We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence San Gregorio to your Saves list
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Madonnina 4, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Saw this hotel last year so decided to stay in it this year. It is right outside the old town walls. The location is great for touring Tuscany.
Our room was fine, in fact a suite. Windows that open are always a plus in a hotel. Breakfast was adequate. We had a lot better in other hotels in Tuscany. Take the €22 half board option for a great 3 course supper, including wine.
This is a family owned business, so be prepared for a lack of English in parts. That is all part of the charm of Italy. The staff are eager to please.
Only negative was a very strong smell of perfume in the lobby & hallways. It never really went away. A group of women was blamed, even though they were only there the first of our 4 nights. More ventilation is needed in the hallways. My husband suffers from allergies.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    114
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
258
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a cycling tour I was doing. I was originally disappointed as the tour company was supposed to stay at Hotel Piccolo and I knew they had great views overlooking the valley from there. This hotel is at the other side of town on the main street. It's a very nice hotel, but sadly, no views. I had a pretty large room that was decorated nicely, had a nice sized bathroom and good air conditioning. The people at the front desk were always very nice. Breakfast was around the corner at the restaurant that is sort of behind the hotel. It was okay -- I find the breakfast buffets in Italy are not anywhere near as good as the ones in the Germanic countries -- but it was fine. The hotel is well-located -- just across the street from the main entrance into the old part of town. All in all a nice hotel, but if you want a balcony with Tuscan views, you won't be able to get that here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

English is difficult for Italians but the staff really do their best. No problems with understanding each other.
We stayed 10 days in Pienza and we had a great time in this lovely hotel. The suite was spacious, very clean. Breakfast buffet was okay, typical Italian.
We had to walk outside to get to the restaurant for breakfast, no problem! The parking garage is free and spacious.
50 meters walking to the old centre, perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is very central, just outside the historical centre, so it's in a great position for visiting Pienza and its surroundings. We arrived on Easter Monday and stayed in a spacious and confortable suite, which was actually composed by a living room (with a large sofa bed), a bathroom with jacuzzi and a separate sleeping room.
The staff has been very kind and helpful in providing information about our visit. There is a free parking underground (entrance is from the back street) and an outdoor swimming pool (open during the summer).
The breakfast (quite average) is served in the adjacent restaurant La Piazzetta, where we enjoyed a good meal the evening of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the appreciations cha did. I'm sorry if breakfast was not sufficient, perhaps because many people attending the breakfast, but it is important to always ask to the waiting staff because they can help resolve requests. Come back and visit us, you will be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great hotel, located right in the centre of Pienza, just 2 minutes walk from the historical centre. The very spacious room was clean, warm (middle of winter), & very comfortable. Very helpful & friendly staff & free hotel parking. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Pienza!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights using this as a base to explore Tuscany. Conveniently located and near a mini mart. The staff was friendly and the breakfast table adequate. Rooms were clean and spacious. Only downside,was noise from the neighbouring bar... If you are a light sleeper.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We enjoyed staying here for a night during our short visit in Pienza, the location is great, reception very friendly and professional. We stayed in a suite, the great bonus was a bath with jacuzzi and a very cozy restaurant right under the hotel. You cannot go wrong by booking this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#3 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#5 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence San Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Address: Via della Madonnina 4, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence San Gregorio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a theatre house in the 1930s. Spacious rooms, suites and apartments in the city centre and near the val d'orcia natural park.Unique structure with a large private courtyard, where the hotel organizes cultural, artistic and musical events.Open year round; free private covered car park; n. 6 meeting rooms with a total seating capacity of 300 persons; fine garden and outdoor swimming pool.Typical tuscan meals in san gregorio's restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence San Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence San Gregorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.