We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
Palazzo Brandano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything they say is true! A truly delightful stay at a hotel in the middle of tiny, quiet town, perfectly located from Montepulciano, Pienza and San Quirico D'orcia.

We had dinner in Montepulciano before checking in late at Palazzo Brandano but Ousmane still greeted us on arrival and served a really lovely dessert (even my very picky french partner was impressed).

Highly recommend staying at Palazzo Brandano - it was unfortunate we were only booked in for one night but would happily return here in the future - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
180
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose the Palazzo Brandano based on the hotel site as well as reviews on tripadvisor and other sites. Also, it was important for my decision the fact that I was looking for a central location from where, by car, I could visit the region, including the Chianti area, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Volterra, San Gimigniano, etc…
I was extremely happy with my choice. Not only because Petroio is, indeed, very central for a nice tour around Tuscany (it is a tiny village) but, also, because this is a very good hotel, with large and comfortable rooms, a good restaurant and a very special treatment granted by Ousmane and Linda.
I strongly recommend this hotel and would most definitely return in a future Tuscany trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay with Ousmane at Palazzo Brandano. This quaint boutique "hotel" sits in the the midst of a charming medieval hill town. Very conveniently located in the heart of Tuscany - making visiting all of the famous towns a breeze.
Ousmane organized wine and olive oili tastings for us with small producers - they were genuine, not touristy experiences. In addition, he not only booked dinner reservations for us in surrounding towns, but called there to make sure that we arrived there. While the food at all of his recommended places was wonderful, none could top the most delicious dinner of our trip, the one that we had right at Palazzo Brandano! The service at Brandano was perfect, the breakfast was made fresh every morning and the rooms were lovely, spacious and included everything one could need.
A true highlight of our 10 day trip, we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Brandano in November 2012 for 7 days with two other couples we were traveling with. When we first arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Linda and then Ousmane, who immediately offered our party of six a lite meal before dinner. Before long these amazing aromas were wafting up to our room. This was the beginning of a week of delicious culinary delights and great wines that paired well with each meal.

I could not wait to visit Palazzo Brandano to see if this person called Ousmane was as wonderful as all the reviews I read. I was thinking this could not be possible. Well, he is fantastic and he make you feel as though you are an old friend visiting. He is very intuitive about your interest.

We did not arrange any sightseeing tours in advance. Based on our interests, Ousmane arranged a visit to a vineyard where the owner provided us with a private wine tasting and we went to an olive grove and tasted various olive oils. We had fun taking a cooking class with the hotel chef, Hafida, then enjoyed the meal for lunch. Ousmane goes above and beyond to accommodate your every request to ensure that you are satisfied.

The hotel which looks more like a villa, has amazing rooms that are well appointed. My husband and I stayed in the Superior Suite named Tiziano on the third floor which had great views of the rolling hills and valleys. You could open the windows and hear people speaking Italian, see clothes hanging on the line and just take in the view. We wanted the feel of the countryside, and this was the place to experience it high up on a hilltop. If you need to get some rest and relaxation this is the perfect place to go.

To enjoy the nearby towns and villages, you really need a car and I am happy we had rented one. We were fortunate enough to be traveling with friends from the UK, and they were expert drivers who could handle the narrow and winding roads.

Ousmane, Linda and Hafida thank you for your exceptional service! We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in September 2012. There is not much to say that has not already been commented on at length. The Palazzo is a Tuscan haven; peaceful and luxerious, it possesses a warmth not found it larger accomodations. We felt as though we were welcome guests in a private villa, yet allowed complete privacy. Ousmane is often mistaken as the owner due to his passion for each guest and thier individual experiences. He is always impeccably dressed, a distinguished host and a sharp businessman. We were met after several hours of travel with a cappucino and a croissant on the patio. We were harried after the drive and it was Ousmane who forced us to simply relax while we waited for our room. The location is perfect for day trips to explore Tuscany's winding roads and hill towns - however, if you are not map savy then ensure you have a GPS with you, as previously stated a rental car is essential here. The town itself offers only peace and quiet, there are no facilities. If you happen to be staying on a night when dinner is not offered, do not fret, Ousmane will take care of you either by picking up a pizza from the local pizzeria or by welcoming you into the kitchen himself. I would be happy to return to this Palazzo for a romantic getaway or with family for a special occasion. Well done, Ousmane, you have a deep understanding of both the hospitality industry and human nature, the Palazzo's success can largely be attributed to you.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tuscan sunsets are beautiful. Rolling hills covered in vines and olive groves as far as the eye can see, individual buildings, villages and towns perched on mountain tops. Cypress trees point like fingers toward blue skies. At this time storms prevail, spectacular displays of lightening and claps of thunder rumble around the valleys and the rain falls straight and true. The hotel is palatial with Romanesque decor, however it's asset is the staff. Ousmane, Linda and Hafida treated us like royalty, obliging every request. Hafida's cooking and cooking lesson were exceptional, an experience not to be missed. A birthday celebration set in the middle of a one week stay was absolutely fabulous, seven courses which included a birthday cake, great Italian wine and live music throughout. There is plenty to see locally, with towns and cities such as Siena and Florence not to far away, but I do recommend some form of transportation as Petroio is very much in the country. However, if you are unsure of what to do, just ask Ousmane! I would definitely visit Palazzo Brandano again, maybe in the spring or summer for a change. Thank you All.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are in shadow mostly, but amazing sunsets are seen from this vantage later i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our friends could not have picked a better hotel. Tucked away on a quiet hilltop with amazing views, excellent food and generously sized rooms. Ousmane and Linda looked after us (a group of 6) for a week and we had a wonderful time. Ousmane made suggestions for pllaces to vist, arranged tastings for olive oil and wine at local suppliers, organiseda cookery lesson with Hafida, booked our tiickets for a trip to Floence and loved to surprise us with additional courses at dinner.

We would love to return - next time when the weather is warmer - so that we could enjoy breakfast and dinner on the terrace under the Tuscan sun. This hotel truly is a great find and it is made all the more special by Ousmane and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
18.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
20.9 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 41 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.