We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room and services” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda

Save Saved
You added Antica Locanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Locanda
Corso il Rossellino 72, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Pienza B&B and Inns
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible room and services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the worst three nights during our 2.5 week traveling in Italy! Check in was ok, even the host didn't speak any English. The B&B is a like a dorm - no kitchen, no living room and no common space at all. We were given an attic room with a tiny window (with a view). Half of the room can only be accessed by crouching down. Okay we tried to deal with that. But the room was just like an oven 24 hours a day in July. I confirmed with them before the trip that the room has AC. The "AC" turned out to be mobile box with a plastic hose attached to window glass. The temperature in the room never dropped below 84F even after mid night! Since the lady there speaks no English, we had to communicate with her daughter Barbara via emails. Her response was basically "deal with it because everywhere is hot right now". They also refused our request to check out early for partial refund. Just plain terrible! Listen to Rick Steves and stay away from Pienza.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Pienza in April 2012 and stayed at Antica Locana. We could not have chosen a better place. We rented an apartment with a kitchen but also had the opportunity to view all the other rooms available. Every accomodation was different, comfortable, squeaky clean and welcoming. The location was perfect and we foud it hard to leave the comforts of the room each morning. Barbara, the owner, was extremely helpful before we even arrived. She writes and speaks english (as well as Italian) and can give you plenty of information. We expressed interest in a wine tour and she set us up with a friend who provide a fantastic afternoon for us at a most reasonable price (wine tours can be ridiculously pricey!).
Barbara's mother was around most of the week and was also quite helpful.

I recommend this property with no reservations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

When we asked locals in Tuscany "where should we go next?", people would say "Pienza" and then sigh. And so, we booked two nights in this hotel last minute on advice of TripAdvisor. Upon arrival - on a Saturday late afternoon, parking was difficult to find (note others have advised to be cautious of Pienza parking) and we learned we were on the opposite side of town from Antica Locanda. Note - it is @ the "far end" of Pienza but still within the walls - very convenient to everything you would need - but rough pulling a suitcase on cobblestones when you realize you could have parked SO much closer.
The owner indeed does not speak English, but she does speak French (and Italian, of course) and so we managed to communicate fine. Our first night was in the "La Soffitta" which is charmingly in the soffit area of the inn - at risk for head hitting, but quaint and perfectly wonderful. We moved the second night (as rooms opened up) into "Monticchiello" - more spacious, with a sofa. Awakened @ 6 am to a sunrise over Tuscany that is by far one of our favorite memories of our trip. Everything you could want in a beautiful old Italian town. Great dinner just outside the door; morning coffee & croissants around the corner; Internet Cafe nearby. Prices reasonable; plan for stairs; very nice bathrooms. You'll love your stay here.

Room Tip: We were in Italy to enjoy the food, so we had no need for kitchens. Would prefer to stay in the les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

It took us a while to find the place. The owner was waiting for us on the street, to guide us to our room. We were so grateful for her help.

It was quite a journey up the stairs to the room with the luggage. It was worth the struggle as the room was so very charming and well kept and 800 years old.

The owner directed us to a great place to eat, just a few steps from her building. She gave us a lot of information about the restaurant, which was so helpful in us having a great time at the restaurant.

The breakfast was self serve, and at first seemed disappointing, however when we ate the prepacked breakfast, we were satisfied with the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at Antica Locanda for 2 nights.
When we arrived at the door step, the poster indicated to which house we must go to find someone to help us, but there were no one at the house. Then there was a number we had to call, which after a struggle to find a phone, we managed to contact the lady to open the doors for us.
Due to the time it took we got a parking ticket - since no one was there to indicate where the parking for the hotel is.
The lady could not speak english and we had to try and communicate in a very broken French. She took us to our room - which was not the one that we booked. After a heavy discussion (and with language barriers) she took us up to the original - double in size with a beautiful view. At last we got the room that we wanted.
The location is perfect, the view looks like a picture out of a story book and it is very clean with beautiful furnisher.
We were delighted to see we had a kitchen - and went out to buy good quality wine and pasta ingredients for a night in.
Going back to the hotel, we walked past the lady, who pointed to our grocery bag and said something in French about "pay". So we went up to the room, and started reading the notices behind the door and realised we had to pay an EXTRA 20 euro's to use the kitchen! This after we already paid more for a big room which on the pictures shows the kitchen as part of the room. Nowhere is it ever stated that the kitchen facilities must be paid for additionally. Hence, we are suppose to go into the kitchen, eat the very limited "breakfast" put out in a basket, drink our coffee, and not touch anything else. We were very upset with this arrangement.
Antica Locanda is set in a beautiful town, the top room we were in had the most beautiful view over the tuscan hills, but sadly we felt disappointed in the management thereof.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed here for a week. The town is delightful. There are few hotels, so at night, after the tour busses leave, the town is yours and the locals. Right in between Montalcino and Montepulciano, this is a wine mavens perfect location.
The room was on a third story walk up. There are no elevators. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Both were maintained impeccably. The breakfast was coffee and a roll at a local place, which got pretty boring after a while. The air conditioning was a mobile unit, slef contained, that did not do a great job in the middle of the summer but would be fine for the rest of the year. It needed periodic maintenance. Parking is outside the city walls, a couple of minute walk. There were no other Americans in the town for the week we were there, which I liked. The two information desks gave us great recommendations on everything and good directions.
There was no internet or phone access. Publlic phones were a nightmare, and we ended up paying the information people to make calls for us. Internet cafe is about three minutes walk.
This place is not for a business person continuing to work. It is for a couple who want to get off the clock, and experience history, beautiful scenery, nice people, and time togehtrer.

  • Liked — location and town
  • Disliked — no ability to keep in touch with office
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda

Address: Corso il Rossellino 72, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Antica Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.