We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly waning, but still a decent experience....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro di Pienza

Save Saved
You added Il Chiostro di Pienza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Chiostro di Pienza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sadly waning, but still a decent experience....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The official page for this review states well kept gardens and even as they prepared to host a wedding today, weeds between border plantings stood at attention high above the border. And in the cloister, weeds sprout everywhere between the bricks (although this lends a bit of old world charm unlike the weedy formal-ish gardens.)

We chose this place mostly for the pool, yet it was closed, they said, until the end of May but I could find nowhere in their information on this site or other sites that states this. A terrible disappointment.

I was able to view several rooms and asked to be relocated upon arrival, which they did and to a very nice room However, it should be noted that if you are at all a light sleeper, a room opening onto the courtyard should not be your preference as all the courtyard noise is amplified up to your window. And as there is also no fan or air conditioning until June (and per other review this seems iffy as well) you are going to want your window open for ventilation.

If a hairdryer is important to you, make sue the one i n your room works BEFORE you unpack. Not only was someone traveling with us unable to get it to work because the hose came apart (nothing s bit of duct tape couldn't fix, mind you) but after reporting it on day one of a 5 day trip no effort was made to fix it.

And beware weddings season which I would imagine is lengthy. The set up starts in the courtyard at 730a.m. And lasted all day, again, if you a on the courtyard, there will be no sleeping for you. It will also take the same amount of time and noise to break down, hence more noise. Also, hot water was unavailable the morning of the wedding, we surmised due to wedding prep. No one seemed to know about it or be able to help. Additionally, the door off the courtyard to the street is locked and you are rerouted to the garden entrance/exit to a side street during the whole wedding festivities which from our experience lasted 7 to 8 hours.

Many if the rooms looked like the professional pics but I would say that the reviewers pics are more accurate on every level. My room was #407 and but for the noise of the courtyards was excellent.king bed with two twins so they could be pulled a bit apart if needed. Large wardrobe, very large bathroom, adequate lighting and very little noise from other rooms. However BEWARE that if you are not n the main building you will have no access to an elevator. This is the third floor.

While breakfast is very adequate and included, the coffee by american standards is sub par. They will make you espresso or latte but for an extra charge.

The view at this hotel off the back gardens is to die for. The breakfasting area outdoors is here too. It really is unparalleled. The access to the streets of Pienza is also unparalleled. You are right in the center of the old city. Absolutely perfect.

I would recommend Eating at La Buca di Enea for lunch or dinner, cash only,small, reservations recommended. Very authentic. Very friendly. This is off the main street. We find main street restaurants to have a higher cover charge and less friendly service. Get recommendations. Also very nice is http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g644280-d1224778-Reviews-Trattoria_Latte_di_Luna.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, bring duct tape or other tix it material. Courtyard rooms can be noisy esp. on wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    113
    59
    33
    12
See reviews for
47
189
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights here. The room was a good size, lg bathroom, clean, service oriented staff. We loved the area too. Each room is different so experience may vary. Our bed was useable but was sagging on my husband's side. The closet door was broken as well. Why do all hotels only provide one suitcase holder? Just a comment on general issue we find universal. The views out the back are phenomenal! We would return gladly!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I loved our brief stay in the cloisters. Our room was large and well appointed while the bed very comfortable--a real plus for a bad back..

More importantly, we loved the magnificent view from our room, the delightful historic ambiance, and the convenient location in the heart of Pienza, The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great.

My only complaint would be that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly, beautiful rooms, breathtaking view, and comfortable in every way. Breakfast was an added plus, and would be a perfect place to stay for several days to explore the area - we hated to leave!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening so we were unprepared for the incredible view from the courtyard where they serve breakfast. Exquisite countryside.
The room was large and very clean, however the double bed was quite hard. That's the only thing that I could possibly fault with our stay.
The ladies at the front desk were helpful with providing us with information about the area.
Looking forward to returning in the summer months!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Very nice location and sense of history. The room was very large.

Friendly staff, breakfast was uncomplicated though the child seat was woefully inadequate.

Nice enough. The display of artwork in the cloister added to the experience and the central location was a real bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel really is quite special. A converted convent - we felt very lucky as less privileged tourists peered into the convent courtyard and we were able to walk past and into the hotel. The staff were a delight and so helpful, the bedroom - a suite with 2 rooms for us as a family room which was lovely; the pool was gorgeous and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the valley was a wonderful experience. - Coffee lovers, do ask the very helpful waitresses for lattes, cappuccinos or espressos rather than trying the 'american coffee' left ready in pots at the breakfast buffet. Obviously the minute town is handy to explore - and well worth looking in the local wine/cheese shops.
The only factor against the hotel was the difficulty with a car - the streets are not made for cars and it was difficult to negotiate in to the city centre to unload. Although there are free car parks a very short walk away from the hotel, these were crammed for 2 out of our 3 day visit and we had to park a 15 minute walk away. However, it really was worth it to be able to stay at Il Chiostro

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Chiostro di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Pienza

Address: Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro di Pienza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Il Chiostro di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Hotel Pienza
Il Chiostro Di Hotel Pienza
Pienza Il Chiostro Di

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro di Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.