We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always at the top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
Palazzo Brandano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always at the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Third time we are visiting Palazzo Brandano and still the same pleasure. Ousmane is great, giving you precious tips to make the best of your trip. Rooms are huge and so comfortable ! Breakfast is delicious....what else?

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in Pallazo Brandano for three nights at the end of June 2014. It's located in a tiny picturesque village off the beaten track, but very close to popular villages of Montepulciano, Montechiello, Pienza, Montalcino, etc. The place is very charming and quiet, just wonderful.

On our arrival, we got upgraded to a suite and we have been really spoiled during the dinners we had there. The food was just amazing, one of the best we had for a long time.

Next time we are in Tuscany, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent one night at Palazzo Brandano on our honeymoon recently and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Ousmane was very charming + great company - he made sure that we were comfortable and looked after at all times. We stayed for dinner and ate some of the best food we'd eaten on our trip - very high standard and beautiful presentation.

Our room was elegant, cool and comfortable, with a luxurious little bathroom.

There is no pool as it is in a village, so it is more of a base or a quiet place to relax - there is lots of stuff to do locally and the area (including Petroio) is stunning.

This is a great place to stop if you are driving through Tuscany - we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and didn't really end up using the little sitting room, but it was a luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john's creek, GA.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

That's what it is - you feel like you've been welcomed into a place you can call your own.We have stayed with Linda and Ousmane 3 times now and would never consider staying anywhere else in Tuscany. Everything about Palazzo Brandano is perfect - the rooms, the meals, your hosts - and the tiny hilltop village of Petroio is authentic Italy. Take a few minutes to read the other reviews.See what I mean?

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

While planning our 25th anniversary trip to Italy, some friends of our recommended that we stop at Palazzo Brandano on our way from Lucca to Positano. While in Lucca, I emailed Ousmane to inquire about stopping for lunch. He replied that they are actually closed for lunch, but that they would open just for us! Ousmane's hospitality is unmatched, the location is spectacular, and the food and drink...amazing! Definitely worth the detour of of our main route! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent two incredible days here last week. We simply arrived and told Ousmane what we were interested in doing. By the next day he put together an amazing itinerary and even drove us around the Tuscan countryside himself! Ousmane must have amazing connections because many of the places we went to were officially booked, but somehow he managed to find a spot for us.

My only regret is that my wife and I didn't have more time to stay at Palazzo Brandano. The hotel was a welcome respite from all of our other European travels. We could have easily spent a week there and not gotten bored. I'm not sure when we will get back to Tusany, but when we do, Palazzo Brandano will definitely be on our list!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is unreal! Seriously good and 'the man' Ousmane is a legend. Seriously good food and wine. We arrived in this lovely off the beaten track place expecting a lot and it hit the mark in every count! It's beautiful in a quiet little village, the friendly staff are amazing! Defo do wine tasting, insist on seeing the brothers and the black pig, sensational! The cooking class is simple but effective and such good value as you eat what you make and unbelievably it tasted ok! Actually they made our pasta a and pancotta look good. Love this place, love the big man, we WILL be back !!!! Awesome! Don't tell too many people as only has 9rooms!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.