh and delicious. She always makes sure to come say hello during breakfast and help you with anything that you need (usually restaurant and sites around the area). The views are spectacular, and we spent many an early evening having a drink overlooking the hills from our room or the pool. Definitely should not miss this amazing opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I discovered Le Travese 14 years ago when Pinuccia, the most charming and warm hostess you will ever find, sent me a handwritten note responding to my inquiry when every other place sent me their standard reply. This experience was only the beginning of my love affair with Le Traverse and the surrounding area. The attention to detail, the desire to make certain that her guests every need is met. The Incredible beauty of the surrounding area and the views from Le Traverse.....I cannot rave enough. My heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and I stumbled upon this incredible gem in the heart of Val d'orcia, after reading a recommendation in "the little black book of Florence & Tuscany" - this place surpassed our expectations and dreams! The view was picturesque, the grounds were extremely well kept, and our room was spacious and clean (with a small kitchenette and bottle of home made wine and fruits to greet us - daily!). Most importantly, our hostess Pinuccia really sorted us out. She referred us to two of the best restaurants we've been to - she very quickly recognized our taste and vibe, and made her suggestion based on that. She also told us where to travel to, keeping in mind our short stay. Breakfast was fantastic - keeping in mind my dairy allergy, she had her staff prepare me a breakfast FREE of dairy - a milk and butter-less homemade pie.. and it was splendid! The eggs were fresh from her chickens, bread and jams made in house. Sadly we weren't there during olive harvest .. an excuse to return in the Fall (October) sometime, so we can sample her olives and oil! Thanks Pinuccia for making our trip to Tuscany one to remember, always. x R and A

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the most lovely Tuscan B and B imaginable. The grounds are immense, beautiful and well kept. The accommodations are roomy, well appointed and very comfortable. The owner is a wonderful woman who speaks perfect English and knows everything imaginable about the surrounding area, day trips and restaurants. She made all our reservations and was extremely helpful in planning our visit. Wine from the farm and delicious fruit waiting for us on check in. Breakfast is extraordinary with home baked bread, excellent fruit and jams from the farm, superb eggs from the farms chickens (hand picked in the morning just before breakfast). Our stay could not have been better (4 nights). Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After struggling with the heat and crowds of July in Venice and Florence, spending a few days in this beautiful place was a great relief and a great pleasure. We shared a large suite with our 12 year old grandson and it was perfect. Fresh fruit and a bottle of red wine made by the owner were on our table when we arrived. Bath sheets were available to take to the clean, cool swimming pool, and our room provided more than ample space and amenities including a kitchenette. But the true value of this property is its owner, Pinuccia. She is a gracious hostess, willing to share her knowledge of the region and eager to engage her guests in warm conversation. Her assistant prepared our delicious breakfasts and they were the best of our entire trip. Pinuccia advised us on restaurants in Pienza and on a driving itinerary to visit other hill towns and sights of the Val d'Orcia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. She was as charming and lovely as the countryside and we will long remember her hospitality. This is a special place and I recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Le Traverse is nestled in the hillside right under Pienza -- perhaps the loveliest village in all of Tuscany. The view up to the village from Le Traverse's garden is actually jawdropping. "What a perfectly situated place," my husband and I said over and over. The breakfast is generous and delicious, especially the dessert. Pinnuccia is a warm hostess with all kinds of good ideas for activities in the area. She made reservations for us at a winery as well as at restaurants and suggested drives in the area. On one afternoon, we sat down with her to taste the farm's terrific, spicy olive oil. There is a little white road (at the turn-off to the farm) that was just perfect for morning walks in the countryside.The pool has an incredible view over the Val d'Orcia. As scenic as the area is (and it is _really_ scenic), we left Le Traverse wishing we'd spent a little more time just hanging around by the pool: it might just have the prettiest views around. This place really represents the good life. We look forward to returning again and again and again!

Room Tip: The bigger room with the little kitchenette is worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a fabulous location, the view, the grounds, the breakfast and the accomodations are great. It is not always easy to find a king sized bed in a B&B but Le Traverse provides a great & well appointed room. My husband is quite tall and many places in Europe that are quaint (code for tiny) just do not work for him. The bathroom is amply sized as is the room. The breakfast is delicious. We arrived, after driving from Rome, in the pitch dark of night. There is very little ambient light which provides a beautiful view of wonderful starry nights. Imagine our awe when we opened the shutter to a beautiful vista of rolling hills and vineyards. The B&B is set on an olive orchard and they were just about to harvest. Pinuccia invited my husband and I for a glass of wine. I would return here in a heart beat. One of the highlights of our entire trip! We visited here before the pool was completed so we have another reason to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Traverse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.