We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of day and evening charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Pio II

Piazza Pio II
Pienza, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Pienza
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Edmundston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“End of day and evening charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This area is nice and cozy...go there in the evening, watch the locals, and go back in time. Few restaurants but worth the great food for most. Your hotel staff will recommend and listen well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,162 reviews 1,162 reviews
282 attraction reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
“Great little town.. Must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We live in a small town in Umbria and appreciate the quant town that Pienza is. The piazza has great views, lovely palace, church,etc..it is a great place to relax and take in the cheese and wine that you purchase from the shops.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A jewel of Renaissance town planning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The square has a trapezoid shape with herringbone paving in frames of travertine. There is the cathedral to the south, designed by Bernardo Rossellino - actually all the buildings that look onto the square were designed by him, on the west is the Piccolomini palace, on the east is the Episcopal Palace built for Cardinal Borgia and to the north is the Town Hall. The Town Hall has an open loggia on the ground floor and a crenellated tower. Truly a feast for the eyes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Sometimes when travelling we simply stop at the next town or village just to take in the local atmosphere. We pulled into Pienza off the road from Siena and were wonderfully surprised. We knew it had a model Renaissance town square, but the rest of the central town was amazing.

The cobblestone, pedestrian only main street was filled with shoppers who were leisurely inspecting the many kiosks and shops. It's an extremely picturesque village with a new photo opportunity seemingly around every corner. Unfortunately our camera was acting up so we couldn't get some of the photos we wanted, and the few we took don't do Pienza justice.

Not sure that it's a destination in itself, but certainly if you're in the area it's worth taking a break from the drive and spending a couple of hours visiting this lovely town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“See Tuscany . . . as if it were a painting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pienza is small, but well worth the visit and the tiny Piazza Pio has seemed almost a magical place. My wife and I have visited Pienza three of four times and we have been amazed to see the piazza transformed as if by magic. On one visit, the locals had laid out and created a garden that was as beautiful as any I've ever seen. Then, the next visit . . . the garden was gone. Aside from the piazza, many of the walls and streets of Pienza are decorated with flowers. The is a great place for picture taking.

If you walk long the edge of the piazza and beside the church, you will descover a walkway that provides a view out over Tuscany that will be as beautiful as anything you will find anywhere in Italy. Make sure you have your camera with you.

Cheese tasting! Pienza is famous not only for its flowers, views, and architectures but also for the excellent sheep's milk cheese, or more correctly, ewes' milk cheese, pecorino and pecorino romano, produced in and around the city.

I hope you enjoy this small town in Tuscany as much as we have.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Pio II also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza Pio II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Pio II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piazza Pio II to your Saves list