We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Ask Questions JUST BOOK IT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre di Nano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Terre di Nano to your Saves list
Terre di Nano
Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't Ask Questions JUST BOOK IT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You will not be disappointed in Terre di Nano - either by the accommodations, facility, staff (most especially Giorgio and Cristina) or THE VIEW. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's throughout Europe and never have we been treated with such grace and hospitality. We just returned from a week at the TdN and found it to be centrally located for day tripping to Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Cortona and even to the Mediterranean (about two hours).

Giorgio never seems to tire of the endless questions he gets asked (over and over I'm sure). He answers all with pleasure and a smile. Cristina's authentic Tuscan cooking is over the moon and created with love and fresh ingredients (which we watched her pick from her large herb garden). Both hosts go over and above expectations to make you feel welcome, cozy, and happy. You really want for nothing here at the TdN.

And you should not overlook the opportunity to meet Walter and Pippi - the resident Bracco's (hunting dogs) who are as sweet as can be and extremely well behaved. Their nine puppies were the highlight of our mornings after walking the Tuscan hillsides.

I cannot say enough about this lovely place. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Torino Apartment (2 Br/2 bath) on the U.S. 3rd floor, and it was well layed out, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
104
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful hotel, excellent staff, great food, amazing wine, incredible view. Nothing more to say. It was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our visit to Italy was planned for us by our Italian cousin and he worked tirelessly to show us the best of that beautiful country. For our time in Tuscany he planned for us to stay at Terre di Nano. I knew from the moment I saw the website that our time there would be too short…I was right!

The vistas could have been from a painting; the accommodations were lovely while also spacious and comfortable. It was our pleasure to meet Giorgio and Cristina…they were both immediately welcoming to us and to our children. Our dinner was perfect. Giorgio had made gnocchi for us that afternoon. The two sauces (tomato and pesto) were equally delicious. The dessert, panecotta courtesy of Cristina, became an instant favorite of our son. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious (including the American scrambled eggs).

This beautiful country estate also has a working vineyard with winemaking equipment on the grounds; from the olive trees they produce their own olive oil.

A fabulous location and gracious hosts! Even with much of Italy awaiting us, we hated to leave this idyllic setting. After many memorable moments during our two-week tour, Terre di Nano remains the favorite of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I went to TdN on the recommendation of a friend and had the most wonderful time. The location is simply lovely and everyone from the other guests to the staff were a joy to be around. We got engaged while there and everyone went out of the way to congratulate my fiancee and make the day really special for her... it was perfect.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful... the apartments are cosy and the houses arre gorgeous. YOu can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I took his parents to the Val d'Orcia for 8 days for their 60th anniversary. I had searched for places to stay for quite some time and Terre di Nano kept ending up at the top of my list. Giorgio was most gracious in answering my numerous questions and so we booked Il Bellavista apartment for the 7 nights.
Cristina greeted us upon our arrival (2 hours early as was graciously offered by Giorgio when I asked) and showed us the apartment. It is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment on the first floor of the main villa (2nd floor U.S.). There is a nice size living room and a large dining room adjacent to the kitchen. The only thing we missed that we would have liked was a microwave in the kitchen, but we managed just fine without it. Down a long hall are two bedrooms - one with an ensuite (tub and shower combination) and one with a hall bathroom next to it (lovely shower). Off the living room was a small balcony that had amazing views of the valley below and the other hill towns nearby - Monticchiello, Montepulciano and Pienza. The apartment was so comfortable for the 4 of us - we loved coming home to it each afternoon after a long day to rest before dinner.
We had dinner at Terre di Nano on our last evening there. It was delicious! The table was beautifully set with lovely china and candles. We had crostini with white beans, risotto with gorgonzola and pecorino and pears, and a pork roast. I had told Cristina that it was my husband's birthday and she had a beautiful cake for him - a millefolio with strawberries on top. The house wine was delicious - my only disappointment is that I did not buy a bottle to bring home. There was only one other couple eating dinner there that night, so it was quite intimate and lovely.
The location of Terre di Nano is absolutely perfect. It took us about 10 minutes to drive to Monticchiello for dinner, about 15 minutes to drive to Montepulciano and about 20 minutes to drive to Pienza.
This was, without a doubt, the nicest place we have stayed in Italy!

Room Tip: I do not think you could pick a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Spent a few nights here, would have liked to spend more. Very comfortable rooms, good homestyle food, friendly people, amazing views. Do not miss this place. Spent a few days in northern chianti as well and it did not compare.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Terre di Nano is in a beautiful location with gorgeous views in every direction. It is impossible to do it justice in a review. The hosts - Giorgio and Cristina - are very welcoming and make every effort to create a friendly and relaxing environment. I have no idea how the previous reviewer could describe them as unfriendly. Having spent a few days there, it is inconceivable that Giorgio or Cristina were rude to them.

There are so many good things to say, it's difficult to know where to start....

We stayed in Quercisale room, on the top floor of the villa. The views are breathtaking, the room is beautifully decorated, and creates a very romantic setting. We slept with the windows open and the breeze kept the room cool.

We had dinner at Terre di Nano on the first night, and what a wonderful experience it was. We were the only guests at dinner, and so were lucky enough to have a "private" dinner for two on the terrace overlooking the rolling hills of Tuscany. Cristina and Giorgio are the cooks, and we began with local salami and cheese, followed by the freshest and most delicious pasta we ate on our entire vacation. The third course was veal with a ripe tomato salad, and finished with fresh fruit and ice cream. As well as the food being delicious, the whole experience felt more like eating at someone's home than at a restaurant, with pleasant conversation with our hosts between the courses.

Terre di Nano has two pools. The main one looks over to Pienza and the countryside and is in full sun. A smaller "fountain" pool is more secluded and surrounded by shaded conifer trees. In this way it was easy to find a suitable place to spend the afternoon.

Breakfast was a lovely selection of homemade cake, the tastiest croissants possible, fresh fruit, and the usual cereals and breads, along with freshly made cappuccino. The terrace for breakfast has beautiful views over the hills of Tuscany and the small town of Monticchielo.

Staying at Terre di Nano in many ways felt like staying with a family on a Tuscan farm. Family members were always around, were friendly and always willing to help - but were never overbearing.

One day we asked Girgio for a wine tasting. He happily obliged, and later that day gave us an interesting tour of the winery, followed by a tasting of three of their wines. The only surprise was the 18 euro charge at the end for the tour, which we probably should have inquired about before the tour.

Terre di Nano is truly a slice of heaven, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre di Nano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.