We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petroio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Brandano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petroio
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were having a family celebration and for some reason ended up at Ousmane's palace. What a wonderful hotel and what a service! Finding the place was a wonder itself but finding the way out from the village could have been a 'mission impossible' without Linda's assistance. After that everything was just perfect: rooms (suites) were cosy and service was ecxellent, not to mention the food (just forget your diets!). Ousmane really showed us what good and caring service is all about. Highly recommended for all Tuscany lovers! Thank you Ousmane and Linda for beeing there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
160
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I just returned from Italy where we were fortunate enough to stay at Palazzo Brandano and experience the wonderful service from Ousmane. We were traveling with our two daughters (ages 5 & 7) and Ousmane was so caring and attentive to them. We also had my in-laws so it was the six of us. The rooms were very spacious (which is unusual in Italy), beautiful furniture, comfortable beds, bathrooms were beatifully tiled and all tastefully decorated. From the moment we arrived, we feel like we landed in paradise. Ousmane (as others stated) goes above and beyond with his excellent knowledge of the area, outstanding taste in wine and special attention. The last night we stayed there, he ordered a special cake for my two daughters as he referred to them as the "two princesses." It's an excellent place to stay in terms of location as well, as it's a good spot to visit Pienza, Siena, San Gimgiano, etc. He made us feel so at home and so at ease and it was so sad to leave him as well as the beautiful Palazzo. We feel so rewarded having experienced the warmth and charm of the Palazzo along with the extraordinary dedication of Ousmane. Look no further, this a place you will not forget!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, spacious, wonderful, clean bathrooms. Tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stumbled across this gem of a small hotel and had a fabulous experience. The service level is top notch...from the moment Ousmane called us on our cell phone to ensure that we knew how to find the place (an adventure in itself) to the wine tasting that he organized for us at a delightfully quaint vineyard were unexpected delights...as was the upgrade to a suite! The inn itself is small and charming, located in a delightfully old italian village in the rolling hills of Tuscany! The evening meal was great, accompanied by a wonderful bottle of wine Ousmane recommended. Linda is also to be complemented! We only wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommend a visit...and make sure you take the time to get to know Ousmane and Linda!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did 3 nights in Petroio,Tuscany, at this beautiful hotel, followed by 2 nights in Florence and 5 in Rome. We would go back in a heartbeat - the hotel was delightful, Linda takes care of all of your food and beverage needs, and Ousmane, General Manager Extraordinaire, goes way out of his way to make you feel at home. When I reflect back on our 10 days, this portion of it brings back the fondest memories. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Amazing place with huge suites and comfortable beds. The hotel is in an old town and is amazingly spacious. The food is excellent and our host drove us to many local places and to a great vineyard for tasting. We highly recommend Palazzo Brandano as a place to stay in a lovely part of Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It deserves one of the highest ratings in Tuscany for several reasons. First, the setting -- a ancient estate in a small hill village -- is comfortable, charming, romantic, and off-the-beaten-path.Second, Ousmane, a host with years of experience in luxury hotels is the epitome of high service. He arranged a wine tasting and dinners at charming restaurants and made excellent suggestions on how to spend our day. Finally, the kitchen has an outstanding chef who makes local, but elegant dishes, which pair with a good wine selection. It is good to dine here at least one night, then explore some nearby restaurants.

If you have a rental car, the location an ideal base for exploring Tuscan hill towns, countryside, abbeys, and wineries. And a word about parking -- do not follow your GPS to the mailing address unless you have a very small car that can squeze through narrow, 800-year-old streets. Instead, drive just west of the main village on SP71 until you see a blue P sign at the base of a short dirt road. It leads to a free lot just below the hotel, which is labeled on the side.

We traveled here with my 79-year-old mother and 14-year-old daughter, and both were delighted by the setting, the food, and Ousmane. This was one of the most charming places we have stayed, and the service was the best we have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would say this lovely place is unique and special in many instances thanks to Ousmane, who has provided amazingly high level of hospitality. Simply saying we felt like at home or even in a family. Everything, rooms, dinner, communication and even trip to the local olive farm organized especially for us stand for itself. Aa an Italy lover I would say if you like living in a unique atmosphere of hospitality in an old stone village on the top of the beautiful hill and enjoy the silence and the beauty of the view I would say you should definitely visit Palazzo Brandano!

Room Tip: PS. Better try to reach the place in a good weather as night+rain+fog+getting to the top of the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Brandano 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list