We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for trips in Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rutiliano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rutiliano to your Saves list
Hotel Rutiliano
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via della Madonnina 18, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Pienza B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good base for trips in Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My mother and I stayed at Hotel Rutiliano for only one night and thought it was a great base for exploring the area. The hotel is larger than it appears with three floors and had a nice pool with outdoor lounge areas. The rooms were average size but nicely furnished and very clean. My bathroom was surprising spacious for a property like this. Breakfast was included and had selection and good coffee.

Since it is not in the center of town getting in and out of Pienza was easy for excursions yet it is a only a five minute walk to the center. I liked that the town itself was small compared to the other well know hill towns. There are plenty of restaurant and shops but it did not feel as commercial. The views are unparalleled and I wished we had more time to spend there.

Overall you have options in Pienza but for the space, location and value you cannot go wrong with Hotel Rutiliano.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My sister and spent two nights at Rutiliano on a 2 week vacation in Tuscany. It's a nice small bed and breakfast in Pienza. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool and grounds were very pretty. Breakfast was tasty. After staying in some larger cities and having to take public transportation or drive were we needed to go. It was nice to be able to walk from the hotel and wander around Pienza (you do need a car to visit other hill towns, but that was also a fun adventure).

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I conduct photography workshops and travel a lot. After 8 days at the Rutiliano, it became like our home in Tuscany. This is a great little spot that we highly recommend! Our room on the top floor was spacious, with plenty of storage space, a comfortable bed and nice large bathroom. Breakfast was varied, with sliced meat options, eggs, pastries, cereal, fruit and cheese... coffee, tea and chocolate to order. Silvia, who works at the front desk, speaks several languages and is a gem herself- lots of great suggestions for food, places to see and things to do. It's a short walk to the town center and perhaps a little quieter being in a residential area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I have stayed at the Rutiliano several times and have always been thrilled with my visits - so much that it is always hard to leave! I am so surprised that it has not been listed on here already! The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. Silvia at the reception is extremely helpful! Breakfast is great as is the service. The location is easy to access by car and just a short lovely stroll to the center of Pienza. The pool and gardens are very nice - the former villa turned B&B and much nicer in person than it looks on its website. The fotos are outdated. The only thing is that there is not really any views from the rooms, however the views are magnificent from all around Pienza. The owners also have a great restaurant in the center of town. A really good place to stay (and eat) in Pienza.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rutiliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rutiliano

Address: Via della Madonnina 18, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rutiliano 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rutiliano is a small but comfortable family run hotel. It’s situated at 200 meters of the town centre of Pienza. Has 10 double rooms and a Junior Suite all en suite with all the comforts, TV, air conditioned, heating, mini bar and wi-fi free and includes buffet breakfast. The hotel has a beautiful patio where in the summertime we serve breakfast, a nice garden, swimming pool, and a car park. The Ristorante Trattoria La Buca delle Fate is also run by the family and it’s in the town centre - a nice stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rutiliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rutiliano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.