We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo Brandano saved our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
Palazzo Brandano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Palazzo Brandano saved our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stuck in Florence after opting out of a hotel that wound up being dirty and freaky, we spent half the day searching for a place to stay outside of Florence...all of the hotels with good trip advisor reviews were all booked. We finally came upon Palazzo Brandano. Linda hooked us up with a room and off we were. We were greeted by Ousmane, though it was considerably past everyone's bedtime, he was there to greet us with a warm smile and a glass of wine. He showed us to our room and it was pure perfection from there on. I can NOT say enough about Ousmane...he was right there all the time, for whatever we needed. The accommodations were quaint, clean and exactly what I would have imagined a bed and breakfast in Tuscany to look like. On our last day, I felt bad that we didn't get to see an olive grove so he personally took us to his friend's olive grove where we had a private tour and viewing of how they press the olives. We tasted the most delicious olive oil and it will always remain a very special visit to Petroio. Oh and Ousmane gave us his phone # in senegal and urged us to contact him when we are fortunate enough to take our trip to Africa. STAY AT PALAZZO BRANDANO, you will not be sorry !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived early April along a very narrow alley to find Palazzo Brandano.
What a find!! The hotel manager Mr Ousmane Fofana is the type of perfect concierge you would find in any 5 - 6 star hotel.
This is a small but intimate inn set in a quaint Tuscan village.
Cuisine is comparable to anything we have enjoyed in the best restaurants in Paris, Milan and Rome. Quite amazing!!
We hope you enjoy this jewel.
Alan and Pam.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and my wife had been to Tuscany in April '13. We decided to move around several places in Tuscany. Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, we selected Palazzo Brandano as one of our bases. We spent 2 nights at this lovely place. On the first day as we drove into the tiny town of Petroio, we were intimidated by the extremely narrow streets and as the lady in the GPS went on telling that our destination was just ahead, we were worried about squeezing through the narrow lanes of the village. As we pulled up in front of the hotel, the door opened and we were assisted with getting our luggage out of the car and were escorted to a parking space near the hotel. The hotel has direct access to a parking lot which is a few steps below and quite easy to access whenever we took out the car on several trips across the region. We were shown around the hotel and the rooms with a nice chilled glass of Prosecco in our hands. We had been upgraded to the Botticelli room, which I must say must be one of the best rooms in the hotel. Ousmane was our gracious host during our stay. We had a wonderful dinner with some wonderful wine and a nice rabbit dish. Ousmane also made a plan for us to visit the nearby villages of Pienza and Montepulciano with excellent recommendations for La Chiusa restaurant and 2 wineries.
Overall, we enjoyed the wonderful personalized service and wont hesitate at all in recommending others to stay at this place while vacationing in Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights when we were on our honeymoon. Ousmane made us feel right at home and took amazing care of us. The property is located in a small village between the two primary wine tasting areas, making it an excellent "base camp" for wine tastings. Ousmane helped us make arrangements with some of the best vineyards in the region, something I definitely recommend as many of the wineries are not set up to take "drop in" visits (a la Napa Valley). Also, don't skip the restaurant! We spent two weeks in Italy (Rome, Tuscany, Florence, Alba, and Venice) and ate at several Michelin rated restaurants. That said, we ate some of the best food of our entire trip at Palazzo Brandano!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and traveled with another couple. The medieval village is very cute. Ousmane and the rest of the staff provided excellent service. Food was awesome...make sure you come hungry or bring elastic waistband pants. Rooms were large and clean. Hotel and the village were very quiet. Perfect relaxing getaway. We took easy day trips to different towns every day so the location was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and myself stayed one night at this wonderful place located in a pictoresque Tuscan medieval village overlooking the beautiful hilly landscape. Perfectly located, this hotel is the ideal base for day trips to nearby highlights such as Siena, Montalcino, San Quirico d'Orcia etc.

The service at this place is outstanding. With fantastic personalized attention, care to detail and passion, Ousmane the hotel manager made this an unforgettable stay. My wife is pregnant and Ousmane was extremely caring. The food is absolutely great.

Next time we go to Tuscany we will come back and stay longer.

This is the perfect place for anyone who wants to relax, enjoy great views and be spoiled by great and personalized service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsberg am Lech, Bayern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the Palazzo Brandano at the end of April just before the holiday season breaks out in Tuscany. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and I have to say it fully delivered what it promised - even beyond that. Ousmane is a real hearty man - you feel like visiting your family back home. We received specific recommendations from him based on our focus on wine tasting, hiking, etc. - everything fully personalized and spot on. But it did not stop here - he drove us to places, collected us when in need - what a service! Fully recommended and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Brandano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.