We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as L'Olmo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Santo Pietro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta Santo Pietro to your Saves list
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Podere Santo Pietro 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As good as L'Olmo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did not think we could find anywhere as good as L'Olmo but we did. They both have strengths and weaknesses but provide a fantastic holiday experience in this most beautiful part of the world. Yes it is on a busy road but this means it is easy to find in the dark! Poolside service was fantastic and the restaurant is fabulous. Best of all the pillows are amazing.

Room Tip: There are a few twin rooms. Ours was on the ground floor but we did not have a terrace. It is a pity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    18
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
40
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at Santo Pietro!!!! We stayed for 3 nights and it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. The hotel has great charm, and the pool and gardens are wonderfully manicured. The owner and staff were very friendly, and the food is FANTASTIC!!!! The breakfast buffet was perfect and we ended up eating dinner at their restaurant every night because the food was so good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Tenuta Santo Pietro in July 2013. It was by far our favorite location of our trip. Its not a fancy luxury hotel. Its a rustic, clean, traditional place with comfortable bedding and beautiful scenery! The staff was very helpful and friendly and greeted us each day by name and asked what our plans were. The breakfast was good also. We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was very good! It is located just outside of Pienza and a short drive from Montepulciano, Montalcino, ect We also enjoyed playing pool and ping pong at night while socializing with the other guests!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this on the back of the reviews on TA. Great views, pool and rooms. It is very close to the road so choose rooms with care. Also for the price was expecting a more luxurious stay - it really is like staying in someone's home, but if that's your thing you'll love it. Shame that the outside eating area does not enjoy the views of Pienza - I think that the external sofa area would be better used for this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Tenuta Santo Pietro for 5 days and loved it. The property has been stunningly restored, exuding both Tuscan rustic charm and modern comfort. The location was perfect for visiting the hill towns of the area.

Our room (Vernaccia) was very spacious, with plenty of room for a sleepaway cot for our son, a king sized bed, night tables, closet armoire, chair, and huge bathroom with whirlpool tub (note that it's a single-person tub). The bed was very comfortable. Plus, this is one of the very few B&Bs with air conditioning and window screens! I peeked into several other rooms during our stay and every room was beautiful.

The grounds are gorgeous, with lovely gardens, orchards and a vineyard. There are plenty of places to lounge about : at the pool, the outdoor sitting area, the hammock, or one of the indoor sitting areas. Guests are free to walk about the olive trees and the vineyard. The magnificent view of Pienza from the pool area (and some rooms) is a bonus.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and we dined there several nights. Chef Alessandro's homemade pasta is the best! The breakfast included a nice selection of fruits, pastries, cereals, frittatas, juices and coffee or tea. The house wines and olive oil are also excellent.

The staff was wonderful and really went out of their way to make our stay special. A few examples: on the first day we got a little lost on the way to the Tenuta and arrived a bit late and very hungry. Although it was too late for lunch and early for dinner, the staff prepared a nice plate of meats, cheeses and pates prepared for us to enjoy. One night at dinner, my husband asked about the agnolotti (a moon-shaped pasta) he had watched Alessandro prepare earlier in the day but wasn't on the menu -- and our server immediately offered the pasta with a ragu sauce even though it wasn't included on that day's menu.

Guisseppe, the owner, is bilingual and most of the staff speaks fluent English. Guisseppe was available every morning to help guests plan their day. He was very helpful with recommendations for the usual sights (visiting hill towns) and also with some more tranquil, out-of-the-way places that could only be reached by dirt roads. We'd like to extend special thanks to staff members Francesco, Lucia and Leda, who were all so helpful and gracious.

When planning your stay, do pay attention to the room layouts and location. The Tenuta is right on a country road and if your goal is absolute silence, then I'd recommend asking for a room on the other side of the building. We kept our windows closed at night and the road noise didn't wake us up or disturb us. Also, I'd recommend a room that's far from the kitchen, as dinner is served late and the kitchen could be noisy at times.

We would absolutely recommend la Tenuta and would absolutely stay there again if we visit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Vernaccia is one of the largest rooms, airy and bright with 4 windows. Bathroom is huge, with a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Out five days at Tenuta Santo Pietro was transportive! The place is magical, the food incredible and the service flawless and unobtrusive. The rooms are represent every beautiful thing about being in an ancient house in Tuscany mixed with every convenience of modernity. I cannot imagine a better place to spend a week in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Definitely the location for touring hill towns in Tuscany. Once you turn at the sign of the key and Giuseppe meets you to explain the finer points of the property, you breath a sigh of relief for the beauty and quiet of the surroundings, a "gentleman's farm" with olive groves, vineyards and views to Pienza. The rooms are vintage Tuscan with comfort, the details in the linens, glassware, furnishings reflect a love of the best of Italy. We loved the Tenuta's wines, took some away for relatives as gifts, had every meal in the restaurant as the selection and quality was excellent and followed many of Giuseppe's touring recommendations for the two days we were here. We will return with friends next year.

Room Tip: Garden side, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Santo Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Santo Pietro

Address: Podere Santo Pietro 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new owners of Tenuta Santo Pietro recently completed a loving and total restoration of the property to maintain the integrity of its historic 13th-century structure while offering all the modern comforts that will make you feel at home. The inn is fully air-conditioned (windows are also screened so you can enjoy the Tuscan air) and has wireless access and TV in every room. Each of Santo Pietro's twelve bedrooms has its own marble bathroom, and offers a welcoming bed with exquisite Italian-made linens, down pillows and comforters. An expansive manicured lawn sits off the back of the house, along with several patio areas, comfortably furnished so you can sit and look out over the terraced lawn to the pool and to the town of Pienza beyond. The pool—complete with outdoor shower—welcomes guests with lovely padded teak chaises and umbrellaed tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tenuta Santo Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Santo Pietro Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Santo Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.