We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disaster!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Rustica

La Rustica
Via Maiorca, 98, Marina di Pisa, Pisa, Italy
050 36725
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Tychy, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A disaster!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My grandmother and had a meal in La Rustica tonight and it was terrible. Very well known, tourist rubbish food. We had tasteless tortellini (you could buy the same quality in a supermarket in Poland), tough, uncooked (and I don't mean al dente, it was just hard to chew) lingiuni with oversalted tomato sauce and wine diluted with water. Yes, it was cheap, but is that the point?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    16
    37
    15
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“eat HERE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Fresh food, a good variety on the menu, smiling, friendly staff, with a strong interest in customer relations and service, reasonable prices for food and wine. What else could a person want?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Take Away with Tables”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We, a family group of four, were recommended La Rustica by our hotel manager after a lovely holiday in Tuscany crammed with terrific food and wine. Sad to say this last meal was a great disappointment. La Rustica is principally a Takeaway Pizza parlour with tables inside and out for people who want a sit down meal. The main income seems to be from the take away business so diners, on this occasion at least, get pretty short shrift in terms of attention and service. We waied a long time for any acknowledgement of our presence at all, even though a table had been booked in advance, and the service throughout was pretty haphazard and scanty, depending, it seemed, on the queue at the takeaway counter - which was constantly a long one. There was a fairly wide ranging menu of Tuscan favourites but under the circumstances we thought pizza was the best option. So we ordered four with different toppings. They were a disappointment. All four had the pizza disaster of a soggy bottom. They were, admittedly, crisp around the perimeter but sadly slimy towards the middle. Toppings were pleasant enough - though not special. On the credit side, the house wine was very cheap and, provided it was given a fair amount of breathing space, not unpleasant.
The great thing about Marina di Pisa is the quality of the sunsets. There are many restaurants which face onto the sea and allow you to eat and drink while watching the sun go down, generally very spectacularly. The Rustica is not one of these. It can't help that of course, but we all rather regretted not going somewhere else. My advice is not to make the same mistake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent value, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good range of pasta and fish - well flavoured dishes, very reasonable price and lovely waiters. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rustica also viewed

Marina di Pisa, Pisa
Marina di Pisa, Pisa
 
Marina di Pisa, Pisa
Marina di Pisa, Pisa
 

Been to La Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.