We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same superb story, different days and guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Brandano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petroio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Brandano
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Brandano to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petroio
Arlington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Same superb story, different days and guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our story is so much like the others: We drove diagonally from the Rome airport through Tuscany, beginning along the coast road around noon, and by 5:00 (17:00) we had approached the end of our patience for hairpin turns taken at 30 kpm, and we still had miles to go as darkness fell. We had reservations at Palazzo Brandano, and now needed to find it. A sign for Petroio popped up, my wife (and navigator) said "turn," and we entered a road through a medieval city that rapidly narrowed to the width of our car (an Alfa Romeo Giulietta, by the way, which performed famously for a week!). At a loss, we forged ahead through the narrows, knowing we were on the right road and hoping to find the right house number. A light ahead, an open door: I rolled down my window to ask directions and an elegant Africa man said, "Mr. H.... ? Deliverance! He walked our car to a parking space, lugged our luggage (for a 2.5 month trip), and advised the kitchen to start cooking. Hospitality personified!

There is nothing new to say: superb food, expertly selected wine (name the price and Ourmane will find something delicious), thoughtful gestures and gifts (such as a bite to each in the living room while awaiting dinner). The palazzo is elegantly understated and comfortably furnished: you will be welcome and happy to sit or stretch out anywhere. Ousmane is a witty and worldly host, and a thoughtful and informed conversational partner (ask him about Senegal and the circumstances and prospects of Africa in the global system). He never intrudes but is always there.

The building and setting are from another age, and they will transport you there. Petroio is small, but the area around is great for walking and musing, and will put you in touch with earlier times and human experiences.

In sum, for a peaceful time, warm hospitality, and rejuvenation, a visit to Palazzo Brandano is beyond compare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
160
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Florence airport for our dream vacation with pouring rain and a cold, windy day and was greeted at the hertz car rental place by a nasty rep who put me in tears. I just wanted to hop a plane back to America. Needless to say when we finally arrived through the rain to PB we were so upset and I just cried. Well Linda, an angel, immediately gave us a glass of wine and a platter of cheese and salami and bread. She just was so kind. The next morning we met Ousmane and what everyone has written about him is true. He realized that we were not going to do well driving around Tuscany so he became our personal tour guide for the next 2 days and planned wonderful things for us to do . He made our 4 cold not good weather days very special. If it wasn't for him I don't think we would have liked it as much. The room was very nice. The views beautiful. Thank you Ousmane, Linda and Lorena for your very kind hospitality. You really made us feel at home. Nancy and Richard

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in nearby Castelmuzio when we came across this gem on our second last day in Tuscany. Two of us just came for coffee. Ousmonde, the hotelier was so nice and the setting so magnificent, that we decided to return for our last meal in Tuscany with our group of eight. This was definitely one of those situations where your expectations are totally exceeded. The view from the Hotel is truly relaxing. We had a great meal and coffee and would have loved to have stayed longer but for our deadline. Ousmonde spoke in beautiful English and nothing was too difficult for him. I am in the service industry and had not struck this level of service for a long time. I liked his cheeky sense of humor as well. The Hotel has been very tastefully modernized and is set in a great spot in this lovely medieval town of Petroio. We would definitely come back for a stay next time we are in Tuscany

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had just finished a 10 day cruise before coming to spend 4 days at the Palazzo Brandano, in Petroio, Italy. It turned out to be a most pleasant experience, as we were greeted by the Hotelier, Ousmane. He turned out to be most helpful and assisted us in every way possible. He went out of his way to show us many sites we would never have seen on our own. Linda, and the entire staff, went out of their way to be sure our visit was as confortable as possible. The food was excellent, the views were great and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing few days in beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were overwhelmed with the warmth and lovely reception we received from Ousmane and the staff at Palazzo Brandano. We spent one month in Italy for our honeymoon but we felt the most special at Palazzo Brandano. Ousmane was extremely accommodating and constantly surprised us with little gifts to make our experience event lovlier. The location is in a small Tuscan town with fabulous views of the rolling hills typical of the region. It is the perfect place to have that fantasy Tuscan experience. The hotel restaurant had great food and wine, some of the best of our month long trip. The gnocci was unbelievable!

We did the cooking class with Ousmane and the hotel chef which was fantastic. Great value too! We were taught 5 meals which we then got to eat for dinner that night, all for the one price. Ousmane was really helpful in organising activities around the area - best T-bone steak reccommendation ever!

Overall we had a magic time here and it was largely due to the staying at Palazzo Brandano. We would certainly reccommend it to anyone and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We started our trip in Rome then went to the Amalfi coast and were blown away by both. How could our trip to Italy get any better?.... then we arrived at Palazzo Brandano!!! Ousmane and Linda were absolutely the most generous, friendly, kind people we have ever experienced on a holiday. The food was incredible, the recommendations of where to visit and eat couldn't have been any better. The town of Petroio is so quaint and the views are fantastic. I had tears in my eyes when i walked into my room it was so gorgeous. What a place!!!!! We will be back Ousmane!!

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms and they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of our favorite places on our "taste of Europe" trip for our 25th Anniversary!!
The hotel was like a castle. The rooms were mini apartments! The views incredible!
The food was the BEST I HAVE EVER HAD ANYWHERE!!!!!!!.
The staff was incredilby gracious. Over the top helpful!
Ousmane, the Hotel Manager was riduculously helpful. He went over and above to make our stay the most incredible experience for our stay in Tuscany.
I am already fixing to book for next year!!
A must stay if you are going to Tuscany!

Room Tip: You can't make a bad choice!! every room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata, 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Brandano 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Brandano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.