We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the ingredients....not quite got the recipe right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro di Pienza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Chiostro di Pienza to your Saves list
Il Chiostro di Pienza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
west yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“All the ingredients....not quite got the recipe right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Lovely hotel in perfect setting right in the heart of Pienza, ideal for strolling out into the town with its variety of shops, bars, restaurants & trattorias. The hotel is within the walled city so it is lovely to be able to walk straight out into the narrow streets and soak up the atmosphere. However the lack of available parking elsewhere at busy times does make it difficult. At the time of our visit they were busy changing a lot of the free parking areas to pay and display/ restricted parking! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, although the small desk in the foyer which served as the reception area was a little surprising for a hotel of this calibre. The bedrooms were large & comfortable, with the added bonus of tea & coffee making facilities. The meal which we had in the outside restaurant was lovely, with good food, beautifully presented and served. We were given a fantastic candlelit table with a view over the Pienza countryside which was absolutely amazing! The restaurant was set beautifully, with a mixture of candlelight and lamps which made the atmosphere really special, but unfortunately when it goes really dark you cannot see what you are eating which is a shame as the food was served so beautifully! However when we mentioned this to the very helpful waiter he brought us a bowl full of candles(obviously we weren't the first!) Worth bearing in mind if you have a table with a view!
The pool and outside areas of the hotel were somewhat disappointing. The pool itself seemed not very clean and the garden areas rather neglected, which was a shame as they had obviously been well set out and given some attention, could have made such a difference to the overall impression of the hotel. I agree with the comments from other reviews that the hotel appears a little tired. Compared to the two other 4* Relais hotels we stayed in during our trip to Tuscany, the Chiostro seems to have a little something missing from that magic recipe!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    125
    64
    35
    12
See reviews for
51
205
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

lI stayed at the Chiostro with my boyfriend for three days last week and it was juts perfect.
We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Tuscan countryside (the other rooms have a view over the patio which is not bad either). The hotel has a restaurant with a large terrace overlooking the hills of Tuscany and sitting there sipping a cup of tea or a glass of wine is truly relaxing, the food and wine are also excellent. It also has a pool with a green area where we could lay and enjoy the sunshine. The service was beyond expectations, everyone tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel is centrally located right in the middle of tiny cute Pienza town and perfectly located to visit the surroundings of Southern Tuscany.
We well not forget our stay there and I am hoping to go back in a few years.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Having married in Italy (Villa San crispolto, Umbria) The il chiostro was our first destination on our honeymoon trip.

Pienza is a great base for days out with plenty of places within easy reach and the il chiostro was a well placed and relaxing base to return to.

The hotel restaurant is fabulous, a meal will easily set a couple back over €100, but the food, service and setting are great. Pienza has a number of good restaurants which thankfully are a little kinder on the wallet.
Parking too was plentiful and free just outside the city walls

Our hotel room was very nice, fantastic view etc, the bathroom was adequate , the room was very hot though and air con would have been a welcome addition.
The staff from reception through to restuarant were good humoured, attentative and never intrusive.
The breakfast was very nice with a good selection to choose from.

We plan to return - although we will avoid August as the heat was too much

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. The breakfast staff were really sweet and by the third day brought us our drink orders without us having to order.

The setting was perfect in a peaceful, cute town, and the views from our room looked like a Hollywood set. We would definitely recommend getting a room with a view of the hills. The pool setting is also stunning, although there aren't too many chairs. This was never a problem for us, but if you're there on a busy summer weekend, get your chair early, The courtyard is really peaceful and a nice place to sit and enjoy the free wifi.

The only negative of the hotel was the shower which ran hot and cold, and we couldn't get a consistent temperature. A plumber came to fix it right away, but it didn't make a difference - just old Italian plumbing. The staff offered to change our room, but we didn't want to move all our stuff.

A quick comment on parking. The hotel is located in town in a traffic controlled zone. There is no parking at the hotel but you can drive in to town to drop off your bags and then park for free in a public lot. The walk is about 3 minutes away and we found parking spots with no trouble.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We were on our way to Tuscany and stopped here for the night. We enjoyed the hotel. Our room was large and clean although without much charm. What can you expect from a renovated convent.! The big surprise was the restaurant. We were not expecting much but once we entered the restaurant and saw the lovely room and the table settings; and sat down and were immediately served an aperatif and an "amuse bouche" we knew we were in for a treat. The food was excellent better than most of the meals we ate in Rome restaurants. We selected several pasta dishes (one ravioli; one pasta with fagioli) with sauces that were original (for us) and very tasty. Our meat courses particularly the lamb were perfectly prepared. Everything was delicious including the desserts. My mouth still waters at the memory of this meal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

By far this was our favorite place in tuscany the staff the pool the town everything about it was great would highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at Chiostro for 3 nights in early June and it was a truly lovely experience. Contrary to other reviews we thought that the hotel was in excellent condition, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. We may have just been very lucky with our room (107) but it was fabulous. Large, with a view over the the terrace at the back of the hotel and out onto the wonderful countryside. The bathroom was huge. No bath, but a shower suited us just fine. We got a really good deal through hotels,com and it only cost £180 each for 3 nights - which for the size and quality of the room was a steal. The hotel is in a stunning location and have been very sympathetically renovated. The pool was clean and quiet. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and given that our aim was total relaxation we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was served until 10.30am. The cappuccino we had for breakfast was the best we had anywhere in Italy. Pienza itself is a lovely old town. The Pope's Palace (next to the hotel) is very interesting and we had a excellent guided tour round it. There are also a number of really good restaurants. Our favourite was Latte di Luna. Try the homemade pici pasta wtih a simple tomato sauce and don't, whatever you do, forget to have the suckling pig. It was outstanding and excellent value. We will definitely return to Chiostro. For us, it was the perfect place to relax and perfectly situated for a gentle stroll to some fantastic food.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Chiostro di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Pienza

Address: Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro di Pienza 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Chiostro di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Hotel Pienza
Il Chiostro Di Hotel Pienza
Pienza Il Chiostro Di

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro di Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.