We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa - good pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Belpoggio

Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Belpoggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Via Setteponti Ponente 40/A | Arezzo, 52024 Loro Ciuffenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
tokyo, japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice villa - good pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice place & location, good pool, friendly people. The room we had was unfortunately not that special and also located right above the breakfast area. Overall a good place to stay, but suggest to pick a better room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is rare that a vacation spot exceeds expectations when expectations are high but this place really was amazing. We stayed here for 5 days and none of us wanted to leave. The villa was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds and the pool. They gave us a lovely apartment to use that was perfect for us. Breakfasts were really great; lots of terrific choices and fresh fruit in abundance. We had a couple of lunches at the hotel which were also terrific. I must say that another element here was that the staff - Maria in particular - really went above and beyond to help us feel comfortable and to help us in any way possible. An example was when we were getting (or supposed to get) a package of medication express mailed for my daughter from the US. The Italian customs office held this up and Maria made innumerable phone calls trying to get the package expedited and even went so far as to have the customs official photocopy the prescription and call it in to a local pharmacy so that we could get the prescription filled locally!! Obviously, we were and are very grateful to her and the entire team for what was really an extraordinarily special stay and I would not hesitate to tell any friends or relatives that this is an absolutely wonderful place to use as a base for exploring Tuscany or just staying put. We all hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a perfect week in Villa Belpoggio. What a wonderful place to stay! The staff was so kind, they gave us a warm welcome. For breakfast there was so much to choose for. The diner Paula made, was delicious. We certainly come back to Belpoggio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed only a couple of nights with 3 young adults/teenagers. The villa is stunning. It has been very cleverly and tastefully renovated and decorated. The rooms are sizeable and the arrangement we had for the 5 of us was very workable. The grounds and views are magnificent and the swimming pool is a real attraction. The staff are charming - even holding breakfast open for almost an hour because we tend to be late risers. The restaurant is only open 2 nights a wekk but there are some great spots a short drive away - la Cantinella, in particular, is very good. Whilst our younger contingent missed the night clubs of Florence & Romeand were keen to move on, next time, we would stay longer to take full advantage of this wonderful location. I should add that I also thought this was exceelent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June and into July. The Villa is really charming – the setting and the views are beautiful. The best part must be the lovely breeze that comes up over the valley to cool you down – this you definitely need during the very hot summer! Sit in the many areas around the garden and totally chill!
The villa itself is stylish. The welcome is the best we ever had – (Although Yolane at Chateau de Verrieres, Saumur, France was special too). Back to the villa, Angese, Maria, Paula, and family are so delightful!. This is a very happy place, and you will feel very relaxed the moment you arrive. The breakfast is very generous, with lots to eat. Cereal, Bread, Cake, yogurt, fruit, pizza, cheese, sandwiches, etc... – You will not be hungry. The breakfast/ eating patio is comfortable, with lovely views/ breeze, just so continental!! We also had dinner here on two nights of our stay. Paula does the cooking and the fare is local and well worth a try as you can relax, have the local wine and liqueur and not worry about the police. On the other nights we dined at La Cantinella, down the road ( not safe to walk to this at night – too far and winding). La Cantinella is to die for !!! – the food is the best that I have ever had!! – Really exquisite!! And the setting and staff and so charming – definitely try this. We did venture to Loro Ciuffenna ( nothing here to recommend really) – tried two different restaurants - no – don’t bother! The area around here is interesting– olive groves, lush green vines and winding roads – so take care!, and the Italians drive as they say – like crazy!!
Our room in Villa Belpoggio was large, comfortable, very clean with a great bathroom, including a bath. There are also some apartments on the grounds (2) and these looked spacious – some families were here. The pool area is immaculate –The cleanest I have ever seen – they must check it very often, as not even a fly is present. The road up to the villa is fine, but when you arrive, you will have one little challenge to drive around the tight area to the back where there is plenty of parking. We did lots of touring from the villa – it is in a perfect location. In Tuscany, no matter where you are, you have to travel long distances to get anywhere. We went to Florence, by train – a local station takes you right into the centre, we went to Sienna (saw the Palio, amazing!!), Montepulciano, Cortona, La Verna (serene), all by car - fantastic. The more famous Chianti towns such as Radda and Greve, however, didn’t do much for us?? Not as charming as they are portrayed. The exception is San Gimignano which is atmospheric and true to its history.
All in all a really fantastic holiday and of course the accommodation and welcome made it!! We will certainly return to this wonderful place 

