We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern restaurant with great outdoor dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bandita Townhouse Caffe

La Bandita Townhouse Caffe
Corso Il Rossellino 111, Pienza, Italy
+39 0578 749 005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 restaurants in Pienza
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Stylish restaurant in the center of Pienza
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern restaurant with great outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This restaurant stands apart from all the other restaurants in Pienza since it is very modern. It offers Tuscan meals with a modern touch. We very much enjoyed the great service and very good food. We sat in their outside dining area which is a really nice courtyard area in the old town of Pienza. If you visit during summer and the ricotta-stuffed zucchini flowers are on offer as appetizers - try them. They're absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    58
    14
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Outdoor (and Indoor) Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked a family dinner at La Bandita Townhouse during our stay in the region - three generations with the youngest at 6, including two people who are on gluten free diets. We had a wonderful dinner in the garden outside (there are some tables and bar-like seating inside, but most of the seating is outside). Accommodation was easily made for our gluten free folks and as we were family we ordered a lot to share, so we were able to enjoy most items off the menu -- since it's highly seasonal I won't go into detail about the food itself, but suffice it to say we went back two days later for lunch to try everything again. The wine list is very good -- obviously heavy on local wine, but we had a really nice Sicilian white as well as started both meals off with Prosecco.

With regard to two negative reviews, we brought in a whole tribe of children -- probably much louder than a baby in a pram, and shared the outdoor space with a couple and .... their baby in a pram, so I think Marcpc should be good to his word and withdraw his review (especially after reading the restaurant's reply). Oh, and chelseachelsealondon -- yes I am American but won't go head to head with you on gastronomic bona fides, because, well that would be tacky and you're too easy a mark -- what does good food have to do with being American, British or Italian for that matter?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and rule-breaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An oasis of modernism in the gorgeous ancient town of pienza. You walk through the vaulted ceiling of the new hotel associated with the restaurant into a spectacular garden and outdoor dining room. The food is amazing, with the unique experience of a modern kitchen and your host, John Voightmann, a genial New Yorker who smartly traded it all in to open two hip hotels in Tuscany. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A superb find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On our annual return trip to Montepulciano in Tuscany the Restaurant at La Bandita Townhouse was recommended as "something new" in Pienza. So we gave it a try for dinner (which was delicious) and promptly booked for lunch a few days later. It is superb, from the very contemporary décor (a great change) to the charming and friendly Scottish waiter (Michael) and his brother who is the Executive Chef - in fact all the staff were wonderful - to the superb fresh food. Wow ...you have to try it! Especially the hamburger!
We wish them every success and we will return!! Jenny & Steve, London

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“High aspirations, medium performance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The restaurant had a nice interior and the service was pleasant. The menu is really slim - basically 4 different courses where you can select a la carte or a 3 or 4 course meal for a set price.

The selections were interesting, and this night was chicken on the menu. Unfortunately, the way they had prepared the chicken was a whole side with wing and leg - on the bone. This means that the meat is coocked differently. My chicken had a jucy leg but the rest was overcoocked. My wife got a chicken which was undercoocked (!).

With the ambitious project this restaurant seems to be, it did not live up to expectations this night.

Our rating is OK but not more - 3+ not 4

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bandita Townhouse Caffe also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Bandita Townhouse Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bandita Townhouse Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.