We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Pienza is Cute!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro di Pienza

Save Saved
You added Il Chiostro di Pienza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Chiostro di Pienza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location, Pienza is Cute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location if you're looking to spend some time in charming Pienza. Amazing sweeping views over the Val d'Orcia. Rooms were very large by European standards. Nothing really stood out to me here, but it is a perfectly fine hotel in the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    113
    59
    33
    12
See reviews for
47
189
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of a cycling tour. The hotel is a beautiful old building, nice and clean. Breakfast excellent. just a few little things like no soap dish in the shower, so had to put soap on the floor. The staff were fantastic. So nice and friendly, cause I don't speak any Italian, they managed perfectly, but also initiated conversation which is nice for a solo traveller. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I, and our friend, stayed at Il Chiostro for 3 nights in mid-April. We had been here in 2001 and found Pienza and Il Chiostro to be just as magical as the first time. We had large, comfortable rooms, one with an amazing view of the Val d'Orcia. The hotel has large hallways and airy common areas in addition to the wonderful terrace mentioned by many. The young desk clerks were very efficient, helpful, and fun to talk with. 2 minor negatives: 1. the TV picture sometimes deteriorated (at least on the France 24 station we were watching for Boston Marathon bombing updates) and there was no English language station, and 2. the caffe' americano was quite weak, unlike the great coffee we normally get in Italy and France. Aside from those minor criticisms, everything was great. The town is small, beautiful, and frequented by tourists (individuals and busloads). There are several very good restaurants (we enjoyed Latte di Luna, and La Bandita Townhouse Cafe'), many shops, and historical sights (we enjoyed the duomo and the Palazzo Piccolomini). Also, if you book a deluxe room you get free valet parking which saved us the trouble of finding a parking place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

one week in a great location - the little hilltop village of Pienza. The room was comfortable, the bathroom a marble cavern (typically Italian), our TV never worked. The cloisters are a wonderful place to linger, enjoying the scent of jasmine in the heat of summer. The views over the valley are breathtaking, especially in the evenings - stay and watch the swallows diving and swooping. The restaurant food is wonderful, great wine (we had Prosecco every night, and lovely whites), breakfast offered a generous selection in the European style. There are a plethora of good restaurants within a stone's throw of this lovely hotel. I would love to go back

Room Tip: try for a room with a view. Ours faced a side street and was a bit dark and the noise carried up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our room was quite small, however, there were many rooms that were larger. The views are really amazing. The service was fantastic and the location a dream. Noisy hose pipe directly outside the bedroom window one night. I would recommend this place, though, for its charm, service, breakfast and location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here one night and would return again. The hotel is in the center of town. parking is outside the walls, in public parking. I was given the last room available. It was on the third floor, small but ample, with weird paintings on the walls. The bathroom and the room were simple and clean. I was awakened in the middle of the night by the phone. Someone had programmed it to go off. Around 8 am, i was again awakened by a clanging cart noisily bring breakfast to someone on my floor. My breakfast was aple but nothing special. No fresh juice, no scrambled eggs, but good service. The view from the garden of the hotel was exceptional. All in all, this was a pleasant place. The town is lovely and full of people. Getting dinner was tough without a reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were here for just one night as part of a walking tour and were happy to return after an earlier visit. It is a very pleasant, comfortable and quiet hotel with a lovely cloister and view over the countryside. Breakfast is very good - we didn't try the restaurant. The staff were welcoming, pleasant and efficient.

Our only cavil was that made by earlier guests. Our room (off the cloister) needed a bit of TLC and general brightening. We would, however, return but try for a different room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Chiostro di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Pienza

Address: Corso Il Rossellino, 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro di Pienza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Il Chiostro di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Hotel Pienza
Il Chiostro Di Hotel Pienza
Pienza Il Chiostro Di

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro di Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.