We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience for the entire family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Casanova

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montespertoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Casanova
Save Saved
You added Podere Casanova to your Saves list
Via Turbone, 17 loc. Botinaccio, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Veneto, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience for the entire family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Podere Casanova over spring break 2012. "We" being our family of 2 adults and 4 children ages 6 and under. It was perfect! Lisa and her family were amazing hosts. They set us up in the Ginestra apartment which was intended for 4 adults. They removed a single bed, placed a small bunk-bed and gave us a baby cot and while cozy, it was the perfect amount of space and saved us money. We also had our small dog with us and there was no extra charge for any of the above. Our apartment was attached to the laundry room so it was easy to keep up on laundry and not feel overwhelmed by it upon returning home. The Saturday night welcome dinner was amazing...the best food and wine! We loved getting to know our hosts and other guests. While there for the week we were able to visit Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Montespertoli, and several other small Chianti towns. Lisa had great recommendations as for things to do when it was raining...we went to a small factory where they make terracotta pieces...we were able to tour the place, learn all about how it was made and then we got to throw a piece on the pottery wheel ourselves, all for free! It was seriously the most relaxing vacation. Even when I locked us out of our apartment at 11pm and had to call Lisa to let us in, she was there in 15 minutes and smiling. The kids had a blast! There is a small playground, goats to feed, a pool, and plenty of space to explore. I never once felt out of place having all of our kids there with us.

Room Tip: If you need anything, simply ask Lisa...she was beyond helpful and never made us feel like a nuisanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at the beautiful Podere Casanova. We loved our apartments and the well equipped kitchens that made it so easy to prepare our many meals at home. From this central location we enjoyed day trips to Florence, Siena, Lucca as well as exploring the countryside. Some days we just relaxed by the pool and took in the beautiful views of the Tuscan hills. But the most memorable experience was meeting Lisa and her family. From the moment we arrived and all during our stay they treated us like family. Lisa helped us plan adventures and even drove my husband to Empoli so we could mail a package home. Babbo ( Lisa's father) drew us detailed directions to reduce the stress of returning our rental car in Florence . We hope to return very soon so we can visit our new family in Tuscany.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have there unique features
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The location is excellent. Quiet and serene. Views are beautiful of the valley and grape and olive orchards. The Lorenzo family makes you feel very welcome. They have an energy to serve their customers. Should you be there on a Saturday night, the family serves a fine Italian buffet to the guests. Lisa was very helpfull in giving directions to sights and was able to make reservations at wineries for tours.

Room Tip: The single rooms are fine for a couple. The 2 bedroom unit is quite nice and roomy. All units have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in the Cipresso Apartment.
Had booked a one bedroom, but Lisa upgraded us to a 2 bedroomed apartment, with a stunning view of the countryside.
Apartment had everything we needed and was large and roomy. The Saturday night dinner was great and a very pleasant way to meet our Italian hosts and fellow guests. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming - what a wonderful family! Wednesday Pizza evening was also fun – Pizzas (incl desert pizza) were very tasty and just the thing after a long day out in the Tuscan Hills.
Apart from visiting many villages, Podere Casanova is extremely handy for Florence. We drove to Scandicci, found easy free parking there and caught the tram (runs every few minutes) to the centre of Florence, about 1.60E. Lisa was very helpful, giving us information on this and other sights.
Highly recommended. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Podere Casanova is in a charming 17th century farmhouse that has been divided into five apartments. Each apartment has a sitting room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and private patio. There is one apartment with two bedrooms. It is situated high on a hill in the Chianti region with spectacular views that go for miles! The very private pool is lovely. You can drive to many medieval towns that must be on your "don't miss" list. In about an hour (if you don't get lost!) you can drive to Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena, Greve, San Gimignano, and Certaldo Alto, just to name a few. The owners are super helpful and friendly, and their Saturday night welcome dinner is to die for! Also, don't miss Pizza Night (did you know that there are even dessert pizzas?). If you are looking for a quiet, serene and private location in the middle of gorgeous Tuscany, this is it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very warm welcome and hospitality with a very nice personal touch and a wonderful insight in a Tuscan family life. Lovely house apartments with typical Tuscan interior. Fantastic swimming pool. Great service of all the family. Almost feeling like staying with friends! Great entertainment in dinner parties with exciting surprise for all the children. Location not easy to find and very isolated on a stony path.However near to a small nice village and good shopping facilities. Easy connection with Firence. Somewhat less easy to Siena. Great views from a lovely garden with beautiful flowers and fruit trees.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Lisa and her family know how to take care of guests. From early email communication that was efficient and timely to our arrival and stay were bellisimo! We just left podere Casanova after 4 days of Tuscan bliss. Their Wednesday night pizza party was an evening of homemade pizza in their brick oven(that her father built) with the other guests of the farmhouse including their own wine. Lisa helped arrange wine tasting at Castello sonnino(ask for Federica) as well as recommended a local ceramic store (corsini) in montespertoli. Our room had lovely balcony and plenty of space for cooking after a long day. Look no further for the perfect spot. We rented a car in Pisa and it was an easy drive. Can be a bit tough to find - just keep going on via bottinaccio and you will get to via turbone on the left. Once you get there and mix with the locals, you won't want to go anywhere else! We can't wait to go back. Grazie Lisa - Debbie and Chris from Orlando.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casanova

Address: Via Turbone, 17 loc. Botinaccio, 50025 Montespertoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Farmhouse of the seventeenth century;- Swimming pool in the garden surrounded by parasols and lounge chairs;- 5 Apartments with 3 to 6 beds with private garden or terrace with panoramic view;- Children playground;- Wi fi zone free. A farmhouse of the XVII century, has a panoramic view over the surrounding hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Podere Casanova Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Casanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.