We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and Jenny W.--A Tuscany Gem Not to be Missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Saracina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relais La Saracina to your Saves list
Relais La Saracina
SS146, Km 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“John and Jenny W.--A Tuscany Gem Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I visited La Saracina in October 2013 on my wife's "bucket list trip" to Italy. Without question, our three night stay at La Saracina was the highpoint of our two week trip. We included this wonderful place in our itinerary on the recommendation of our close friends who had visitied La Saracina a number of times. While our expectations were very high based upon those trusted recommendations, those expectations were easily exceeded in all respects. Upon our arrival and throughout our stay, we felt like we simply had stepped back in time--enjoying all of the old-world charm and splendor of the Tuscany countryside each moment during our stay. From the majestic hill-top setting to the manicured grounds to the spledidly-resored farnhouse buildings, the complex was simply magnificent. We stayed in the spacious and exquisite Trebbiano Suite and thoroughly enjoyed all of its amenities-- from the charming wood-burning fireplace to the cavernous and luxurious private bath. The breakfasts were delightful--with very different and plentiful offerings each morning. La Saracina's proprietors, Simonetta and Gabriella, simply attended to our every need and made us feel like family at every turn. Anyone visiting Tuscany who is looking for a wonderfully central, relaxing and private location from which to explore all that Tuscany has to offer must visit La Saracina. There is no question that my wife and I will be back.

Room Tip: Trebbiano Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our Ten Year Anniversary with a trip to Italy, and our stay at La Saracina in Tuscany was one of the highlights of a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable vacation.

La Saracina is a gem!

Our very large and private accommodations in this beautiful B&B gave us a feeling of serene luxury in the country and surpassed all of our expectations.

And we were warmly welcomed by Simonetta and her sister Gabriellla, gracious hostesses who made us feel like family throughout our stay. Each morning they offered an incredibly sumptuous buffet breakfast of fresh fruits and juices, delightful meats and cheeses, delicious breads, and eggs any style requested - a perfect start to the day. They also recommended and made reservations for us at some truly wonderful restaurants in Pienza, Montelpulciano,and Montecchiello, where we enjoyed fine Italian cuisine with local flavor and truly great wines.

La Saracina's setting is spectacular - breathtaking views of Tuscan scenery from a beautiful hillside estate. We particularly enjoyed the views from the patio by the pool in an arboreal setting.

La Saracina also offers easy access to local vineyards, and we had a very enjoyable tour of one in the vicinity and were smitten with their Brunello.

The service in all respects was terrific, and we found the price to be as reasonable as our experience was glorious.

La Saracina is a definite find and one we would recommend most enthusiastically to anyone visiting Tuscany!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited La Saracina in July 2014 and the experience and the beauty are difficult to put into words. The property, scenery and landscape is breathtaking. Gabriella was an exceptional hostess to us. Morning breakfasts were exquisite. Location is perfect for those wanting to explore the towns, scenery and unbelievable culture of Tuscany. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited La Saracina in June 2014. The six rooms are all different and the proprietors, Simonetta and Gabriella , have added some lovely new touches. This B & B offers privacy as each room has its own separate entrance spread throughout the facility. I have recommended this to many friends and all have thorougly enjoyed themselves. This is the type of truly tranquill atmosphere in which to enjoy Tuscany while at the same time being within 10 minutes of Pienza and Montelpulciano. Simonetta makes all dinner and winery reservations and other suggestions to make the trip perfect. The glass enclosed breakfast room buffet has never been prettier. If you want a truly special experience , this will make your trip to Italy.

Room Tip: My two favorite rooms are the suites Trebbiano and Malviasa. they are charming and offer a bath wtih...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Sarcina the first week of June and found it to be exceptional in all aspects -- whether strolling through the vineyard, lingering in the olive orchard, or lounging by the pool overlooking Pienza on the far hillside, every setting that La Saracina has to offer is breath-taking in splendor like a Tuscan fairytale. Morning breakfasts, afternoon wine sipping, and a proprietor-prepared 4-course al fresco dinner were all immaculately served and scrumptous in flavor. The proprietors are delightful with such helpful insights on how to best "live" the Italian countryside experience. We will return again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanenmoser, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I've been in La Saracina in several occasions on the last 20 years. This is a true gem in the nicest part of Tuscany. For those wanting to know Tuscany, with its hills as seen on dream pictures, this is the region to visit. La Saracina is perfectly located between Pienza and Montepulciano, two of the nicest villages in Tuscany. The small hotel sits in an old farmhouse, with just a few very comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. In some rooms the bathroom is like a leaving room. The beautiful gardens welcome you and the swimming pool is a plus on sunny days. Breakfast at the winter garden is a must. The sisters Simonetta and Gabrielle will make you feel at home with their informality. One of the best addresses in Tuscany, Simplicity with sophistication and charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wow.From the first moment we arrived this was going to be a special stay: Gabriella welcomed us on the first night and at our request had arranged dinner for us. The accommodation was delightful and the breakfast special. We felt welcome in the home of local Tuscans who offered us all the local secrets-from wine tours to local spas and the best places to eat,tour,drink or just view. La Saracina is suited to people who like a relaxing , luxurious, place to stay with the most welcoming hosts we have met.We will be returning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Saracina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Saracina

Address: SS146, Km 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais La Saracina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Saracina Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Saracina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.