Room Tip: Don't get caught up on getting a room with a view, because in summer, you will have everything s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Had our dream wedding at The Villa. Truly wonderful place that we will always return to. The villa itself is beautifully restored and very pretty, wonderful views and very peaceful. What makes the villa extra special is the staff. Maria, Agnese and Paolo are so kind and helpful, they make you feel part of the family. We can't thank them enough for their hospitality. 5 star in every way!
James, Emma and Henry

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

After searching for a wedding venue in Tuscany on-line early last year, we stumbled upon this website. Looked quite nice, seemed to offer what we were looking for, so we made an enquiry.
And from the first reply we had from Maria and Agnes, we knew this was where we wanted to get married. They are such lovely, lovely people and could not be more helpful. We booked the venue without ever seeing it in the flesh, trusting our gut instinct, and booked a visit for the October to make the rest of our wedding plans.
Let me just say, the website does not do Belpoggio justice. It is the most beautiful location, with stunning views of the Tuscan hills and an amazingly peaceful quiet that immediately relaxes you. When we arrived in October, it was still unseasonably hot but the autumn russets and golds were peeping through the olive greens and the late afternoon sunlight is just magical.
The hotel itself, has been incredibly well restored and maintained and is spotlessly clean throughout. Every one of the rooms (and I've been in them all!) is gorgeous. The bathrooms are particularly lovely with marble and original features but modern shower fittings.
Our wedding in May was the most perfect event we could have wished for. Maria and Agnes made suggestions for each of our suppliers and we were not disappointed. It was everything we ever dreamed our wedding could be and more. The photos are amazing. In the late spring sunshine, the grounds of the hotel were luscious with greenery and beautiful white roses. The most gorgeous fragrant jasmine grows along the side of the Villa and the fields behind are full of bright red poppies. It really is the most beautiful place.
But it's not the beauty that makes this place so special, it is the people.
Maria and Agnes and Paola and Johnny are angels! They welcome you each day with a smile, are always on hand to make recommendations and will do anything they can to help ensure your stay is the best that it can be.
Not only are Paola's breakfasts each day are an absolute delight! (Best cappuccino in the world and fresh baked cakes/pastries everyday! Try the lemon cake and the jam tarts! Amazing!) but Paola herself and her husband Johnny are one of the nicest couples we have ever had the privilege to meet. They are both so kind and so helpful - Johnny maintains the grounds beautifully and helped us no end in lugging chairs and tables around in preparation for the wedding and tidying up after our family afterwards!
I almost don't want to tell anyone about Belpoggio - I would like it to be our own private hide away from the world!
But if you are looking for a slice of Tuscan heaven, look no further. And when you get there, tell Maria, Agnes, Paola and Johnny we said "Ciao!" and thank you for being the most amazing, wonderful hosts x

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room! They are all stunning, but if you hire the Fienile villa for 4 people, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Villa Belpoggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Belpoggio

Also Known As:
Relais Villa Belpoggio Hotel Loro Ciuffenna
Relais Villa Belpoggio Hotel
Relais Hotel Belpoggio
Relais Hotel Loro Ciuffenna
Relais Villa Belpoggio Italy/Loro Ciuffenna, Tuscany
Address: Via Setteponti Ponente 40/A | Arezzo, 52024 Loro Ciuffenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Loro Ciuffenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Loro Ciuffenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Villa Belpoggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Belpoggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.