We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is like an advertisement on Tuscany countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Il Macchione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agriturismo Il Macchione to your Saves list
Agriturismo Il Macchione
Loc. Il Macchione | S.P.71 per Trequanda, 53026 Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It is like an advertisement on Tuscany countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location with an renovated old farm was like advertisement on Tuscany countryside. The room, better to say spacious living room with kitchen and bedroom was very nice, beatifully furnished. The breakfast was excellent with product from adjacent farm. We bought very good olive oil there.Excellent place for romantic weekend or for honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

So we booked this as it was conveniently located midway between Montalcino and Montepulciano. What a wonderful small town and an excellent place to stay. The room was an apartment - everything was exceptional. Wish we could have stayed there longer!! Macchione is a few short km outside of town and in the evening we enjoyed the small unpretentious atmosphere and quiet streets of Pienza. This was perfect - and then the breakfast - wow - all handmade pastries and other delicious items. A 10/10

Room Tip: This is not overrun with tourists - what a find - would come back again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The four of us in our family were very pleased with our stay at Il Macchione, overlooking the scenic Val d'Orcia. The staff were the most friendly and gave the best service we encountered during our five week trip to Europe. The rooms were spacious, with high-beamed ceilings. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and touring the adjacent olive oil factory was an added bonus. I even enjoyed the infinity pool although it was early October and the water was a bit chilly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Tour (The Tower), which had a second bedroom with its own bathroom one floor above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This Tuscany farmhouse is not to be missed. Our two night stay here in July was perfect. The large one bedroom apartment was beautifully finished and the great kitchen had everything necessary to cook two great dinners at "home". The infinity pool, the well-manicured grounds, and the Tuscany hillside views were beautiful. The friendliness, generosity and helpfulness of the owner's son was an added bonus. We enjoyed the free wine and olive oil which were made locally on the farm. We very much enjoyed the seclusion provided by the farm's location but yet only a short 2-3 minute drive to Pienza. Even though all of the rooms were full, we felt like we were all alone. At night we were able to sit outside in the courtyard alone enjoying a glass of wine and the stars. The breakfast buffet was amazing and truely homemade. The panna cotta with fresh berries was to die for!!! The only minor drawback was there was no AC, or even a fan to help move the air around. Thus, it was necessary to leave the windows open, which allowed us to hear the annoying sound of cars driving over the crushed stone driveway right outside our bedroom window. However, the many many positives of this beautiful property greatly out number these minor negatives. We would love to return and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel has great views and is very relaxing place to stay. The staff have gone to a great effort to make your stay like being at home. The rooms are very big and you can do your own cooking if you like but with great places to eat just around the corner its an added bonus.
Breakfast is great and the cakes must be tried, all cakes are home made.
The wine made here is great and the jams etc that are made here you can try at breakfast,

All product are available to buy from the staff at the hotel.

The pool is a great place to relax and take in the views,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Il Macchione is a very pleasent and comfortable family-run village house. It's excellent location, in the heart of Tuscany and very close to the charming medieval town of Pienza, makes it a great starting point for daily visits to the most populat tourist attractions and most beautiful Tuscan towns (Firenze, Siena, Montepulciano...). We spent a whole week in May and enjoyed every day, mostly thanks to the very spatious and clean appartment, as well as the great hospitality of the owners, who provided us with all necessary information and assistance. In addition, the offer of their home-made genuine Tuscan products is trully excellent, so we strongly recommend tasting and buying some of those (especially the wine and olive-oil, which is the best we've ever tasted). And last, but certainly not the least - staying in this place is a very good deal, since the price is very reasonable taking into account the quality it offers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Having been to about a dozen agriturismos in Iuscany, I find standards are generally high. Il Macchione is no exception-a nice stone building (new but tastefully done) beautiful setting with great views, and a nice pool.

However, at €110 for a room it is almost twice as expensive as some other places we've stayed at, without offering much better quality.
Hence my 'average' rating.

It should also be noted that the set-up of the house is not conducive to privacy. All apartments enter upon a courtyard. There are no private terraces (unlike at most other agriturismos) and especially at night you may find that leaving your doors or window open for much-needed cool air means being closer to the other guests than you would have wished.

Given that the house is so well insulated, personally I would have appreciated a fan as the rooms are hard to cool down at night.

Lastly, breakfast is indeed generous and home-made but be sure to bring your sweet tooth! It's basically 10 different deserts-e.g. it included panna cotta which I love but find a bit much to start the day with...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Il Macchione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Macchione

Address: Loc. Il Macchione | S.P.71 per Trequanda, 53026 Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating to XVIIIth century and close to nearby Pienza, amidst the view of the Val d'Orcia, a pleasant and panoramic area, lies the ancient stone farmhouse of Podere "Il Macchione". Completely rebuilt with great respect for the original design, the farmhouse has been subdivided into four lodgings and a common room. The building's proportionally pleasant and soothing forms evoke simplicity and harmony while overlooking an absolutely unique and uncontaminated view, recently numbered among the worldwide property of humanity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Il Macchione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Il Macchione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.