We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Wedding at the Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre di Nano

Save Saved
You added Terre di Nano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terre di Nano
Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty lodging in Pienza
Seoul
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding at the Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A short review of Terre di Nano cannot possibly do justice to the amazing time my wife and I had there. As soon as we found the venue on the internet, we knew it would be the perfect place for our small wedding (12 guests). Just how correct that choice would turn out to be could not have been imagined.
Our room, 'The Barlettaia' was perfect - a four poster bed, fireplace, wine refrigerator, large bathroom with tub and shower.
It has a rustic appeal whilst still feeling very clean, as if brand new.
Although Terre di Nano was fully booked when we were there, the huge space provided on the property means that you feel like you have it to yourself. We only ran into other guests at breakfast.
Giorgio (as with the rest of the staff) were so helpful. We had so many questions and requests and not one of them was refused, or a solution not provided. Giorgio is so friendly and makes you feel extremely welcome.
The breakfast was wonderful - the best buffet we had during our whole time in Italy which is saying something. Everything is natural and delicious. The meal provided at our wedding was also divine, with real Tuscan flavours - everyone commented on how good it was.
Another fabulous quality of Terre di Nano is the view. During our whole time in Tuscany, we never saw such beautiful views, as you can see sat on the terrace, nearby the swimming pool, and from your bedroom. It is so beautiful that it isn't quite real. Sometimes we would all be deep in conversation, then turn around and to look at the view again and be shocked at just how beautiful it is.
Everyone at our wedding said it was the most beautiful and 'green chic' wedding they had ever been to. And Terre di Nano and its team are largely to thank for that

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
100
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a small wedding (35 people) in July and couldn't have been more happy with the results. The grounds are so beautiful-- classic vistas of Tuscan hills and surrounding hill towns-- as if to infuse a quality of warmth into your time there. The rooms are classy and all unique and comfortable. Christina and Giorgio couldn't be better as caretakers and are always available to lend a hand in planning your trips.

This is a great hotel, and if you're looking for a place in the Tuscan countryside, it'd be hard to do better than this. And being so close to Montepulciano doesn't hurt either...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife,15 years old son and I recently spent a blissful week at Terre Di Nano. Our family's stay was a celebration of our 50 birthday's and our 25th wedding anniversary.What a great gift! We all wished we could have stayed longer at this enchanting villa. Our accommodations were top notch, and the hospitality of Christina and Georgio was excellent. We were all blown away when we opened the door to our terrace which overlooked the ruins of a mid-evil castle, olive groves, vineyards and beautiful pasture land filled with Pecorino sheep.

We chose Terre Di Nano because of it's great central location in Tuscany. It was a wise choice as we were able to take day trips to the many hilltop towns and vineyards of this beautiful region, as well as enjoy some amazing food and the friendly people of the Tuscany region.

It truly is a slice of Heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bella Vista suite. It has two bedrooms,two bathrooms a living room and full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights in July, 2012. We chose it because of the trip advisor reviews and a private recommendation as well. The property is located in the hills of Tuscany with amazing views and beautiful grounds. We immediately felt relaxed each day returning from adventures in the surrounding hill towns. The pool is an oasis and refreshing after the heat of the summer days of wine tasting and touring. Past reviewers commented about the welcoming and friendly hospitality of the management, which we didn't really experience. We found Giorgio usually cordial, and sometimes aloof. Christina always had a friendly smile, but rarely spoke to us, most likely because of the language gap. When we arrived after a full day of driving in 90+ degree heat from Florence and around Tuscany, nobody offered even a drink, or anything for that matter. We were never asked if the room was OK, or even if we needed anything, during the entire stay. We have stayed in excellent hotels all over the world and know that a little bit of service and hospitality can make a tremendous difference in the experience. Overall- a great place to stay but the service is hit or miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

To experience the beauty, atmosphere and hospitality of Tuscany, don't miss a stay at beautiful Terre di Nano. The rooms are all very large and beautiful, with spectacular views of four hill towns, depending on the room. Sip your morning cappucino under the umbrellas on the terrace and listen to the church bells from the little ancient hill town across the valley. The hosts, Cristina and Giorgio, will recommend tours, sightseeing, activities and even make dinner reservations for you in nearby towns. The accommodations include two-bedroom apartments with sitting rooms and kitchens as well as traditional "hotel" rooms, but all spacious and decorated with antiques, and with very large and beautifully-appointed bathrooms. We were three generations of a family visiting and already plan to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the exquisite hill town of Montepulciano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Celebrating our 36th anniversary, we made our first trip to Italy. Rome for 5 nights then to TDN for a week's stay. Like the others, we based our choice on the exceptional reviews and photos and prepared ourselves that no place could really look this beautiful or be this good. We were wrong!! TDN exceeded all of our expectations. Giorgio, Cristina and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. In Bellevista, where we stayed, we found in a book called "Bringing Tuscany Home" by Frances Mayes, writer of "Under The Tuscan Sun". and cooked our own ragu one evening - it was great!! We now own a copy of the book and love it. - A daily reminder of this beautiful place. The only thing that could have made it better was puppies and guess what, there were 9 of them on the property while we were there (I don't think that's garunteed for every reservation though) We spent a good part of the plane ride back to Florida making our plans to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I just returned from my 4th visit to Tuscany and its the best trip ever. Thanks to TDN, the location, the view, the people and the accommandation were perfect! The views from our little house, La Cassette, was breathtaking and truely the views are better than the pictures. TDN is centrallly located in Southern Tuscany so it easy to visit the many hilltowns in the area. And Montepulciano is only 15 minutes drive away. I definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty lodging in Pienza
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre di Nano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.