We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence San Gregorio to your Saves list
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Madonnina 4, 53026, Pienza, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed there for one night in October 2012. The 3 star rating is too low for the hotel - it should have at least 4 stars. As we were walk-in's, I was really surprised by the good price offer, just EUR 104 for a large Suite with free parking and free WiFi. Price for a DBL room was around 90 EUR. Breakfast was good too.
The room itself is a little bit tired, everything is from the 80-90's, but the bed was comfy, quiet and we had a good sleep. The old town is just around the corner, as is also grocery.
My advice - if you would like to have a nice dinner in the town, book in advance. At 20:00 all restaurants were full and we had to eat outside the old town area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Andris B,
is a pleasure for us to know that you have been well in our Hotel. We hope to return again in Pienza in our Hotel. Thanks for the little throught written here on tripadvisor.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chico, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Residence San Gregorio for five days while a participant in a guided hiking tour of Tuscany arranged by a large, well-known USA-based travel company. The choice of hotels was theirs, not mine, but I must say that I was delighted with the company's selection. The staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were extremely large, well-appointed, and very clean (but don't expect to find any English-speaking channels on the television!); and the attached restaurant served a nice breakfast buffet with a good selection of all the basics, as well as wonderfully crafted dinners highlighting Tuscan cuisine. The availability of free Wi-Fi was a bonus, but the wonders of Tuscany in every direction left little time or need for an internet connection. While Pienza may not be a final destination for most visitors to Tuscany (although it is a fine, historic town in its own right), it can serve as a convenient hub for day trips to other Tuscan venues. If a Tuscan holiday is in your future, Pienza would be a nice "base of operations;" and if that is your choice, the Hotel Residence San Gregorio should be your preferred hotel. (Now, about that cockatoo . . . !)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Gorbster,
we are very happy to read your positive comment. Thank you so mouch.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here is Sept 2012. The hotel is only rated as 3*, which is a profound understatement, especially when compared with other Italian and French hotels we have stayed in.
The staff are cheerful and helpful and tolerated our complete lack of understanding of the Italian language with good grace. Breakfast was delight and the service was equally delightful. The rooms were of generous size and very clean. Wifi in the room worked well, but the airconditioning was faulty. Thy management had provided temporary mobile units in the rooms to cover this. We don't think we could have found better in Pienza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank which_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
thank you so much. It's a pleasure to read this positive words. We hope that you will return in future in our Hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zew Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

just 50 metres to old city.large room, great breakfasts, ghastly cocatoo screeching, restaurant is also good, don't feel youmust eat away from the hotel. helpful staff. Definitely recomended for Pienza stay. Also great free easy parking at hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
good evening Zed Zealand,

We are very happy to read your positive comment. We work in our structure with heart and for us is very important to know that you enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great people!
Amazing location for navigating Tuscany.
Great value.
Good food.

If you want a lovely little hotel that makes you feel like home...THIS IS THAT PLACE.

It is nicely located in the small town of Pienza. It is easy to find. Has private parking. A clean pool. Good food. Friendly and helpful staff.

I would definitely go back.

Tuscany is beautiful. There is so much to do in July and August. This hotel is perfect. Nothing but good things to say. The rooms are fine. It's a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarelyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for the beautiful words that you said about our structure and our staff.
We would be very happy to get back to you as our valued customers.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for just one night while driving around Tuscany. The hotel was very clean and tidy and it was great value for money. The room we had was large and their was free WIFI in the room. The pool was also nice.

The breakfast which was included was great, the best hotel breakfast we'd had during our stay in Tuscany, lots of choice.

There are many restaurants within walking distance, we just wish we'd had longer in Pienza rather than driving to the coast (near Orbetello) which was disappointing.

So, thank you San Gregorio!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear KirbyCooper,
We are very pleased to read your wonderful comment.
The staff at San Gregorio Hotel and Restaurant La Piazzetta would be very happy to get back to you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

we were lucky enough to stay a week at this beautiful boutique hotel. You are greeted like special family and made to feel like they never want you to leave. We stayed in room 202 and 205 it was exqusite with a breathtaking view. There is a breakfast served every morning on a lovely terrace. You can walk to everything from the hotel and get recommendations on what not to miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chavkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear lady and gentleman Chavkin,
We thank you for your comment and for the nice compliments that you have made to our structure.
If you have occasion to return to Pienza we will be very happy to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Relais La Saracina
#3 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
0.1 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence San Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Address: Via della Madonnina 4, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence San Gregorio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence San Gregorio in Pienza is located within walking distance of the historic centre. Built on the ruins of an opera house of the 1930s, it is in perfect harmony with the elegance, grace and charm of the ideal Renaissance city. The choice between rooms, suites and apartments means you can tailor your holiday to best suite your needs: you can choose from spacious, nicely decorated and furnished rooms, romantic suites, or residences with kitchenette for those who want to feel at home without sacrificing the standards of a hotel. The Hotel Residence San Gregorio also offers the finest of Tuscan cuisine and a wide selection of wines at the Ristorante La Piazzetta, where you can try typical food, traditional dishes and local products. From breakfast to lunch, from aperitif to dinner, any time of the day is perfect for enjoying the culinary wealth of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence San Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing