We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ousmane the Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
Palazzo Brandano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
los angeles, california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ousmane the Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Brandano at the end of May for 4 nights. Our host Ousmane and staff made us feel exceptionally welcome. Ousmane helped plan excursions which were small and intimate. He also helped with recommendations for restaurants and local travel. We've travelled quite a bit and not afraid to say that this was the absolute best service we've ever had. We were afraid this would be away from it all. It was close enough to everything for a day trip and far enough away from it all to truly enjoy the peace and quiet of the Tuscan countryside. The accomodations were very good and the food and wine at the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My girlfriend, her 13 year old daughter and I had the great pleasure of staying in this charming little hotel in the village of Petroio for four nights. We arrived with very little difficulty, thanks to our GPS, having driven the scant hour and three quarters from Florence. Our room was large, with an attached sitting area, and our back door opened onto a terrace with an unconstructed view of the nearby hills. The hotel manager has connections and extensive knowledge of the area, and he was able to set up several unique adventures for us. When we wanted to explore on our own, he even guided to the best route, and one time, when we had car trouble on the freeway, he came himself to rescue us and worked with the car rental place to get us a replacement car. The hotel restaurant is excellent, and we had lovely breakfast there each morning. I can truthfully say that the best bread and croissants (French style) can be found here. The villagers were very friendly, and we chanced upon a weekend where there was a festival in the town. Wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

In May 2013, my husband and I took a cooking class at Palazzo Brandano that, along with recommendations from Ousmane, was the highlight of our Italian vacation. We are avid cooks (and diners) and plan our vacation around gastronomic experiences :-) After much research I decided to take the class at Palazzo Brandano. I opted for this, instead of other more popular classes, because of Palazzo Brandano's (relatively) remote location - I reasoned that we should get more 'authentic' Italian cuisine and not the Americanized menus I read about for other cooking schools. Boy, am I happy we chose this place!

Ousmane was the epitome of service and attentiveness, starting from our email interactions all the way up to our class. We arrived early and were given a glass of Prosecco (score!) before been taken on a tour of a nearby olive oil farm. Upon our return to the hotel, we had a chance to sit on the patio and just soak in the view of the most quintessential Tuscan countryside. After that it was down into the kitchen for a hands on cooking class. This was the most fantastic cooking class we've ever had - and this from a couple who've taken classes at Sur La Table and other highly touted places in California. The ladies talked us through making fennel flan, gnocchi, pici, stuffed rabbit and panna cotta. It was a flurry of activities for which we were quite happy.

We took the class on our fourth day in Italy and had had some rather underwhelming meals before going to Palazzo Brandano. Because of this, we had resigned ourselves to the possibility of having a rather lackluster experience. I am thrilled to say we were soooo wrong. It was just everything I had hoped - learning to cook authentic Italian, from rolling of the pici to learning the secret to making gnocchi as light as air. All this, while being entertained by Ousmane's interaction with the cooks and drinking a even more wine generously provided by Ousmane.

Everything tasted sublime. Of course our enjoyment was heightened even more by the excellent wine served with dinner! We just loved our time at Palazzo Brandano and the attention we got from Ousmane and the staff. We didn't stay at the hotel, but look forward to doing just that on our next trip to Italy. Ousmane gave us a tour after dinner, and it was understated elegance at it's best.

If you ever make it there make sure you ask Ousmane for recommendations of restaurants off the beaten path. Thanks to him, our other meals in Tuscany were awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thanks to the recommendation from my brother-in-law and sister and family who stayed prior to our stay---Ousmane provided the absolute best customer service at Palazzo Brandano. When he said "feel at home"----he meant it. His assistant Linda, was also just as accommodating. Palazzo Brandano is something like out of a Tuscan fairy tale, but it is all REAL, and really wonderful. We were greeted by Ousmane, who immediately swept us off of our feet with a glass of Prosecco and a tour of the Palazzo Brandano. My partner and I were so happy to arrive and while our bags were taken in, Ousmane's outstanding customer service and hospitality began and did not end until we had left for Rome. This amazing Tuscan retreat not only has great customer service, the restaurant in the Palazzo Brandano is fantastic! We had dinner 3 times during our stay and each time was a delightful experience. Ousmane, the hotel manager and more---provided us and our relatives from Rome (who also stayed for two nights) with an incredible experience in Tuscany---tours of an olive oil farm, local cheese tasting, restaurant recommendations, day trip guides, etc... if you are looking for a beautiful location, excellent customer service and tranquility, follow your bliss to Palazzo Brandano.

Room Tip: If you can, request a suite with views of the hills, towards the terrace area versus the street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want the true experience of the Tuscan countryside, stay at Palazzo Brandano. It is like staying in a private villa, but with all the services you could want. The rooms are not typical hotel rooms, but rather like a fine old, but updated, home. That alone is a unique experience. The concierge, Ousmane, is an intelligent gentleman in every sense of the word. My son, daughter in law, 14 year old granddaughter and I visited in March, 2013, From this location, we toured all the major sights of Tuscany. It was magical. And Palazzo Brandano was the heart of the ;magic--the food, beauty, and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this amazing hotel 2 nights in May. The hotel is located in a charming little hill town. The hotel manager Ousmane just gave us the best service I ever have encountered in a hotel. Arranging personal genuine tours in the area, and even driving us around personally to show us the most beautiful parts of Tuscany. The only thing we regretted was that we didn't stay some more nights. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stuck in Florence after opting out of a hotel that wound up being dirty and freaky, we spent half the day searching for a place to stay outside of Florence...all of the hotels with good trip advisor reviews were all booked. We finally came upon Palazzo Brandano. Linda hooked us up with a room and off we were. We were greeted by Ousmane, though it was considerably past everyone's bedtime, he was there to greet us with a warm smile and a glass of wine. He showed us to our room and it was pure perfection from there on. I can NOT say enough about Ousmane...he was right there all the time, for whatever we needed. The accommodations were quaint, clean and exactly what I would have imagined a bed and breakfast in Tuscany to look like. On our last day, I felt bad that we didn't get to see an olive grove so he personally took us to his friend's olive grove where we had a private tour and viewing of how they press the olives. We tasted the most delicious olive oil and it will always remain a very special visit to Petroio. Oh and Ousmane gave us his phone # in senegal and urged us to contact him when we are fortunate enough to take our trip to Africa. STAY AT PALAZZO BRANDANO, you will not be sorry !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Brandano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.