We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out-of-the-way and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Molino del Ponte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Il Molino del Ponte to your Saves list
Il Molino del Ponte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Volterrana Nord, 42, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Montespertoli
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-way and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a school group on a trip to Italy. For such a large group we were very happy. The rooms were almost as big as a small apartment and featured a small stove top, sink, refrigerator, pull-out couch, cabinet, and large shower. We found out on the first day that our shower squirted water in just about every corner of the shower, but upon telling the front desk, they fixed the situation right away.

Good stuff: The rooms were large, the feel of the place was very Italian. Located in a quiet area, offered food and drink and the staff was very friendly.

Bad stuff: This hotel is about a 45 minute drive to Florence, so if you do not have a driver, you may want to consider getting one. Our group found it hard to find activities to do at night because the area was very quiet. The wi-fi only works outside the lobby, so you must sit outside under a tent to use it. Sound travels very easily here, being that everything is made out of stone, which also meant our room was rather cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ideal for exploring both the Tuscany countryside and Florience. Giorgio was an incredible host! His English is passable, but his warmth and generosity need no language. We stayed in an apartment with air conditioning and a kitchenette. Very nice breakfast buffet with outdoor seating. There's a small swimming pool on premises as well. Access to Florence is via bus at the entrance to the hotel, a tram ride if you have a car to get to the tram station, or a 30 minute drive to a Florence parking garage. The town of Montespertoli near this hotel is an authentic Italian village mostly devoid of tourists. This location is within an hour of a number of Tuscany hilltop towns, as well as Pisa and Lucca. Giorgio was nice enough to present us with a bottle of Chianti as a parting gift!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Coolbreezeny.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel staff - Giorgio and wife, are absolutely fantastic. They are very friendly persons. Apartments and rooms are comfortable and rustical - in Tuscan style, with bathrooms. They were clean. The beds are comfy. The breakfast was good. The location is excellent for touring - specialy for bikers, its very near center of Firence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Georgio was a wonderful host: welcoming, helpful, and always ready to crack a joke. His German is better than his English, but both are better than my Italian! Even so, the essentials of communication were not a problem. Breakfasts surpassed our expectations: not just the usual coffee and pastries, but freshly cooked scrambled eggs (often with ham), a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, juices. We gratefully fuelled up for the touring day ahead.

For evening meals or lunch, the osteria next door is very handy, with helpful service and decent food. Another restaurant is a five minute walk down the road (but without a footpath, so be careful). The hotel has a couple of barbecues, which we used one evening, and Georgio kindly supplied the necessary utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

Our family room was very comfortable for four, although the air conditioning was a bit under-powered for the July heat; a ceiling fan would have been nicer and more effective. Although the wi-fi didn’t quite stretch to our apartment, it was much more pleasant to step out into the cool shade of the patio for relaxing, reading and catching up online. The fridge was a useful feature in the small kitchen area of our room, although if you want to cook on the two hot plates, you would need to source your own cookware.

The kids really enjoyed the above-ground pool, which was a great place to cool off after a hard day’s sight-seeing. There is a public sports centre next door, with a larger pool and opportunities for tennis, etc. if you’re feeling more energetic.

If you have a car, the hotel serves as an excellent base for trips to Florence, Siena, San Gimingnano, etc., all reachable in under an hour. Even if you’re without wheels, there is a bus stop right outside on the main road to Florence (about 45 minutes away for 2.8 Euros). There are also two train stations within a fifteen minute taxi ride. The town of Montespertoli itself is five minutes away by car or bus, with several eating establishments, shops and supermarket.

We really enjoyed our stay here, made special by Georgio’s friendly attention to his guests’ needs.

Room Tip: The AC in our room struggled with the July heat, making sleep uncomfortable at times. Leaving window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

The hotel staff and rooms were absolutely fantastic. I was in charge of a high school group of 45. Keep in mind, the group is told not to expect gourmet food. However, there should be at least normal portions. For our only diner meal (a one night stay), we were served a typical Italian pasta as a starter. The mail course consisted of perhaps a large tablespoon size portion of eggplant and a chicken nugget size piece of pork, that is if the nugget wasn't actually a piece of bone with a couple strands of meat. There were some assorted pastries for dessert. In 15 years of traveling with students this was the Number 1 worst meal I've seen. To be fair to the hotel, if you were a regular guest, ordering from the hotel menu, I'm sure you would have adequate portions of average quality.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I.O.W.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We loved the pool- so welcome after a hot day sightseeing! The Pizzeria next door was fantastic too!

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff. Food next door!
  • Disliked — not clean enough - some days none done at all!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Received exactly what we were promised. A comfortable apartment for a family of 4 with kitchenette and private bathroom. Both kitchen and bath quite small but fine for us. Beds firm and comfy. Room rustic in the Tuscan style and spotlessly clean. Kids tried to have a swim in the full size, above-ground pool but, uncharacteristically, the weather didn't cooperate. Typical breakfast as is generally included at budget places in in Italy (ie, good caffe, packaged pastries & jams) but with a nice touch: dry cereal and some fruit also offered, which my children especially appreciated. Free parking on site, nice grounds, excellent location for touring Tuscany and its many attractions and festivals. Staff cordial and efficient. Super value.

  • Liked — value, comfort, setting
  • Disliked — minor complaint: pool wans't fully open yet (mostly a weather related issue)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Molino del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molino del Ponte

Address: Via Volterrana Nord, 42, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Molino del Ponte 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Il Molino del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Molino Del Ponte Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Molino del Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.