We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Renaissance Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camere il Giglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camere il Giglio to your Saves list
Camere il Giglio
Via del giglio, 6, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cute Renaissance Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've always wanted to spend a day in Pienza, Italy, and this trip we decided to do it. I chose Il Gigglio for the value. I turned out to be pretty much what I expected. Located in the old city of Piienza, all the buildings here are from the Renaissance. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff was accommodating. Internet worked great which is a must for me.

The only negative might be for someone older, like me, who has difficulty climbing stairs, our room was three flights up.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on a floor you can walk up to with your luggage. You have to ask and most peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Pretty and very clean B&B on a small alley in old town Pienza which was our base in southern Tuscany.
The location was perfect to visit other towns and very quiet at night.
There is a small parking lot right next to the B&B which has 30 minutes limit but you can find plenty of parking places near by after you drop off your luggage.
The town is small so you can walk to the apartment after you park and it is nice walk in pretty little town anyway. Remember to park in white line.
Blue line for pay parking, yellow for residents and white for free parking.
The owner gives you a ticket for the breakfast which includes coffee and a pastry at near by coffee shop.
We stayed in three other places during our stay in Italy and this was the best place with good price.
Our apartment had wooden floor which I prefer over tile fllor and was very clean.
The owner Roberta seems like a person who likes arts and crafts and had some disply in her office and gave us a little farewell gift that she made.
She does not live there but has a office at the building and stays there during day time but we did not need her during our stay.
One minor thing that I missed was a hair dryer but it is very possible that it was there but I missed it since I did not find their kitchen stuff till the 2nd day of our stay.
They were inside of furniture...yes....inside.
You opened the lid of a furniture and there is your sink and stove.
Over all we had very nice stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbino, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The house is in the historical center of Pienza, and free parking is about 200 meters away, it is not insignificant in a small country with limited parking for cars!

The rooms are comfortable and decorated in Tuscan style, a (very) little kitchen area comes complete:Note: the equipment of the kitchen depends on the type of apartment chosen!
The owner is courteous and friendly, the cleanliness of the rooms is great and the prices are cheap.

Breakfast is served in a café along the city walls, just 100 meters from the house.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our apartment was on the 3rd floor (4th level) of a building with no lift (there are other apartments/rooms in the building on lower levels). There is a large kitchen/living room, a bedroom and bathroom. Kitchen facilities are good for self-caterers but there is no clothes washer/dryer and no internet facility. The apartment is comfortable enough but if it is luxury you're after, look elsewhere. Roberta, our hostess, was was very friendly & helpful. Everything in the town is within easy walking distance from Il Giglio.

The flip-side of all the climbing up & down to & from the ground level is the good natural light in the apartment and the views of the rooftops & terraces of the town and of the Tuscan hills rolling into the distance.

We spent 5 days exploring the stunning nearby countryside and villages. We were very pleased with our choice of Pienza as a base. It is small enough & big enough, interesting, charming, very pretty and very clean. And even better when the day-trippers have gone home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.0 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.2 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#3 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
B&B Camere La Vite
B&B Camere La Vite
#9 of 33 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il Giardino Segreto
Il Giardino Segreto
#12 of 33 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere il Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere il Giglio

Address: Via del giglio, 6, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Giglio offers its guests spacious and luminous rooms, each wiht its own bathroom, provided with every comfort. The warm, friendly service of the Staff enhances any visit to Pienza, a Tuscan treasure, rich in art, culture and nature. The rooms, carefully restored and decoraded, reveal characteristic of the Tuscan style: terra cotta tyle, period decor, and wood-beamed ceilings; yet are furnished with TV, independent heating units, and refrigerators. There are also two apartment for 4 persons whit complete kitchen. Il Giglio is situated In the historical center of Pienza in a residence dating back to the Renaissance, just steps away from Piazza Pio II and Palazzo Piccolomini, which you may admire from some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Camere il Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camere il Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.