We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo La Fonte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Fonte
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo La Fonte to your Saves list
Pod. Fonte Bertusi di Sopra 73, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose La Fonte after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor......we weren't disappointed!

Katia is a gracious and professional host who ensures a warm welcome and high standard of accommodation. The apartment was just as advertised. Spotlessly clean, furnished in a traditional Tuscan style and amply spacious enough for two adults and two children for a fortnights holiday. The pool was possibly the cleanest I've ever swam in and all the loungers were in good order with plenty of shade available. Each morning Katia's mum, assisted by Ellie the unbelievably soft and playful Collie, would water the many plants and flowers while the chef from the restaurant would pick vegetables from the plot for hat days menu.
The view from the pool and various dining areas was wonderful. We enjoyed numerous sunsets over a glass of Brunello and Tagliata cooked on the BBQ.

While La Fonte is located on the main road between San Quirico and Pienza there was no road noise at all as the short track and sheltering nature of the hillside blocked any disturbance. The only sounds to be heard were the crickets at night and the cockerel in the morning. The handy location meant that dinner in Pienza or San Quirico was only five minutes away while trips to Montalcino and Montepulciono took no more than 20 minutes. Even Florence and Siena were only 1:30min and 40min away respectively.

Finally.....the restaurant. It had only been open for five months and yet was already attracting lots of drive in customers. Not surprising as the standard of food was extremely high and reasonably priced. The high point being fantastic pastas and possibly the best fillet steak outside of the Oak Rooms at the Plaza in NYC.

We are already planning our return, and would recommend La Fonte to anyone!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    23
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The place is near Pienza, where they have different shops and restaurants. Katia was very energetic and efficient. The place is clean, nice and quite, the pool is great and well mantained. They opened lately their own restaurant, with a great selection of food. We enjoyed the breakfast offered for 5 Euro i- it s quite worthwile. To my taste, the room and the whole interior decoration was too crowded with different decorative items, while we did not found a place where to put our suitcases. But in generel, the place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Before settle in, take a look of the available appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay near Pienza. Katia was very gracious and the rooms were very clean and well appointed. What beautiful views over the valley. The location is great - quiet, but close to many places for day trips and hiking. I would highly recommend La Fonte

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Joe, Fran, Bob and I stayed in this fantastic Agriturismo. One evening, we just sat outside admiring the incredible views while sipping our wine and eating our bread and cheese. The apartments were lovely and well stocked. Katia, the owner, always had a smile on her face. Breakfasts offered a variety of goodies. The coffee was some of the best ever.

We met some great people while staying here.

The location was perfect for dinners in Pienza. First taste of Wild Boar Stew!

I would recommend this property to anyone and hope someday to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaro, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

Excellent agriturismo. Beautifully located, with a well kept garden and with amazing views. Appartments are comfortable and clean. A great place to stay. Katia the owner is really nice and helpful. My wife our son and I had a great stay, enjoying the Italian life.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pertuis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

La Fonte is in an excellent location , is quiet and family friendly. We have never stayed in cleaner or tidier accommodation. We had a fantastic week there and would recommend La Fonte as a place to stay to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Marco, Tanya, Hugh and Jenny stayed in this Tuscany farmhouse. It had wonderful views of typical Tuscany countryside and was not far from the beautiful town of Pienza. Jenny and Hugh had travelled from Australia to satisfy a lifetime dream. There were beautiful blossoms on the trees and in the distance you could see flocks of sheep making their way down to new pastures. They had little bells around their necks. The countryside was ablaze of yellow. The lodgings were very comfortable and we enjoyed eating our cheese and fine wine outside so that we could take in the surroundings. We would recommend this farmhouse as it is easy to find. It is also very convenient to visit many other Tuscan towns and villages and return each night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Fonte

Address: Pod. Fonte Bertusi di Sopra 73, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonte has 4 comfortable appartments with 2, 4 or 6 sleeps, all fully equipped and decorated with charm. The hosts can use the large green garden surrounding the farm house which offers a marvellous panoramic view on the surrounding hills. The estate offers a playground for kids, a barbecue with wooden furnace, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo La Fonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.