We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical & quaint getaway in the hills of Tuscany!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Poggetto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montespertoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Poggetto
Save
You added Il Poggetto to your Saves list
Via del Poggetto 14, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magical & quaint getaway in the hills of Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was by far one of the nicest palces we stayed at during our tour of Italy this past April 2013. Ivana, the owner of Il Poggetto, is an extremely sweet and attentive person. She made our 3 night stay here even more enjoyable than we could have imagined.

The views of the Tuscan hills from Il Poggetto are incredible! Lush greenery, blooming lemon trees, and colorful flowers are everywhere. Really breathtaking!

The apartment we stayed in (Il Gelsomino) was well furnished with a little kitchen, nice queen sized bed, working shower and toilet, and had a very "homey" feel to it.

Be prepared to walk downhill to the small town of Montespertoli if you do not plan to rent a car. I was 4 months pregnant during my stay here and I walked it up and down twice a day. It's about a 20 minute walk to town, where you can catch the bus that will take you to Florence.

If I were to go back to Tuscany I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deggendorf, Germany
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one week with our daughter and our granny in the appartment "la pergola". It was one of our best holidays! This beautiful place from the owner Ivana and her family includes three typical Tuscany-houses and a nice swimming pool surrounded by an olive-grove and cypresses. Feel like in heaven!!! The appartment was nicely furnished and all you needed. When you lay on the swimming pool you have an wonderful view over the whole landscape. Among relaxing you could make a lot of culture-sightseeing-trips. Towns like Florence, Siena, Pisa or Volterra are nearby.
Last but not least I forgot my rings in the appartment and the lovely and great Ivana sent them to our home address. At this spot we send a big "THANK YOU!!!" to you, Ivana.
And at least thank you for the wonderful holidays this year - we'll see us next year again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arriving at Il Poggetto, one could be forgiven for thinking they were Venus, had just arrived in Paradise. After driving down a short gravel road, passing the castle of Montegufoni, a group of local people gathered outside a small church and a group of artists capturing a classically Tuscan scene of rolling hills (from under the shade of a giant fig tree, heavy with fruit) we warmly greeted by our kind and generous host Ivana. As we unpacked our sleek little Fiat 500, the beautiful Ivana offered us a chilled bottle of prosecco. After the hectic journey from Rome, we wasted no time in opening the bottle. As we poured the first glass, the afternoon light cast the landscape in soft focus and the smell of pine and the herbaceous scent of the bright green olive trees hung heavily in the air.

We had planned to spend a week at Il Poggetto, visiting the neighboring towns and markets, but we could easily have spent a month or two. It had been six years since my last visit - and absolutely nothing in this perfect oasis had changed, except for the seasons. Every possible detail has been thought of by our kind and generous hosts.

Il Poggetto is the perfect location to discover many of the neighbouring towns - and their fabulous markets. Sienna, Florence, San Gimingano and Greve in Chianti are all within easy driving distance and make a perfect day trip. Some of the local tavernas are excellent - and in walking distance for the evening. The local wineries are also well worth a visit - their wines are the perfect accompaniment for wating a glowing sunset from the pool or the terrace.

We can't wait to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in La Cipressa - it was absolutley fantastic. A wonderful large kitchen and dinning area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent to weeks in the appartement "La Loggia" with our two children, aged 9 and 14. We have often been to Tuscany and this location was the best we have ever seen. It is perfect for sightseeing trips to Florence and the Chianti area, afterwards relaxing at the beautiful pool. It was fun cooking in the very well equipped kitchen and enjoying the meals on the wonderful terrace. Our host Ivana was so helpful and friendly and gave us various good hints for tours to very special places far away from tourist crowds. And we will never forget her kindness to send us a jacket, our son forgot in the appartement, to our home address. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: La Loggia is perfectly suited for a family with two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband, two young children and I stayed in La Cipressaia for the week leading up to my brother's wedding at the nearby Castello di Montegufoni. My parents stayed in Il Gelsomino. The apartments were sweet, clean, and had everything we needed. From taking breakfast on our private terrace overlooking the sweep of the Tuscan hills, to swimming in the lovely pool with swallows skimming the water, to eating the fresh figs off the trees at the invitation of the delightful owner Ivana - it was blissful. The perfect antidote to the stress of corporate city life. It is an idea location for day trips, but for us with small kids in the hottest summer Tuscany has known for over a century, it was enough to relax, swim, read, gaze at the breathtaking views, chat to the friendly owners and guests, pop into Montespertoli for a pizza - it was plenty.

BTW, talking of Montespertoli, go to Il Mondo Degli Gnomi if you have kids - they pizzas are great, Giuseppe is very helpful and arranged an entire 40th birthday party for us while we were there - and there is a large room at the back of the restaurant where small kids can jump and climb and be safe - while you enjoy a glass of wine and the comings and goings of the village. Also La Terrazza - if you are a small enough group request the waiter moves a table to the terrace - it's stunning!

So Il Poggetto - highly recommend it, either as a base for touring or a relaxtion zone!

If I had to find one thing to improve? The wifi signal - would have been nice by the pool. Hey! You can take the girl out of the office...... :)

Room Tip: If you are a family fo 4 - pick La Cipressaia. For a little extra - you really get a lot more - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one week in the house La Cipressaia. It is a very quite and nice place surrunded by the beautiful tuscany landscape. This location is perfect to visit Florence (20 minutes), Siena (1 hour) and Pisa (1 hour) but also to spend some days for regeneration. We liked it very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilbeek
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for the fourth time in this magnificent and peaceful place. As always, we were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful owner, Ivana.
Very well kept property with flowers, olive trees, lemon trees surrounded by breathtaking views
from the relaxing swimming pool.
Excellent location to hop in the car and visit the nicest places in Tuscany.
The appartments are comfortable,very neat and tastefully decorated.
In the village nearby there is a small supermarket and a nice typical coffee bar with excellent "capuccino's" !!
We are already looking forward to return in the future to this small paradise !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Poggetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggetto

Address: Via del Poggetto 14, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Poggetto is the ideal place for those looking for art, history and relaxation during their holidays.It is located in Chianti, on a green private hilltop surrounded by cypresses, olive trees and grapevines.From the pool, you can admire a 360 ° panorama on the typical Tuscan landscape, perhaps sipping a glass of good wine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Poggetto Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Poggetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.