We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back as soon as possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre di Nano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Terre di Nano to your Saves list
Terre di Nano
Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I'm going back as soon as possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights in September 2012. The property is gorgeous, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Our room was large and comfortable. I didn't want to leave. It was a great location, a few miles outside of Montepulciano, great for touring the hill towns of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Quercialsale room has tiled stairs up to the huge shower/tub. Very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
104
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back from Italy and the highlight of the trip was Terre di Nano! Giorgio and Christina from the start were friendly and very helpful.This property is absolutely amazing! The property views are unbelievably stunning just like a painting. With the hill towns of Pienza on one side and Montepulciano on the other, it doesn't get better than Terre di Nano. The reviews here tell it all. The apartment we stayed at was perfect, clean, decorated with rustic and tasteful appointments.
The cooking class was great and so much fun we laughed and learned to make awesome homemade gnocchi and drank great wine from their vineyard. Grazie Giorgio!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We just came back from an incredible trip that included a stay at Terre di Nano. When we first arrived there it was late in the evening and we had been driving much of the day. Giorgio arranged for us to have a wonderful snack of delicious cheeses and some wine from their winery. That was just an introduction to their gracious hospitality! Our room was large and lovely and the bathroom had a great soaking tub - perfect after days of traveling. The setting of Terre di Nano is breath taking and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

One of the highlights of our stay was enjoying a private meal fixed by Christina. It was a four-course masterpiece that included homemade ravioli in a wine sauce.....simply incredible! She told us that she does offer a cooking school many times throughout the year at the inn.

We also met guests who come to Terre di Nano to stay for a few weeks each year - something that sounds pretty perfect! We would highly recommend this inn to anyone seeking a special spot in which to relax or explore Tuscany!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Terre di Nano in mid October in the La Terazza villa. Only one word is needed to describe the villa, the Terre di Nano property, the view and the incredibly wonderful staff....SUPERB! While we don't have a basis for comparison as this was our first visit to Tuscany, I can't imagine there is a more perfect place to unwind, have a glass of wine, and use as a base to explore Tuscany. I do want to make special mention of Cristina. What a wonderful hostess! She provided terrific advice on places to eat and visit and prepared us a spectacular dinner our first night there. We even had the opportunity to meet her daughter and her family who had spent time in our hometown in the states. There is no doubt we will be returning to Terre di Nano in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our younger son got married in the Palazzo Communale in Montepulciano at the end of September and the guests stayed at Terre di Nano. The wedding celebrations were amazing, partly due to the beauty of the location but also the food, wine and the accommodation. Georgio went out of his way to make sure the whole thing was a success; we had a wine tasting evening with information on the various grapes etc. Our family stayed in a two bedroom apartment (with 2 bathrooms) with antique furniture and fantastic views all round. The 12 year old in our party also loved the swimming pool and the bikes. We have some wonderful memories and also wonderful photographs. The only thing I can criticise is the lack of mirrors. We had them in the bathrooms but not the bedrooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked here based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy with our choice. We booked the Maclura room, on the first floor of the main building. The room was very nice with a large armoir for all of our clothes. The bathroom only had a tub with a shower extension, which was fine for me because I love baths.

Giorgio was very nice, we didn't meet Christina. He scheduled horse-back riding for us nearby. Breakfast was also nice, there was a lot of different options. Overall I think the best thing about this place was the views from all around, during the day, at sunset and at night. It was absolutely stunning. It was also cool because the last two days we were there they were bottling their wine right nearby and you could watch.

We had dinner twice in Monticchiello (10 mins away), and the other night in Montipulciano (20 mins away).

The only thing I wish we would have known before we came to Tuscany that the road to Terre, as well as to most wine tastings in the area are not paved (just gravel) so when it was raining it was a bit hard to get up and down the hills with our tiny car. We would have gotten a 4 wheel drive- so just FYI if you're renting a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our daughter and her husband with both families rented Terre di Nano for a long weekend. We were so impressed with the setting, personal service and surrounding countryside. Georgio couldn't have been a better host and I would say the same with all the staff. All aspects of the wedding were perfect. Georgio arranged everything - more than flowers, band and photography. The meals are worth going for alone. It was not easy to find but it's remotness is a big part of its appeal. Would recommend Terre di Nano for any or all destination functions without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms have period furnishings and are very comfortable. Would not expect any noise issues inles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre di Nano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.