We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
Palazzo Brandano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Charm and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It deserves one of the highest ratings in Tuscany for several reasons. First, the setting -- a ancient estate in a small hill village -- is comfortable, charming, romantic, and off-the-beaten-path.Second, Ousmane, a host with years of experience in luxury hotels is the epitome of high service. He arranged a wine tasting and dinners at charming restaurants and made excellent suggestions on how to spend our day. Finally, the kitchen has an outstanding chef who makes local, but elegant dishes, which pair with a good wine selection. It is good to dine here at least one night, then explore some nearby restaurants.

If you have a rental car, the location an ideal base for exploring Tuscan hill towns, countryside, abbeys, and wineries. And a word about parking -- do not follow your GPS to the mailing address unless you have a very small car that can squeze through narrow, 800-year-old streets. Instead, drive just west of the main village on SP71 until you see a blue P sign at the base of a short dirt road. It leads to a free lot just below the hotel, which is labeled on the side.

We traveled here with my 79-year-old mother and 14-year-old daughter, and both were delighted by the setting, the food, and Ousmane. This was one of the most charming places we have stayed, and the service was the best we have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would say this lovely place is unique and special in many instances thanks to Ousmane, who has provided amazingly high level of hospitality. Simply saying we felt like at home or even in a family. Everything, rooms, dinner, communication and even trip to the local olive farm organized especially for us stand for itself. Aa an Italy lover I would say if you like living in a unique atmosphere of hospitality in an old stone village on the top of the beautiful hill and enjoy the silence and the beauty of the view I would say you should definitely visit Palazzo Brandano!

Room Tip: PS. Better try to reach the place in a good weather as night+rain+fog+getting to the top of the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back home from lazy vacation in Italy, and missing Ousmane soooooo much^^. Thank you for your every delicate arrangements, really making us feel like home. The special wine tour and olive tree discovery was such a fancy journey. The boutique hotel itself is an art of design. We will definitely come back, for you, my dear friend~~ lol

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything they say is true! A truly delightful stay at a hotel in the middle of tiny, quiet town, perfectly located from Montepulciano, Pienza and San Quirico D'orcia.

We had dinner in Montepulciano before checking in late at Palazzo Brandano but Ousmane still greeted us on arrival and served a really lovely dessert (even my very picky french partner was impressed).

Highly recommend staying at Palazzo Brandano - it was unfortunate we were only booked in for one night but would happily return here in the future - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose the Palazzo Brandano based on the hotel site as well as reviews on tripadvisor and other sites. Also, it was important for my decision the fact that I was looking for a central location from where, by car, I could visit the region, including the Chianti area, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Volterra, San Gimigniano, etc…
I was extremely happy with my choice. Not only because Petroio is, indeed, very central for a nice tour around Tuscany (it is a tiny village) but, also, because this is a very good hotel, with large and comfortable rooms, a good restaurant and a very special treatment granted by Ousmane and Linda.
I strongly recommend this hotel and would most definitely return in a future Tuscany trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay with Ousmane at Palazzo Brandano. This quaint boutique "hotel" sits in the the midst of a charming medieval hill town. Very conveniently located in the heart of Tuscany - making visiting all of the famous towns a breeze.
Ousmane organized wine and olive oili tastings for us with small producers - they were genuine, not touristy experiences. In addition, he not only booked dinner reservations for us in surrounding towns, but called there to make sure that we arrived there. While the food at all of his recommended places was wonderful, none could top the most delicious dinner of our trip, the one that we had right at Palazzo Brandano! The service at Brandano was perfect, the breakfast was made fresh every morning and the rooms were lovely, spacious and included everything one could need.
A true highlight of our 10 day trip, we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Brandano in November 2012 for 7 days with two other couples we were traveling with. When we first arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Linda and then Ousmane, who immediately offered our party of six a lite meal before dinner. Before long these amazing aromas were wafting up to our room. This was the beginning of a week of delicious culinary delights and great wines that paired well with each meal.

I could not wait to visit Palazzo Brandano to see if this person called Ousmane was as wonderful as all the reviews I read. I was thinking this could not be possible. Well, he is fantastic and he make you feel as though you are an old friend visiting. He is very intuitive about your interest.

We did not arrange any sightseeing tours in advance. Based on our interests, Ousmane arranged a visit to a vineyard where the owner provided us with a private wine tasting and we went to an olive grove and tasted various olive oils. We had fun taking a cooking class with the hotel chef, Hafida, then enjoyed the meal for lunch. Ousmane goes above and beyond to accommodate your every request to ensure that you are satisfied.

The hotel which looks more like a villa, has amazing rooms that are well appointed. My husband and I stayed in the Superior Suite named Tiziano on the third floor which had great views of the rolling hills and valleys. You could open the windows and hear people speaking Italian, see clothes hanging on the line and just take in the view. We wanted the feel of the countryside, and this was the place to experience it high up on a hilltop. If you need to get some rest and relaxation this is the perfect place to go.

To enjoy the nearby towns and villages, you really need a car and I am happy we had rented one. We were fortunate enough to be traveling with friends from the UK, and they were expert drivers who could handle the narrow and winding roads.

Ousmane, Linda and Hafida thank you for your exceptional service! We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Brandano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.