We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They understand how....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Saracina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais La Saracina to your Saves list
Relais La Saracina
SS146, Km 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They understand how....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at La Saracina many times. And rule out any negative ratings ever given.
It is truly magical. The location is a total bliss. The owner Simonetta is as elegant as she knows her way around. She advised us the best restaurants and locations to visit.
A person would be mad or just negative to write something bad about this place.
We met people that stayed the for 15 years as trusted customers and they are not the only ones..

If you want to relax, feel at home and well treated, then go there! I tell you.. If people are negative, they probably want to keep it to themselves what the real problem is in their life!

Room Tip: Take a suite.. I saw all the rooms for next vist and they have huge bathrooms! And to take a last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent 8 nights at La Saracina in May of 2012. Although Simonetta and Gabriella were gracious hosts, our room lacked in creature comforts. No TV for the entire stay (was told the "dish had been acting up"), no heat or hot water the first morning we awoke, no sitting area or anything other than the bed. Noise was a big problem. We had one almost entire sleepless night as what appeared as their friends who stayed in the next room kept us up most of one night with a drunken party. Also, do not plan on laundry service. It is provided, but expensive!! It is almost $10 US for a single pair of pants. Are you kidding me?? Breakfast provided was good, the grounds were safe. But we believe there must be a better deal in rural Tuscany than this for over $300 US per night. It was our biggest dissappointment of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very romantic, very clean & hosts Simonetta & Gabriella are tremendous hosts. Highly recommend if traveling in Tuscan region.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We came to La Saracina on the advice of a friend. When he spoke of this place in particular, his face became animated as he described Simonetta and Gabriella and the incredible experiences he has had at this wonderful little gem. We had never even really discussed what La Saracina looked like because I trusted him so completely after listening to him describe his time there. When we arrived - much later than we had expected because we did not know the area at all, Simonetta was waiting to show us to our rooms and explain the property and breakfast the next day to us. After she left us, we went into our rooms, unpacked, and just sank into the incredible peacefulness of this place. Our suite was divine, the grounds immaculate, and the lawn pool and view out over the fields of Tuscany to die for. I have never known relaxation like this and could have stayed forever. Luckily for us, they also have a tennis court on the property that kept our boys very busy while we were enjoying our peace by the pool.

Breakfast each day was beautiful. Poached and dried fruits, nuts, eggs to order, fresh fruit and yogurts, sliced meats, the best coffees - and presented so in keeping with the home.

Simonetta made all of our arrangements for dinner each night and gave us incredible suggestions as far as her favorites - all were so authentic and in beautiful, charming little towns that were 5-15 minutes away.

The grounds - ahh the grounds - meticulously manicured and cared for - and lavendar everywhere. Each day at the pool, we also could hear the strains of the beautiful music that Simonetta and Gabriella enjoyed from their apartment also on the grounds.

So if I haven't convinced you that this place is heaven on earth - be sure to visit so you too will know what we experienced. We will be back - and soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trebbiano Suite and our boys stayed in standard room on the other side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

La Saracinia was one of the most wonderful experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy.
The hosts Gabriella and Simonetta are so warm, friendly and helpful with their advice certainly made our stay personal. The buildings are beautiful and the the rooms so suitably and appropriately decorated in a Tuscan style.
Breakfast was served in a stunning glass room amongst the garden with an amazing array of 'breakfast fare'! We enjoyed a wonderful lunch by the pool after a visit to Pienza where we had purchased gorgeous local produce. This property is a real jewel in the crown and I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at La Saracina for two nights in July. It is an old stone house at the top of a hill overlooking Pienza and Motalpuciano. The setting and topography are so beautiful that it almost looks fake. The room we had was huge and very nice, the place is somewhat self service but you have everything you need. Nice towels, beautiful swimming pool, and a great breakfast with typical local peccorino cheese...the best! Very rustic but with all amenities. Very easy access to some great towns especially Pienza....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

La Saracina is a real find. Each of the five large rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed for a comfortable stay. My favorite rooms are Trebbiano ( queen bed) and Sangiovetta ( king bed) both with very large bathrooms( large shower and bath).The proprietor Simonetta Vesichelli puts out an extraordinary breakfast. From this great location, she assists with dinner reserations in nearby towns , winery visits, and any assistance needed to tour the area by car. She is a life long resident and knows everyone. A+ rating in every respect. My wife and I have travelled to Italy for the past 13 years and we find ourselves returning to La Saracina every trip for at least a couple of days. You can reach it by rental car from Florence in about 1 and 1/2 hours.Simonetta's sister Gabriella and her staff are also very attentive to every need. This is a special place in a beautiful setting. A perfect location for touring Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano and thier Brunello and Vino Nobile Vinyards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Saracina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Saracina

Address: SS146, Km 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Saracina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Saracina Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Saracina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.