We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Santo Pietro

Save Saved
You added Tenuta Santo Pietro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Podere Santo Pietro 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Pienza B&B and Inns
Dublin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Pros:
Exceptionally beautiful accomodation, everything is very luxurious
Lovely friendly relaxed ambiance
Food is incredible
Location is fantastic on the road between Montepulciano and Pienza
Guissepe gives you a map and makes fantastic recommendations - he recommended a walk to Montechiello we loved among other things
Excellent value for money
We extended our stay while we were there because we were so comfortable
Cons:
em. really - none

Room Tip: Avoid the room downstairs if you want quiet. It was a little bit noisy before midnight as near the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    14
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Tenuta Santo Pietro belongs to a younger Italian American family who are putting their heart and soul into establishing the business. They’ve done a great job. The place is beautiful. Simply beautiful both inside and out. We loved the interior decoration and the grounds were immaculate. In spring, it wasn’t quite warm enough to jump in the pool but on a summer’s day it would be perfect.

Tenuta Santo Pietro have a great team working there. Everyone clearly took a lot of pride in their job. The in-house meals were fabulous and we looked forward to breakfast each morning. A top class effort by the team working there.

I’m not sure that I would, hand-on-heart , recommend Tenuta Santo Pietro for a honeymooning couple looking for a quiet break. It describes itself as a “tranquil oasis” in Tuscany but this wasn't our experience. We may have picked an unlucky week but we were woken up a couple of times by other guests using the kitchen (which basically backed straight onto our bedroom) and kept awake by a large group that had come to the restaurant (not guests at the property) for a late meal and singing. Another day we returned from our day’s outing early as we wanted to chill out for the afternoon, only to find the restaurant had been hired by a very large group (looked like a huge family celebration) and after lunch they then hung out around in the grounds and pool area. If you are desperate for a quiet, tranquil break, perhaps check first what else is planned during your visit.

The team there were generous, kind & lovely people. Everyone was very approachable, helpful and humoured us with our Italian. We enjoyed everyones' company and would happily welcome any of them into our home for a meal.

The food nothing short of exceptional, the buildings are gorgeous and the grounds and outlook are stunning.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a week at Tenuta Santo Pietro in April 2012. Giuseppe and Natalia are the most gracious hosts and I am fortunate to call them friends. The food, wine, and accomodations were exquisite. Wild boar stew paired with the estate wine alongside some pecorino di Pienza left a lifelong impression. I would reccomend this estate to anyone who is looking to experience rich history and the incredible bounty that Tuscany has to offer. I hope to return someday and introduce my friends and family to this wonderful landscape.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tenuta Santo Pietro is an absolutely beautiful property in one of the best wine producing regions of Tuscany. Several friends had been before my trip and I had heard great things but I have to say it was even better than I expected. To start with, the Inn is a beautifully restored 13th century building that has every modern amenity while retaining its old world charm and feel. Each of the bedrooms that I was able to see has it’s own unique look and feel and each cozier than the next. All of the common rooms of the Inn are beautiful with fireplaces and lots of original exposed beams. As I was there with a group, we spent plenty of time shooting pool on the pool table. Although I was there in November for the olive harvest, the outdoor patios and other space around the inn were very nice to relax on when the sun was out. I have heard it is even better on warm Spring or Summer nights when you can spend hours sitting out on one of the patios or by the pool.

In addition to the beautiful Inn and grounds be sure to explore the acres of farm land that TSP includes. I loved walking up to the highest point on property in the olive groves and looking out over the village of Pienza and the Tuscan landscape. If you are into wine and wine making, the vineyards are right there by the inn and I was lucky enough to go to the local wine production facility as well as olive press while there.

Each day that I was there we did a day trip to one of the surrounding towns including Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino as well as Siena, all of which are close by. Giuseppe was able to suggest the best places to see, eat at, stop for a drink, etc. It makes it very nice to have real local knowledge when exploring for the first time.

Overall my stay at TSP could not have been better. It is an easy trip to and from Rome, the Inn is gorgeous, the staff incredibly helpful and the region one of the most beautiful in the world. I can’t wait to go back with my family some time soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tenuta Santo Pietro is a 5 star experience from start to finish. The rooms are incredible, the property is magnificent, their food is delicious and the hosts are unmatched. You can participate in the wine making and olive oil making process and learn how to make many different tuscan meals. On top of all that the inn is perfectly located for access to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, Florence etc etc....If you are planning a trip to Tuscany stay at the Tenuta Santo Pietro. You will be absolutely blown away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in September, 2012, for our 20th anniversary. It was highly recommended by a friend who has been there a couple of times and she did not steer us wrong. It is so beautiful, so serene, yet close to the town of Pienza; what a perfect location. The owner, Giuseppe, is very nice and always ready to help with directions and suggestions. The breakfast is wonderful as well as the staff. We hope to return some day to Pienza and will definitely return to TSP.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a beautiful tenuta this is! We had a reunion with friends there, to celebrate two 40th birthday parties. It was nothing short of wonderful - everything about it: the location, the food (seriously tasty), the wines (gorgeous) and the hospitality (Giuseppe is a wonderful host). We were able to visit lovely little towns in the area, including Montalcino and Pienza - both well worth the visit. Giuseppe guided us well on what to do and what to try. The room we had (8) was beautiful - very comfortable comfortable beds and heavenly soft pillows made for an excellent night's sleep. The breakfasts were lavish, with lots of home-made cakes, quiches, fruit salad, juice... Just delicious! I would go back there in a heartbeat. It's ideal for couples, families (kids tired? They can just go right upstairs and snooze while you relax in the dining room or one of the lounges). Absolutely wonderful. I'd recommend it to business travellers or solo travellers if they have business in the area, or want to see some of the villages and towns in the area (such as Siena). An absolutely wonderful experience, all around. Complimenti, Giuseppe!

Room Tip: Our room (8) was great. Yes, it's on a road, but the traffic isn't bad at all - certainly no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Santo Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Santo Pietro

Address: Podere Santo Pietro 29, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new owners of Tenuta Santo Pietro recently completed a loving and total restoration of the property to maintain the integrity of its historic 13th-century structure while offering all the modern comforts that will make you feel at home. The inn is fully air-conditioned (windows are also screened so you can enjoy the Tuscan air) and has wireless access and TV in every room. Each of Santo Pietro's twelve bedrooms has its own marble bathroom, and offers a welcoming bed with exquisite Italian-made linens, down pillows and comforters. An expansive manicured lawn sits off the back of the house, along with several patio areas, comfortably furnished so you can sit and look out over the terraced lawn to the pool and to the town of Pienza beyond. The pool—complete with outdoor shower—welcomes guests with lovely padded teak chaises and umbrellaed tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tenuta Santo Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Santo Pietro Hotel Pienza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Santo Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.