We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eccezionale!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence San Gregorio to your Saves list
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Via della Madonnina 4, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“eccezionale!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Many years ago, while driving through Tuscano an unexpected stop in Pienza brought us to Hotel San Gregorio. We checked in for one night but stayed for four! On our annual visit to Italy we make sure the San Gregorio is included in our itinerary! Comfortable, warm and exceptionally clean, and the rooms are spacious (unlike most Italian accomodations). It's owned and operated by a wonderful family welcoming each guest into their "home". The hotel is centrally located to many of the top tourist towns. Free parking, Wifi and a generous buffet breakfast with home made pastry and breads are included in the very reasonable price. La Piazetta Restaurant offers a delicious lunch and dinner menu. Visit the Hotel San Gregorio....
make it your favorite too!

Room Tip: There are many different configurations of rooms. Be specific of your needs when making reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    79
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our stay at the San Gregorio was wonderful. We were welcomed by the amazing staff. Anarita and her son Nicola were warm & friendly and made us feel like part of the family. They were available to help at all times. The rooms were simply decorated and very clean and comfortable offering all amenities needed. The large bathroom had a nice size Jacuzzi tub with shower and
plenty of fresh towels daily. The hotel also has it's own restaurant where they serve an included breakfast buffet which gives you a few choices including fresh baked cakes made daily on the premises. Our server Betty was so nice and made the best cappuccino. You can also sample some of the local dishes for dinner which are very good. Another great feature is the minute walk to the main street in town where there are shops, restaurants, churches, and spectacular views of Pienza and the Tuscan region. The beautifully manicured grounds of the hotel also include a swimming pool. There is free parking in a locked underground garage and
Wi Fi is free also.
I highly recommend this hotel to experience the charm & beauty of Pienza and the hospitality of the Italian culture. I truly can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my base when exploring the Tuscany countryside. Pienza seems to be in the middle of it and San Gregorio is very well located just outside the city walls of Pienza. The hotel is beautiful, it has nice rooms, very spacious atmosphere, friendly staff and good breakfast is included in the price. There is free parking in the basement, it is a bit tricky and you need to be careful with all the pillars there but there is plenty of space for cars.

The only thing that was annoying me was the sound of the pigeons. But this is of course not the property's fault. I had my window open during the night and when they started 'singing' they did not stop. I should have closed the window but I was too tired to get up. On the other hand, if you like pigeons there are plenty of those :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I really dont get why this hotel is ranked number one in trip advisor. And dont get me wrong, this place its not bad, but you really have to take in consideration its complete lack of taste and  lousy beds to make an assesment. Rooms are big but they are just ok. Bathroom are big too, but in ours it didnt have a shower curtain so you can imagine all the spilling and the cold you feel when going into the shower.  Service is good and they have a huge parking lot behind the building in case you have a car. Number one? Really? I guess you have to stay in the other hotels to make a comparison. But this time, my fellow Trip advisor community, you have let me down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel was a very nice surprise. We are giving it 5 stars because of the quality of the hotel and staff in relation to the price we paid. This hotel is not the Ritz or a Peninsula. But it is a very nice place to stay.

We picked this hotel because of its location between Montalcino [1/2 hour] and Montepulciano [15 minutes]. Very easy to find along the main road in Pienza. The hotel is run by Anarita [mom] and Nicola [her son]. Dad’s in the background, but very quite. Anarita and Nicola are charming and helpful. You could not ask for more in a hotel or staff. We will certainly return to this hotel and use it as a base to enjoy the nearby attractions in the future. Please realize that you can see everything [and I mean EVERYTHING] in Pienza in less than 2 hours. For my perspective, Pienza itself is not a place that would require an extended stay [unless your intent is to relax]. But there are more than enough things to do within an hour’s drive to make this hotel a very good option as a central base.

The exterior of the hotel looks exactly like the online photos.

We were upgrade to a suite with a separate living room and bedroom. Bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub. The décor was very simple. Everything was super clean. Bed was comfortable. Linens were crisp. Free locked parking under hotel. Free Wi Fi. Breakfast was included and okay [nothing special].

There’s a spa that’s open during the summer season and they are presently adding another building of rooms in the back. Some suites have kitchenettes that may be perfect for an extended stay. Family that owns hotel also runs the adjoining restaurant which I also recommend.

We stayed in room 202 which is right above the main road and a café. Road noise and café noise might be a problem for a light sleeper, but not for us. They had heavy double-paned windows to cut down the noise. If you are a light sleeper, maybe you want to ask for a quieter room in the back of hotel.

I recommend this hotel. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Nicolawica,
wow... fantastic! without words. Thank you so much, your comment gratifies us. We hope to see you soon. Again thanks.
Have a good day.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed there for one night in October 2012. The 3 star rating is too low for the hotel - it should have at least 4 stars. As we were walk-in's, I was really surprised by the good price offer, just EUR 104 for a large Suite with free parking and free WiFi. Price for a DBL room was around 90 EUR. Breakfast was good too.
The room itself is a little bit tired, everything is from the 80-90's, but the bed was comfy, quiet and we had a good sleep. The old town is just around the corner, as is also grocery.
My advice - if you would like to have a nice dinner in the town, book in advance. At 20:00 all restaurants were full and we had to eat outside the old town area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Andris B,
is a pleasure for us to know that you have been well in our Hotel. We hope to return again in Pienza in our Hotel. Thanks for the little throught written here on tripadvisor.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Residence San Gregorio for five days while a participant in a guided hiking tour of Tuscany arranged by a large, well-known USA-based travel company. The choice of hotels was theirs, not mine, but I must say that I was delighted with the company's selection. The staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were extremely large, well-appointed, and very clean (but don't expect to find any English-speaking channels on the television!); and the attached restaurant served a nice breakfast buffet with a good selection of all the basics, as well as wonderfully crafted dinners highlighting Tuscan cuisine. The availability of free Wi-Fi was a bonus, but the wonders of Tuscany in every direction left little time or need for an internet connection. While Pienza may not be a final destination for most visitors to Tuscany (although it is a fine, historic town in its own right), it can serve as a convenient hub for day trips to other Tuscan venues. If a Tuscan holiday is in your future, Pienza would be a nice "base of operations;" and if that is your choice, the Hotel Residence San Gregorio should be your preferred hotel. (Now, about that cockatoo . . . !)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Gorbster,
we are very happy to read your positive comment. Thank you so mouch.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence San Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Address: Via della Madonnina 4, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a theatre house in the 1930s. Spacious rooms, suites and apartments in the city centre and near the val d'orcia natural park.Unique structure with a large private courtyard, where the hotel organizes cultural, artistic and musical events.Open year round; free private covered car park; n. 6 meeting rooms with a total seating capacity of 300 persons; fine garden and outdoor swimming pool.Typical tuscan meals in san gregorio's restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence San Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence San Gregorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.