We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views in the mountains of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pitiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Pitiana to your Saves list
Villa Pitiana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Provinciale per Tosi 7, 50060 Donnini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donnini
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views in the mountains of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed there May 18-21, 2013. The location was picturesque and the staff very helpful and accommodating. We highly recommend taking the wine tasting. The sommelier was warm and friendly and later on when we had dinner there, he chose our wine for us. Food was excellent, rooms were very spacious. The breakfast could use a bit more help in providing a little more variety but it was filling. Donnini is a charming sleepy little town that also had a wonderful restaurant. Just a local pizzeria but fantastic. If you want a very nice experience in the tuscan mountains, then I would highly recommend it. Definitely plan on renting a car when you go because you will want to head on out and explore neighboring towns like Regello. The MALL is minutes away and Firenze is about 30-40 minutes away.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 19, you will want to have it facing the pool and gardens, the views are worth it. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    26
    25
    10
See reviews for
42
95
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came to Villa Pitiana to stay for 5 days and to attend a cooking class day. We ended up staying only three nights because of not having hired a car and other reasons.. We walked to the near by villages 9kms...as the costs of private transport was 20euros each way per person.The villa doesn't have their own transport for guests to & from the train station...another 20 euro each per person per person.
The best parts are the swimming pool on a hot Italian day and the people who live in the local village.
The Villa resturant would only serve pizza to staff members and not guests when requested..we didnt want a sit down dinner in the resturant on one of the evening we stayed and requested if we could just order a pizza..no we had dine in the resturant and order from the menu..pizza wasn't on the menu but they made pizza for the staff. Resturant prices expensive..no service for drinks at the bar..had to go looking staff to order..mention when we left that we were not happy with service.
While waiting for our taxi outside the building we could hear management relaying our concerns to our kitchen staff members and them laughing about it...not very professional...disappointed with our stay..long way to come from New Zealand have this kind of stay!
Will not be recommending staying and have told our travel agent.
Disappointing part of our trip. But we found wonderful cheaper hotel in Forence to stay at instant where the service was magic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villa for a wedding. We had booked a junior suite which had the most amazing view over the countryside! The suite was split level it was comfortable, clean and the bathroom modern. The bed upstairs was huge and very comfortable. There was a small mini bar very reasonably priced.
The breakfast was continental my only complaint was that there was no breakfast tea! The food was delicious throughout! The service was by far the best I have experienced, staff could not have been more helpful, pleasant and despite our lack of Italian we were very well looked after. The villa is over 1000 years old lots and lots of stone stairs in it but with lifts carefully
positioned to aid those less able. There is a pool which we never got a chance to use unfortunately. And because of the wonderful views there is a very winding narrow road up to the villa. Overall I'd highly recommend Villa Pitiana and would love to return again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed here for two nights the end of may, we had originaly gotten a room for 4 people but as there was a wedding the day before it smelled like smoke in the room and we immediately got 2 new rooms. it was however very cold in the rooms and there is no heating.
the rooms are very large but lack comfort. a few carpets and some couches would make it all more comfy and warm.

what is great about the hotel and probably the reason they have 4 stars is the amazing location. you get a wonderfull view and feel like your are on top of the world. it's is stunning on a sunny day. the outside grounds are very nicely kept and the pool is a good size as well.

the restaurant is also a great feature in this hotel. The food is very good and fresh and offers lots of local specialties.
the breakfast is definately not 4 star standard. the selection is small and there is no service, not even for drinks.

Wifi is only available in the lobby.

I would recommend this hotel only in the summer and just for a night or two.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 33 and 34, which are very large and have a seperate area, meaning there are no oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited Villa Pitiana with my wife recently. Only good memories about this place. We stayed in a room in the oldest part of Villa Pitiana. It was beautiful and comfortable, not even mentioning incredible view we had. Surroundings there are just amazing. Food in Vila Pitiana is delicious, excellent taste of traditional Tuscan cuisine. Pleasant service is also worth mentioning. Special thanks to the lovely host Laura, who always offered help when needed and made stay at Villa Pitiana even more pleasant.

Greetings from Vilnius :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Went here as a family of four and stayed in one of the apartment rooms. The hotel is so beautiful in a fantastic setting. yes you do need a car to get about from here but it not far to a little local train station - so leave the car and take the train to Florence! ( much more relaxing). If you are a cyclist its a lovely place to be positioned for cycling but better to head up first and then down! food was very very good, expensive but I suppose you get what you pay for - or you could go self catering or there are very good family friendly eating places nearby . There was a wedding here when we stayed and what a beautiful place for one. There are lots of little seating places to sit and chill out. we loved it! - and would like to return some day.

Room Tip: We saw into one of the rooms at the front and they look wonderful! and what a view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Firstly- hard to find, and on tiny, winding roads. It's not in the town of Rogello, but Donini, which is a ways from Rogello. Look up the location before heading there. Beware on the roads! The room and view were incredible. The bed was unimpressively hard. No internet in the rooms. Breakfast gets repetitive, but decent in quality. Supper is a rip- 12 Euros for five tortellini, 3.80 for water, and 4.00 for soda! It's not that far from Florence (Firenze). Driving is a total nightmare in Florence! Signage is poor, small, and sparse. The drivers are insane and discourteous, esp. the scooters and motorcycles, who make their own traffic laws. Use the bus in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Pitiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pitiana

Address: Via Provinciale per Tosi 7, 50060 Donnini, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Donnini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donnini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Pitiana 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 430m above sea level; surrounded by olive groves of Valdarno & centuries-old trees of the Vallombrosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Pitiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pitiana Hotel Donnini
Pitiana Hotel Donnini
Villa Pitiana Donnini, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pitiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.