We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, good home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria Baccus

L'Osteria Baccus
C.so Rossellino, 70, 53026 Pienza, Italy
0578 749080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 43 Restaurants in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Honest, good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The restaurant of our choice was full so we ended up going to Baccus - a happy change of plan, as it turned out. This is a modest, unpretentious osteria with authentic rustic cooking and a warm welcome. To start with, we had crostini - more like traditional slabs of country toast, with very flavoursome toppings. For mains, we both had pici - Tuscan pasta whose flour is made from spelt. Mine was with cinghiale ragù, my partner's with truffles. Neither of us could find fault with either dish. This was our third restaurant in Tuscany and definitely the best of the three. In addition, the local house red wine was superior to the flights we had tasted in the other, more "upmarket" places. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Altogether, a most pleasant evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    218
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Tuscan food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I had lunch here during the New Year holiday period when Pienza was crowded. Fortunately, we decided to eat early because the Osteria was already crowded and we managed to get the last table. On a cold, wet day, the warm atmosphere and good home style Tuscan food was just what we needed. Service was excellent even though they were busy. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good for two visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

On the recommendation of our host in Gaiole in Chianti we went for lunch on a Tuesday. So good we went back two days later.
The picci with porcini was fresh and fantastic. The ribolitta was also very good. Have what is the daily special and you can't go wrong.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Try the fagioli bean dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and good service. Home cooking. The home hade pasta and Ragu were lovely. We tried a mixed bean and local sausage dish which was a pleasant surprise in a holiday week with too much pasta! Would go back. Attentive and pleasant staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a fine lunch today in this establishment. We were looking for some rustic Tuscan cuisine and to try to avoid pizza/pasta etc. The pecorino and mushroom crostini was full of flavor and the wild boar casserole was superb. The staff were pleasant and welcoming, it certainly fitted the bill we were looking for

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria Baccus also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Osteria Baccus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria Baccus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.