We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly iced delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Toscana

Gelateria Toscana
E. Mangiavacchi | 3, 53026 Pienza, Italy
00390578748538
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Pienza
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 30 flavours of home made gelato and biscuits produced by our maestro gelatiere following the traditional receipes of univesita' dei sapori di perugia and using the finest ingredients from our territory. We also offer a wide selection of cakes. Our unique offer in val d'orcia includes gelato with panforte, with pecorino, with extravirgin olive oil, with ricotta cheese and we make a great wine sorbet, using the best wineries of montepulciano and montalcino. We also have a wide selection of flavours for the children. We always incourage our clients to taste for free the flavours before choosing and we have a big terrace just at the entrance of pienza. We speak english, spanish and a little of german. Our gelateria and the terrace is free wi-fi for our clients.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly iced delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

What a choice of gorgeous delights! Was the coffee chocolate mix better than the custard? Does it matter as it was all good Nd served with knowledgeable friendliness. Liked the look of the specials in the glass cases... Next time I'll try one of those.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    45
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Having eaten gelato all over Italy...the best is in a little hill town in Tuscany?!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

So my family and I have eaten gelato all over Italy on this trip, including the ones identified by many travel advisors as the best in Italy....they all taste great, but the best is in Pienza! The owner makes all his own flavors and is really creative. Both gelato and non-dairy flavors. We all fell in love with his Panforte and it's beautiful layers of cinnamon and dried fruit. In combination with pistachio and hazelnut it was heavenly. The owner was very patient with my kids, offering tastes without reservation and then encouraged us to pay when we were done, encouraging us to eat out on his very comfortable seating area. All around great experience and highly recommend it when you are in Pienza (FYI, it's technically located "outside" the city, but is just outside one of the gates next to the town's little park).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best stop for Gelato in Pienza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

You can get bad gelato in Italy, but not here at Gelateria Toscana, where the ingredients are fresh and natural. The pistachio is nothing like the artificially-flavored neon green stuff you might be used to, and with a slight saltiness, goes really well with one of the sweeter gelatos, like honey-ricotta, pear-pecorino, or dark, dark chocolate. You can get two flavors, even in the smallest sized cones or cups, and plenty of sample tastes, too. There are chairs and tables inside and out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Fantastic home made ice cream. They offer a good selection of dairy and non dairy ice cream's.

We tried the pistachio which had great flavour and creaminess.
The star of the show was the olive oil ice cream, made with olive oil, basil and black pepper. The flavours suited each other and worked incredibly well as an ice cream.

The service was friendly and we were offered different flavours to try and the prices were reasonable.Fully recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The gelato was very good and compared favorably with all of the other gelato I tasted throught Italy. We had stopped in during a wine tasting bus tour and the gelato was a welcome respite. I would have given a better rating had the fellow behind the counter handed me the gelato as opposed to throwing it at me and others in line. It was almost comical.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Toscana also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.