We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled March 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Tobruk

Save Saved
You added Poggio Tobruk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Poggio Tobruk
Localita Spedaletto, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Traveled March 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We absolutely loved staying here!!! Everyone should come and relax at this marvelous place. We traveled in the off season, so the eight of us that stayed were the only guests for the evening. We were greeted at our cars and invited in for drinks and a small snack while the owner checked us in. He spoke great English and was very fun to converse with. We stayed in two apartment style rooms in the home. One had two bedrooms and two bathrooms on the second level and the other was two bedroom, one bath on the main level. We had our own access doors, so if you don't want to be bothered by other people, you won't have to worry about sharing space. There is a beautiful path to walk on up to a hill and you can see for miles!! It is breathtaking!! The owner made us a wonderful breakfast in the morning and I was sad to leave, but so happy we stayed here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great views. Perfect Tuscany location near all the hilltowns: pienza, bagno vignoni, San quirico. Wonderful host, very clean rooms. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Staying here was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Our hosts greeted us with wine and recommendations on what to do in the area. They made dinner reservations for us in a nearby town and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was wonderful. Our apartment was spotless and the views from the property were breathtaking. Wish we could have stayed longer!

One tip...the beautiful tile floors get a little cold in the winter. Bring slippers if you can!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

beautiful, relaxing location with great views, amazing breakfast, good rooms with modern bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Staying at Agriturismo Poggio Tobruk was definitely a highlight of our 15days Italy trip of me & my husband. This place is a GO to everybody who's tired of bastle of big city and just want to have quiet days off with beautiful scenery at the center of Val D'Orcha.

The agriturismo is located just 10 minutes drive from the city of Pienza.
The apartment we stayed was the second floor of a huge country house on the top of small hill. Rooms were very clean, and you can feel nice breeze from outside. Kitchen was also clean and well equipped. However, what we enjoyed a lot is the scenery from its balcony from which you can see magnificent scenery of Val D'Orcha and surrounded city like Pienza, Montepulciano, San Quirico D'Orcha or so. Sipping great local wine on the balcony with just seeing these scenery of sunset, sunrise, and flock of sheep running around ... God! I can say it was just breath taking, one of happiest moments of my life !

Federico, the owner of this property's brother, was very welcoming us with huge hospitality. He speaks good English, fluent French and said he was to study German as well! He helped us for giving much information of places to visit around there. Out of his recommed places to visit, "Vagno Vignoni", a hot spring resort accepting visitors for swimming pool located just 10minutes away from the agri, was just great. You can't miss this place even though this is out of "the Lonely Planet" !

Thank you Federico! We'll definitely come back to Poggio Tobruk next time when we're going to visit Pienza.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poggio Tobruk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Tobruk

Address: Localita Spedaletto, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poggio Tobruk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Tobruk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.